We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$179
Expedia.comUS$179
Hotels.comUS$179
PricelineUS$179
Orbitz.comUS$179
FindHotelUS$179
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
127
145
38
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
127
145
38
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club level harvard square great location an older hotel major renovation corner room minute walk room service top floor king bed lounge boston wallpaper sink hallway maid conference
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2021

Well I guess we have to live without our rooms being cleaned. But we should not have to live with hostility and bars closing at 10. We had 18 people staying this week, and we arrived at the bar at 9:20 we were aggressively told that last call would be in 10 minutes. When we asked why we were told the bar closed at 10. When we said why last call at 9:30 she said they wanted us out at 10. We ordered drinks and did not get them for 20 minutes. At 10 we were told we had to move to the lobby. In the lobby we were told we had to "quiet down". There was not attempt to make us happy. It is ridiculous to close a bar at 10, and more ridiculous to be aggressive about it.

Date of stay: October 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank laurabE1436ZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael guleserian, General Manager at Sheraton Commander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2021

Dear guest,

Thank you for your online review. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations in regards to restaurant hours. During the pandemic, we have needed to adjust some of our services and hours. Your party was notified in advance regarding our closing time. While I understand your frustration, our restaurant is not permitted to remain open past our posted hours of operation. We look forward to getting the pandemic behind us so we can resume our normal hours.

Warmly,

Michael Guleserian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2021

Hotel itself is fine. Despite being packed on a Wednesday, restaurant informed us at 9:20pm that they were preparing to do last call in 10-15 minutes. Preparing for their 10 pm closure. Manager asked us to leave at 10:07, despite just serving us drinks. Indicated we should go to lobby. Front desk clerk then asked us to keep it quiet. Really an unwelcoming vibe. Would not recommend.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Pbm431
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael guleserian, General Manager at Sheraton Commander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2021

Thank you for taking tine to write an online review of your last visit. The coronavirus pandemic has negatively impacted our business and we have needed to limit our services and amend our hours to meet the lower demand. Wednesday's are consistently slow including when you were here. We look forward to business levels returning to normal so we can offer more regular service and hours.

We hope you understand how much Covid-19 has affected our industry and our market and you will consider visiting us again the next time you are in the Cambridge area.

Warm regards,

Michael Guleserian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2021

The staff here,from front desk check in personnel to maids, to restaurant servers all exhibited similar traits - wonderfully friendly as well as efficient. They made our stay here so pleasant. As Titanium Bonvoy members, we were upgraded in advance to a 1 bedroom suite using SNA certs. .Well done!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

Great location but the rest is blah. We frequent this area because our children go to Harvard. We usually stay at the Charles Hotel but thought to give this a try for this visit. I understand the The Charles is higher price point for it semes like the better value for me (esp when booking with Amex FHR)

No upgrade on check in ( Marriott Gold but it’s a slow weekend so was hoping for a nice view at least), room is dark and small, old radiator like ventilation system, limited restaurant offering, lounge is closed. Unless I get a really good deal at this hotel, I will be staying at the Charles.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank maddis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 September 2021

You stay at this hotel for the location, not the amenities. If you're in Cambridge for a Harvard-related reason, this is the closest hotel to Harvard Yard, etc. (10 minute walk). Note: there's NO room service and while I was there the restaurant downstairs was closed from 10:30 am to 5:00pm and the closest food is in Harvard Square (10 minute walk) or Door Dash. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The room was okay, nothing special, but clean and comfortable, no view at all. Yes, I'll stay there again but only because of the location.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael guleserian, General Manager at Sheraton Commander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2021

Thank you for taking time to offer comments online. I'm very happy our location worked well for your needs. Some of our services have been amended during the pandemic. We are lucky to have so many restaurants and shops just a short walk from our front door. We look forward to getting past the pandemic where we can offer services more in line with our guests' needs post pandemic.

Warmly,

Michael Guleserian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews