We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Qawra palace hotel”
Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Qawra Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Read a few reviews prior to visit and was more than happy with the hotel. Room was lovely and clean and modern. Good facilities the food was one of the best for an all inclusive. The only complaint I have have is that as the week went on the hotel got busier and busier and there was not enough staff in the restaurant therefore the tables were not cleared fast enough and you were waiting for plates cups etc. The other bad thing about this hotel is that you have to pay for wifi at a ridiculous cost. Nearly all the bars and restaurants round the hotel have free wifi so don't pay for it. There is a coffee shop in the hotel that is not part of the all inclusive but is really cheep and very busy, they do amazing desserts and snacks if you fancy a change from the restaurant.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 881 of 2,883 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2016

We went to qawra palace for the 3rd time last july and we love it here rooms are nice and clean, food is nice with plenty of choice and they will cook the kids some fish fingers or nuggets if they are fussy and cant find anything , it was peak season when we went last year so very busy struggled to get a sun bed in the morning if you wanted a lazy day around the pool but we like to go and explore this lovely island which is full of history the local people are lovely and very friendly and if you can visit gozo a beautifull little island next door then go,if you travel in july august september it is fiesta time don't miss it ,We cant wait to go back love this place and the hotel is a great base in a great place see you soon qawra palace .

Room Tip: Get out and explore this fab island .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angiemayrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Stayed last weekend for 4 nights, check in was easy and quick. We were given a room on the 5th floor.Our room was clean, very basic but fine for a short stay. Bathroom was new and clean. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Breakfast every day was the same, but dinner every evening was different and very tasty.
Hotel was fine and I would return, maybe this is more a 3* than a 4* but we expected it to be more worse..

Stayed April 2016, traveled with friends

Room Tip: Better take sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank V1ktor1ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

They've apparently closed it over the winter for refurbishment... Just a lick of paint outside and a new reception. The furniture in the room was what you'd expect to find in a cheap hostel and it was falling apart. The cleaning was really shoddy, just hit and miss. Some of the staff were nice but the majority were in a huff most of the time. On our last day, we went to breakfast over an hr before the end of service and one of the waiters started complaining about the fact that ppl were still going in. Finding a table was a nightmare, all full of dirty plates and no effort to clean them... So glad to be home... Never again Qawra slum...

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gllassie_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

There is no way on earth this is a 4* hotel. On the experience I just had its a 2*. It is near the beach which is great the pool is salt water, We weren't on a holiday as such our son was playing against Malta in basketball and me and my good lady went to support him and stayed for 4 days in early April 2016. So glad this was not a holiday my wife would have been distraught. You get one room key so you can't leave aircon on while your out ??? As it also operates the electric. You get another single card for the all inclusive. We forgot the key for the room several times when leaving but cleaners let us back in to get the key (phew) we were so use to having 2 keys.
The all inclusive is awkward, you have to have the swipe card and queue on a till separate to the bar. The give your a receipt which you take to the bar once you get through the bar queue and then you can in,y order 2 drinks if 2 on the all inclusive, so you can't get a round for friends. The drinks are very limited, there is Stella ( strong stuff not watered down) and wines and shorts but all local, stick with rose wine it's not as bad as the others.
The food is poor, not much selection at all and not fresh. Least selection I have ever seen. The rooms are rubbish, they are clean, but look like they were furnished in the 70's and not updated, like a walk back through time. The bathroom was new and on first glance appeared nice, however is poorly installed with little attention to detail just thrown in. The was no night time entertainment. The bars are downstairs and are not very ambient and have no atmosphere. Staff were mixed some were helpful and polite especially when I tipped them. However others were just ignorant and not professional and didn't even have manners. The girl on the front desk is rude, she can't handle having a query while people are being booked in, she is highly strung.
The lifts are also over 40 years old and smell, they broke down 3 times while we were there and we had to walk up 6 flights of stairs, my wife has had an operation on her knee and struggles with stairs, I was crossing my fingers every other time we entered the lifts that we did not get stuck in them. The lobby frontage and area made me feel like the bad reviews were unwarranted, however don't judge a book by its cover, it's poor everywhere else. We demand luxury when we pay for it, my advice would be look through wher the people who give this 4 or 5 * have stayed previously as there standards are very questionable. Good luck and hope this saved you from disappointment.

Room Tip: 14 euro extra a day for sea view, all other rooms view is laughable you look at walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.5 km away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3,005 reviews
0.8 km away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
534 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,099 reviews
7.5 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.4 km away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $55 - $1,524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing