We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly peace and amazing food”
Review of Orestes Hutte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gressoney-la-Trinite
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orestes Hutte
Reviewed 27 April 2017

If you love the mountain and want to get away from the crowds, this is the place to go! The hut has all modern comfort, is completely self sufficient. It has a hip, cozy atmosphere and is run by a young couple: she Italian from the region, he Australian. Being in such a remote location I was stunned by the quality of food they served ! Very contemporary and healthy. Stayed in a double room with view over the valley lit by a full moon. Only silence here at night and crisp snow cristals under your shoes. The only thing that bothered my view was the snowcat parked right in front of the hut. Will be back next year !!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ElsVermeersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2017

I love this Rifugio as it is quite hidden, even if it is becoming more and more popular. Plus they serve wonderful vegetarian food.

A part from the food, this wooden but modern hut is very well thought and planned to have as low impact as possible for the environment.

Intriguing to me as you can stay overnight and do you yoga on the terrace or at the dedicated room.

Room Tip: Didn't use the rooms so cannot recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank raffacinti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

The food i excellent even for non-vegetarian. Lovely place a bit off the pist. The terrace is warm a sun is shinning. We had polenta and pasta.
With chocolate and cafe latte. Great place. You can also stay overnight in the middle of the alps

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Tanja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We went to the Orestes Hut on recommendation by a Mountain Guide. I was looking to introduce my partner to what a mountain refuge was but not scare him off, it was perfect! The walk in from the lift station was beautiful and took only an hour. We were made to feel very welcome by Marta as soon as we walked in through the door and shown to a beautiful alpine room - it could easily have been a four star hotel down in the valley, seemed strange to have an ensuite room. The twin beds pushed together and sheets and towels were provided.

The evening meal was vegetarian and cooked to perfection - it is an Italian hut, need I say more. The local bottles of wine ranged from €15 - €30, prices I would expect to pay down in the valley. Breakfast was a range of cereals, yogurt and (freshly cooked, soft) bread and jams.

The following day we walked up and over the pass behind and back down to Gressoney. A very effortless adventure that will never be forgotten. Perfect for families too!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

if you have the chance, come here for break, for a drink or lunch. Nicely and modern design and what a charming couple hosting the place. Ask for hot chocolate, and they ask if you want the dark choco version or the spicy version. Ask for coffe matcha and they offer three types of milk (cow, soya, almond)
Lovely stop, hard to get to unless you freeride or skitour up in the winter. And you can stay over as well

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank KG_pofok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gressoney-la-Trinite hotels
3.2 km away
Ellex Hotel
Ellex Hotel
#3 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
266 reviews
5.1 km away
Romantik Hotel Jolanda Sport
Romantik Hotel Jolanda Sport
#1 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
405 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Monboso - TH Resorts
Hotel Monboso - TH Resorts
#6 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#2 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
328 reviews
4.5 km away
HOTEL LYSJOCH
HOTEL LYSJOCH
#10 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
37 reviews
3.4 km away
Residence & Ski Bar WalserTal
Residence & Ski Bar WalserTal
#13 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orestes Hutte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orestes Hutte

Address: Loc. z'Indra, 11020 Gressoney-la-Trinite, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressoney-la-Trinite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Gressoney-la-Trinite
Price Range: $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orestes Hütte is located in the monterosaski area, freeride paradise in winter and trekking base in summer. We are reachable by walk (approx. 1h) in summer and via skis or snowshoeing in winter. There is a bar & restaurant service and we also offer accommodation with modern facilities in either private double rooms with ensuit or dormitories. We have a small library and a yoga room available for all to use or classes can be arranged with our qualified teachers ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing