We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
28 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$145
View deal
Expedia.com
US$145
View deal
Destinia.com
US$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/09/21
Hotels.comUS$145
PricelineUS$154
travelup.comUS$167
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,021)
Filter reviews
4,021 results
Traveller rating
1,390
1,477
722
268
164
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,390
1,477
722
268
164
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cafe delos sea view swim up bar the bus private beach animation team main restaurant superior room buffet restaurant indoor pool big hotel plenty of choice reception staff half board breakfast and dinner sea front the air conditioning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 4,021 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

I could not fault anything at this hotel from room to pool areas to staff. The place is kept spotless . With covid rules at the moment they have sympathetically instated rules but at know point did you feel this was uncomfortable but made you feel safe .
The staff are all so friendly . Reception amazing happy team so helpful . The bar and restaurant staff , we used all the many different ones and were so well looked after . The hotel is vast with I believe 6 pools and we favoured the one down by sea. You walk through a tunnel to ge there which means yiur going under the main road and never leaving the hotel . So cool ! The area was so pretty and there is on site water sports. So you can dive, do jet skis, amd many other things

Room tip: I wouldn’t particularly go all inclusive unless you like to drink then worth it . Food wise you are then tied to one buffet place .
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 28starry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolmen Resort Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2021

Dear 28starry,


Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at the Dolmen hotel with other TripAdvisor reviewers. Thank you for your positive feedback and that we have met your expectations to the fullest. We are pleased you pointed out that covid regulations are in place and made you feel comfortable and safe. Thank you for mentioning the exceptional services of our members of staff at reception as well as at the bars and restaurants. You also mentioned our outdoor area with the tunnel from our garden area going directly to the Amazonia Beach Club in a very positive way. We have 4 outdoor pools and 2 indoor pools.

We are already looking forward to welcome you back for your next visit at the Dolmen hotel.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Manager

Vicky Zammit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

We had a lovely time at the dolmen, staff were excellent pools were very busy but are lovely!
Our room was perfect had a wonderful view of the sea, we spent all our time on the rocks by the sea, you have a pool there too! also a bar for drinks plus a restaurant for food Happy Dayzzz we’re coming back in October for my birthday but not to this hotel only reason is we never return to the same hotel but for all you first time visitors to Malta! Please give the Dolmen a try! You won’t be disappointed

Room tip: Room on a high floor sea view! August is so hot maybe come in July or September 😊
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank GrandTour30310927138
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolmen Resort Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2021

Dear GrandTour30310927138,

Thank you for sharing your review and for us to learn your reply on your recent vacation at the Dolmen hotel. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our pool area and your room was completely to your liking. It is great your experience with us was exactly what you were looking for and you enjoyed all the facilities along with the service we have to offer. Thank you also for the positive feedback regarding our friendly and engaged staff.

Regards,

Guest Relations Manager

Vicky Zammit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel at the end of July 2021 and it was clear that the hotel was getting up to speed with the increase in custom. Our first 2 days were somewhat disappointing as the food at breakfast and dinner was of a poor quality. This was however quickly addressed and the food on the last 5 days of our holiday was of a much higher quality and we genuinely looked forward to the selection of evening meals. In addition the Carvv resturant (located next door) is a must as the meal and service was exceptional. I have written a separate review if you wish to find out more.

In the current climate the tourist business is under intense pressure and in hindsight it is understandable if hotels take a little time to adapt to reopening or adapting to new processes to adapt to covid.

The swimming pools are very clean and there is the usual issue of brits putting their towels on the sun beds at 7am. As a fellow Brit I find this practice quite embarrassing but we did still manage to get a sun bed when we came back to the hotel later in the afternoon after a day exploring.

It’s a small detail but during our stay the island was having somewhat of a heatwave and the temps were 45c. Throughout our week the hotel air conditioning was in good working order, both in the hotel and the room.

It may be a side point but how many times have you been abroad over the summer and brits complain that it is too hot? Come on guys, it’s Malta, it’s July and you are very near the Sahara desert, did you
expect it to be cold??

There are some references in the reviews to cockroaches and we did encounter a whopper in our sea facing room on the sixth floor. I managed to trap it on the curtain with a bin whilst my partner called reception to ask for help. Reception were slow in responding to this but eventually they sent 2 cleaning staff to our room. I imagine for some it may have looked unusual for a man in his underpants to be holding a bin against a curtain with 2 hotel staff also in the room but the cockroach was eventually removed.

We have booked to stay at the hotel again in October 2021 as we feel this is a hotel which provides strong covid measures, nice swimming pools and high quality meals.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ben147purvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolmen Resort Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2021

Dear ben147purvis,


Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Dolmen Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

It gives me great pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted, that our kitchen could lift up to your expectations after the first 2 days. Thank you for expressing your concerns regarding the reservation of the sun loungers with pool towels. This issue will be addressed in our next management meeting. We are pleased you mentioned that our air-conditioning system was working well. We are pleased you pointed out that all covid measures were in place.
We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience regarding the insect in your room. These types of insects do like the heat and humidity a lot, so they do occur from time to time. Never the less, it is not a pleasant experience and we apologize for it.

Recommending the hotel to friends is appreciated and we all look forward to your return visit to the Dolmen hotel, to have once again a relaxing time here with us.

Regards,

Guest Relations Manager

Vicky Zammit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2021 via mobile

We had such a lovely 5 night stay at the Dolmen, and definitely want to return and bring more of our family!

Firstly, most staff we encountered were kind and friendly, especially the photographer Salma who was great at her job, but didn’t make us feel pressured into having photos taken.

Our rooms were incredible - the biggest hotel rooms we have each ever stayed in! We had 2 sea view rooms which I believe are bigger than the standard non-sea view rooms, but they were really nice, and I’d give a 4/5 for cleanliness :) The cleaners were all lovely and friendly too.

The pool areas were amazing - people did get up early to put towels on sun beds but we were always able to find beds as there were plenty of them. It was also nice that kids are allowed to take inflatables in the pool - good for families. The swim up bar was great too in 1/4 outdoor pools. There was also a little bit of animation round the pools though I can’t really comment on that due to COVID, not too sure what is allowed.

In terms of Covid, everybody wore masks around, there was lots of hand sanitiser and in the restaurant, chefs and waitresses / waiters served all the food for you. We were only B+B but it was a fairly good selection. It felt very safe. The only thing was the hotel says that they can book you in for the pre departure Covid tests at Qawra Clinic 2, but really when you arrive at the clinic there is no booking - you just turn up and have to queue for half an hour or so. That’s not the hotels fault though, just don’t bother booking and go to the clinic as early as possible (8am).

Finally, the location was amazing - the beach was great and it was just off the popular Tourist Street which is full of lots of lovely bars and restaurants.

Overall, it is an incredible, solid 4 star hotel.

Room tip: Sea view rooms. Lots of restaurants nearby so don’t worry about half board.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Ollieboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolmen Resort Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2021

Dear Ollieboo1,

Thank you for choosing the Dolmen hotel for a enjoyable and satisfying stay and I am glad you had a good time with us. Thank you for pointing out the friendliness of our staff and that your room was completely to your liking. Our outside facilities were also described as very pleasant. Thank you for mentioning, that we follow all the Covid regulations. We can book our guests at the Qwara Clinic for a Covid test, but due to a very heavy demand, you always have to calculate waiting times.


We are looking forward to your next visit to the Dolmen hotel in the not to distance future.

All the Best for now and thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Regards,

Guest Relations Manager

Vicky Zammit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2021 via mobile

Stayed here recently and loved it. There’s been some comments about limited choice at breakfast not sure what they meant there were waffles some days omelettes on others admittedly the bacon is t lien English but then no where is there was a different type of sausage most days beans, tomatoes, scrambled and fries eggs different bread meats and yoghurts I do wish they had more fresh fruit but that’s my only gripe and there was a mixed fruit cocktail. Yes u do have to put your towel down for sun beds if u want the pools but the perched beach is better anyway and there were always beds on there. The Amazonian club where the perched beach is great. BUT I do agree it’s can be very dangerous I had a family member who fell as it’s slippy and it’s half a step and half a ramp needs to be one or the other. They were very quick in responding so I suspect it’s not the first time. But I wound definitely stay again. Went with 2 young children and they both loved it too.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank fionap573
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolmen Resort Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2021

Dear fionap573,

We appreciate the time that you have invested on writing an overview of your stay at the Dolmen hotel. Thank you for mentioning in detail the great choice we are offering for breakfast. We are also offering more and various type of fresh fruit, because our guests are requesting it a lot. We are delighted you enjoyed our Amazonia Beach Club. We will forward your concerns regarding slippery floors to the corresponding department for their perusal and attention.

It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we are already looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Guest Relations Manager

Vicky Zammit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews