We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vegan food”
Review of Orestes Hutte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gressoney-la-Trinite
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orestes Hutte
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

The food i excellent even for non-vegetarian. Lovely place a bit off the pist. The terrace is warm a sun is shinning. We had polenta and pasta.
With chocolate and cafe latte. Great place. You can also stay overnight in the middle of the alps

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Tanja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2016

We went to the Orestes Hut on recommendation by a Mountain Guide. I was looking to introduce my partner to what a mountain refuge was but not scare him off, it was perfect! The walk in from the lift station was beautiful and took only an hour. We were made to feel very welcome by Marta as soon as we walked in through the door and shown to a beautiful alpine room - it could easily have been a four star hotel down in the valley, seemed strange to have an ensuite room. The twin beds pushed together and sheets and towels were provided.

The evening meal was vegetarian and cooked to perfection - it is an Italian hut, need I say more. The local bottles of wine ranged from €15 - €30, prices I would expect to pay down in the valley. Breakfast was a range of cereals, yogurt and (freshly cooked, soft) bread and jams.

The following day we walked up and over the pass behind and back down to Gressoney. A very effortless adventure that will never be forgotten. Perfect for families too!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

if you have the chance, come here for break, for a drink or lunch. Nicely and modern design and what a charming couple hosting the place. Ask for hot chocolate, and they ask if you want the dark choco version or the spicy version. Ask for coffe matcha and they offer three types of milk (cow, soya, almond)
Lovely stop, hard to get to unless you freeride or skitour up in the winter. And you can stay over as well

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank KG_pofok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

This "refugee" is reached either by skiing down to it from the Inderen cable car over some challenging off piste or by using snow shoes or skins to come up to it. It is very modern inside despite it's remote location. The menu is limited to just half a dozen items but our party of 5 found enough variety to be satisfied. There are plenty of seats both inside and outside if the weather permits. Service was smooth and efficient. It is also possible to stay here as they have a selection of rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skinut79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Another fab stay at Orestes last week with Phil, Marta and the team. Although we didn't get the snow we had last year to take advantage of the off-piste, this didn't stop us exploring each day. Plenty of running, walking, scrabbling was had plus a little on-piste skiing once the hangover had subsided on New Years Day. Our group took part in a Yoga session run by Phil (not me) which as a non yoga person, I enjoyed greatly before the New Years Eve 7 course spectacular of a meal the chef prepared, was served.

I had the pleasure of a treasure hunt inside and out the hut, laid on by Carmen and Eleanora on my birthday much to the amusement of everyone, which was very kind, including the lovely gift.

Hard to describe how great the place and people are at Orestes but if you want a little escapism high in the mountains, and are willing / able to walk or ski (snow depending) to get it, then grab your backpack, book in for a few nights and head on up. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gressoney-la-Trinite hotels
0 km away
Ellex Hotel
Ellex Hotel
#3 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
270 reviews
0 km away
HOTEL LYSJOCH
HOTEL LYSJOCH
#8 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
39 reviews
0 km away
Romantik Hotel Jolanda Sport
Romantik Hotel Jolanda Sport
#1 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#2 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
337 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Monboso - TH Resorts
Hotel Monboso - TH Resorts
#6 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
169 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Nordend
Hotel Nordend
#7 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orestes Hutte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orestes Hutte

Address: Loc. z'Indra, 11020 Gressoney-la-Trinite, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressoney-la-Trinite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Gressoney-la-Trinite
Price Range: $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orestes Hütte is located in the monterosaski area, freeride paradise in winter and trekking base in summer. We are reachable by walk (approx. 1h) in summer and via skis or snowshoeing in winter. There is a bar & restaurant service and we also offer accommodation with modern facilities in either private double rooms with ensuit or dormitories. We have a small library and a yoga room available for all to use or classes can be arranged with our qualified teachers ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing