We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (924)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveller rating
204
338
247
97
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
338
247
97
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolswim up barthe busresidential areagrilled tomatothree starcontinental breakfastbuggiba squarestar hotelhotel is situatedhalf boardrabbitmin walksea fronthotel barsandy beachesdecent size
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 926 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Yes it can be a little noisey
Yes it can be noisey depending on the guest, which I would find this in most hotels.
Furniture a little tired, however it will be having a make over in the near future.

The manager is very nice, professional, and very smart. He works behind the reception as well as his own job so the hotel will function in a professional way.
All the receptionist are so friendly, the domestics provided clean sheets, fresh towels, and clean the rooms to a good standard.

The food, this is optional when booking it would be nice to bring back the boiled eggs though the bacon and sausage is not to bad, however, their is plenty to eat from cereals, cheeses, cooked meats, and tradional Maltese bread along side fresh baps and bread. Hot drinks are available with a choice.

Their are plenty of excellent restaurants not far away, you can walk to buggiba square within ten minutes.

It can be a little noisey at the back of the hotel with the cockerel maybe the front of the hotel would be better for light sleepers.

I have now stayed at this hotel numours times, and will be staying again in November we stayed in 516 last week over looking the farm.
Some reviews I find very insulting to this small well run hotel.

This is not a savoy hotel or the Hilton hotel but is managed just as professional as they are.

If you want a well managed safe hotel it's a good place to stay.

Keep up the good work

Regards

Wendy Rawlinson

Room Tip: Ideal location, trips out can be arranged, beautiful walks, cinema close by, safe environment, excellent places to to eat out.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank katieprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear Ms Rawlinson,

It is a pleasure reading your very honest and down to earth review just as it is always a pleasure welcoming you back to the Sunflower Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in November.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

We have just returned from a week in Malta and a stay at The Sunflower. We arrived late at night and it was nice and quiet and difficult to see the surroundings.
When we woke up the next morning we could see we were in a residential neighbourhood with a block of flats being built opposite. As others have said there is no double/secondary glazing so when the building site fired up at dawn, so did you.There was a lot of noise from residents/dogs/children so we got ready quickly each day and went out.
The biggest issue with the rooms are the lack of storage space. There is a wardrobe, with a couple of small shelves and a dressing table, with a couple of drawers. Hanging space was fine but there was absolutely nowhere to put shorts/t-shirts/underwear so we lived out of the suitcase for a week. The room was clean enough and had the best shower we have ever experienced in a Med Hotel. Plenty of hot water, always, and great pressure.
The breakfast was your typical "Euro Hotel" fare and was pretty much on a par of other Hotels we have stayed in. The Pool Bar was a nice touch and being able to swim up to the bar for drinks when you want them was great.
The staff are what makes this hotel and I would have knocked another mark off but for them. Very pleasant and they were incredibly helpful.
Would we stay there again? If the price was right, Yes. It is only 10 mins from the coast and all the bars/restaurants in the square and as a base, it was fine. The bus station is just up the road and there are convenience stores handy, so perfect as a base.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear Stuart B,

Thank you for your review, we have make a note of your comments and will discuss them at out next Manager's meeting.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

This was the noisiest hotel that we have ever stayed in and we have certainly stayed in many.
Windows without secondary glazing allowing external noise from cockerels, dogs, rubbish trucks, motorbikes etc
No carpets in passageways only dirty matting and noisy locks on doors allowing unbelievable internal noise, not to mention guests arriving back at 3am and slamming doors as well as yelling at the tops of their voices.
Obviously this establishment encourages guests who are oblivious to noise or who lack consideration of others.
Now we come to ‘breakfast’. This could not be more monotonous:
Alternating scrambled eggs and an excuse of a sausage which could have been filled with anything and fried undercooked eggs with slimy bacon. The menu stated that there were apples, pineapple rings and butter on the menu, the latter being a mixture of vegetable spread (margarine) and a suspicious looking oil. We never saw an apple or any other fresh fruit apart from dried up oranges.
It’s hard to believe that I struggled to book this hotel as it was full but I wonder how many guests return perhaps Karma was trying to prevent me from making the biggest mistake of my life.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Footsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear Footsak,

Thank you for your review, we regret to note that the hotel did not meet your expectations, we are looking into your comments and looking at ways on how to improve our service.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Like the building and its surroundings we are tired after a week in this establishment. We moved rooms 3 tines and ended up in a room that was not quite so noisy.
The hotel seriously needs an update, or demolition and rebuild. Otherwise, it would benefit from installation of double glazing and a general overhaul. The hallways have very tired hessian matting with ‘decorative’ staining throughout. The ceiling fans could do with refitting.
Some of the staff are pleasant and try to please but the chamber maids work in pairs and chatter loudly from arrival. Dennis in the bar has mastered the art of ignoring guests and arguing with simple requests such as asking for a Latte to be made hot.
The breakfast is self service in a cave like canteen. The choice is basic alternating between sausages and scrambled eggs to fried eggs and semi grilled bacon. The other items on the menus stay the same with the items missing daily - no butter, no apples & no pineapple rings. If these items are never available please change the menu. A better idea would be to reduce the chamber maids to one per floor so that they could work without the cackle and make a saving to allow supply of a decent breakfast.

Best tip is to stay somewhere else of never eat or drink here.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GlavumTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Glavum Traveller,

Reading through your review regarding your stay with us at the Sunflower Hotel we regret that the hotel did not live up to your expectations , whilst every effort is made to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay with us, we have taken note of your remarks and we are looking into the issue's you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for rhe third time. Room ok. 6th floor. Veey noisy cockerells from 4am but window closed and fan on was fine. Hot shower. Breakfast however was very disappointing. One coffee machine whixh had gone wrong, some bacon which had hardly been cooked and orange juice which I doubt had anything natural in it at all sent me scurrying to the nearest shop serving coffee and pastizzi. I didn't bother with breakfast after that. Nice roof top area with pool. Short walk to shops and eateries.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Sophieni209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Sophieni209,

Thank you for your review about our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Your feedback is highly appreciated and your comments will be shared and discussed further with the rest of our management team in the view of improving our services.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again at Sunflower Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Vera Zelles
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews