We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot tapas spot”
Review of Little Donkey

Little Donkey
Ranked #13 of 650 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Description: Global inspired small plates and raw bar in Cambridge, MA. Little Donkey is the latest restaurant from James Beard Award-winning chefs Ken Oringer and Jamie Bissonnette of Boston's beloved Toro, Coppa and Toro in NYC, Bangkok and soon to be Dubai. Located in the heart of Cambridge's Central Square, Little Donkey is Oringer and Bissonnette's first Boston-area restaurant in over six years, offering a welcoming, day-to-night dining experience that features market-driven, global small plates, inspired by the chefs' world travels.
Restaurant details
Description: Global inspired small plates and raw bar in Cambridge, MA. Little Donkey is the latest restaurant from James Beard Award-winning chefs Ken Oringer and Jamie Bissonnette of Boston's beloved Toro, Coppa and Toro in NYC, Bangkok and soon to be Dubai. Located in the heart of Cambridge's Central Square, Little Donkey is Oringer and Bissonnette's first Boston-area restaurant in over six years, offering a welcoming, day-to-night dining experience that features market-driven, global small plates, inspired by the chefs' world travels.
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

I thought about giving it a 5... as almost everything we had was delicious. There were 3 of us and we shared: spectacular fois gras, wonderful lamb bacon blt, good lardo w swordfish belly and black garlic, fried oysters (there are 2-very spicy), wonderful charred avocado and monkfish biryani accompanied by weird-tasting (as in soaked in solvent) carrots. Cocktails were good. Place is noisy--another hip spot with no sound absorption. Ordered 3 desserts--only profiteroles were good. The Ritz cracker one is literally with Ritz crackers (ugh) and the cookie dough didn't do it for us. Food comes as ready. Plates cleared promptly. Good service. Will return.

Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleDonkeyBos, Manager at Little Donkey, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Hi Diane,

Thanks for your feedback! As a new restaurant all feedback is imperative and always appreciated and we reviewed your recap collectively as a team. Our dessert menu will continue to evolve, tweaks will be made and we hope that you will give us another shot in the near future.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

This was a few blocks from our hotel during a recent stay in Cambridge. I can see the reason for some mixed reviews. It is a very open space and gets very loud as it fills up. the service was attentive and the food was brought out when ready. The portions were generous. They recommended 2-4 per person, we had six plates between two of us and we didn't finish all of them. The rice dishes have larger portions, so if you order more than one of those be prepared to be filled up. The bar was active and the bartenders were a fun group to watch. The wine and beer list was adequate, but nothing special.
There were some offbeat, eclectic dishes that were hard to put in one category. We had a kimchee, rice Biryani, a burger, Turkish ravioli, fried octopus, and a sweet corn dish that were all different flavor and textures. I liked the Turkish ravioli the best followed by the biryani.
We had the matcha profiteroles for dessert and those were tasty as well. The coffee was bitter and not very good.
Overall a good experience, I would eat here again. This would be good for a moderate sized group of friends.

Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleDonkeyBos, Manager at Little Donkey, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Thank you much for for taking the time to write about your experience. We appreciate the feedback on the coffee and are tweaking with the brew.

We hope to have back soon!

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

I just want to go back. The menu is outstanding, so is the food and the service. We had so many dishes I don't know where to start.

Thank rubyfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleDonkeyBos, General Manager at Little Donkey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Well, come on back!

Thanks for the kind words, we will be sure to pass them along to our waitstaff and kitchen teams.

Hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Definitely a place to eat. Many little meals. Need to get there early if you want
to sit at the bar.

Started off with :
1. BLT Lettuce Wraps with
Lamb bacon, pimento cheese, tomato jam, pickled red onion for $12.00
2. Pickle Brine Fried Chicken Sandwich with
Green papaya slaw, jalapeño, avocado ranch $11.00
3. Ended with-
Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough with
Milk espuma, cocoa nibs. Very original, brought back memories
of eating cookie dough of a mixer spindle and that is just what it was

This is a restaurant worth going to but be careful it will be hard to stay away.
Prices add up quickly. Definitely not inexpensive.

Parking on Mass Ave or in back in lots. Plenty of room inside with low and high
tops.

A real treat !!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank havingfunagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleDonkeyBos, General Manager at Little Donkey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

So glad you enjoyed, thanks for taking the time send some praise our way and we hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

I went to Little Donkey with my family for a goodbye dinner, and I'm so glad I chose this place! We started with a few oysters, which were all fantastic. The service was excellent, although our server told us a few dishes were much smaller than they turned out to be. The octopus was incredible, and we could not get enough of the manti and the chow fun! The silver queen corn was also a hit.
The atmosphere was great, and though the music was a bit loud for easy conversation between all 6 of us the soundtrack was on point.
Overall I loved Little Donkey, and I would definitely return! The only thing I would do differently is start with one of each dish, since many of the plates were pretty big! (Not that I'm complaining!)

Thank Hanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleDonkeyBos, General Manager at Little Donkey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Thanks for taking the time to write! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed everything and love that you came here for your bon voyage dinner!

Hope to have you celebrate another occasion with us sometime soon!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Donkey also viewed

 

Been to Little Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing