We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome luxury hutte away from the resort”
Review of Orestes Hutte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gressoney-la-Trinite
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orestes Hutte
Reviewed 8 January 2015

Completely awesome place, by far and away the most luxurious and fun mountain hut I've stayed in bar none.

The team that run it (led by Marta and Emil) are brilliant, fun and attentive. The hutte itself is beautifully designed and completely pristine, complete with spotless bright white towels and sheets. Views from the rooms facing down the mountain are fabulous if you're still at the hutte wehen sun rises. :) Oh, and it's a hutte with luxury ensuite double/triple bed rooms - who'd have thought it??

The food is deliciious and plentiful. We'd a 9 course extravaganza for hogmanay meal, but even on the 'normal' nights the food was incredible. Simple but just so tasty.

Location-wise in the winter you either have to ski down an itinery route with one steeper/narrower section suitable for people comfortable with black runs, or, you can walk/hike/ski tour up from the mid station. Having done both routes the skin up in twilight/moonlight is simply stunning and will remain one of my favourite memories!

Room Tip: The "Arve" room has amazing views down over the valley, but be warned you are above the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

A group of us stayed at Orestes Hutte for 5 days over the new year. The hut itself is beautiful and perched at an idyllic spot on the mountainside. It is close enough to the lift system to make it very convenient but isolated enough to give it a very special atmosphere and unique views. The food was incredibly varied (including a 9 course feast on New Years Eve) the portions are very generous and accompanied by a wide ranging and reasonably priced selection of drinks. The double rooms and dorms are clean and comfortable and great value. We'll be back!!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Incredible setting and a level of comfort rarely found in a mountain hut (clean, hot showers at 2600m!). The staff is friendly and the food plentiful and varied, considering the logistics of transport in such a remote area.
We stayed a couple of days in a double room with private bath and enjoyed the staff's recommendations on places to ski, the relaxed atmosphere and the good selection of local wines.

Room Tip: The dorms are relatively small (8-12 persons). A good choice for groups, less expensive than the dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The location itself deserves a visit but we arrived (having thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful descent) to find what is an immaculately finished and beautifully presented 'mountain refuge'. The beds were comfortable the bathrooms well equipped, the view was... let's say above average.... The couple running the place and their two staff were pleasant, friendly and entertaining; they made us feel perfectly at home. The food was both a healthy serving and delicious and we found the wine and bar drinks reasonably priced if slightly cheaper than down in the valley (we stayed in Alagna other nights).

Everything was perfectly thought through, from the snacks on arrival to the sandals to slip into as you take off your ski/board boots.

We would return again and again, next time we're bringing friends. Better still the owners promised us that they would build a hot tub on top of the sauna block outside ;-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

We spent one night enjoying the warmth and hospitality at Oreste Huette.

Rooms: Double rooms (cameretta) are simple and clean with their own bathroom and shower. The bed was very comfortable and the duvet warm

Food: Included in the price is dinner and breakfast. Dinner was yummy on the taste buds and the eyes. We had: porcini and zucchini risotto (excellent and hard to make at altitude); pork stuffed w/ cabbage for the carnivore while I had scamorza (cheese); pannacotta for dessert. You do need to pay for drinks separately (prices are reasonable: €5 for 0.5l of wine; €5 for a pint of lager). Breakfast was hearty - cereal, bread, jam, cheese, meat etc. Just what you need for a day on the slopes.

Location: Quite simply it's beautiful. You have to get the Indren bubble to the very top and then ski off-piste/freeride down to the 'hut'; alpinisti and snow shoers can reach it with ~1hr walk from the Gabiet lift. Sunset over the mountains on a clear day plus the stars on a clear night = stunning.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaLoades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gressoney-la-Trinite hotels
3.2 km away
Ellex Hotel
Ellex Hotel
#3 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
266 reviews
5.1 km away
Romantik Hotel Jolanda Sport
Romantik Hotel Jolanda Sport
#1 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
405 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Monboso - TH Resorts
Hotel Monboso - TH Resorts
#6 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#2 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
328 reviews
4.5 km away
HOTEL LYSJOCH
HOTEL LYSJOCH
#10 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
37 reviews
3.4 km away
Residence & Ski Bar WalserTal
Residence & Ski Bar WalserTal
#13 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orestes Hutte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orestes Hutte

Address: Loc. z'Indra, 11020 Gressoney-la-Trinite, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressoney-la-Trinite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Gressoney-la-Trinite
Price Range: $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orestes Hütte is located in the monterosaski area, freeride paradise in winter and trekking base in summer. We are reachable by walk (approx. 1h) in summer and via skis or snowshoeing in winter. There is a bar & restaurant service and we also offer accommodation with modern facilities in either private double rooms with ensuit or dormitories. We have a small library and a yoga room available for all to use or classes can be arranged with our qualified teachers ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing