We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Increasing the Tip!”
Review of Grendel's Den

Grendel's Den
Ranked #97 of 563 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Reviewed 4 July 2019 via mobile

Avoid this place. We left a fair tip.

I had a premonition that something could happen there as my card was taken away for a long time.

I checked my bank statement and they had decided to fraudulently award themselves a higher tip.

Not a lot of money, but there is a principal and a line they have crossed. I bet they do it all day, every day.
People please avoid this place, there are plenty of other choices nearby.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2019 via mobile

We went there to have some simple but tasty food. We have been a bit scared initially by the prices. But probably the location explains that. The place is dark and noisy but that is part of the ambiance.
Dishes are small but the waiter made it very clear so no problem. And you can order them progressively.
But the key fact is that the dishes were really really good!! Tasty while delicate. Taste well balanced between ingredients. When tasting the plates, the price became a bargain (almost).
The place is a bit hard to find but if you do and if you get a table (it was full of people when we went there) then there are food chances you won't be dissatisfied!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 937fabricep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 April 2019 via mobile

A decent basement bar in a college town. The beer was cold, the food was ok, the service was great. Getting past the fact it was full of Harvard kids with punchable faces, it was spot on.

Date of visit: April 2019
2  Thank docp206
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Grendel's Den situated in the heart of Cambridge Boston and a short walk from the river Charles and Harford University is a bit of a spit & sawdust bar with a whole load of atmosphere. They have a great selection of craft beers & a good no nonsense menu. Service was attentive polite and friendly. Unfortunately we were only in Boston for one night so only had the one opportunity to visit but would certainly recommend it would go again on another trip to Boston

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Dawacu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

I liked the place. The vibe was relaxed and easy going. The service was friendly and patient (I'm English and had questions). But...the food? Whilst reasonably priced, its bizarre. The humus did look or taste right. The pickle selection is weird. However, we liked our visit and the place deserves four stars

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank RFareway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Grendel's Den also viewed

 

Been to Grendel's Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.