We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$21
View deal
Priceline
US$21
View deal
Agoda.com
US$16
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$21
Booking.comUS$21
CheapTicketsUS$21
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,347)
Filter reviews
2,347 results
Traveller rating
761
859
414
182
131
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
761
859
414
182
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool free safe a pool view room plenty of sunbeds reception staff air con breakfast and dinner clean hotel paul's bay cleaned every day half board bed and breakfast bars and restaurants the bus the main square yogurt fridge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2,347 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2021 via mobile

This was our 4th stay at the Topaz Hotel since 2009. It's was great value and our poolside room couldn't have been any better. This hotel is central to everywhere we need to visit around St Paul's Bay/Buggiba and not too far from Qwara.

We only had 2 problems this is why we didn't give full marks. 1st the toilet flush wasn't good but they fixed it upon request the following morning. The lifts kept going out of order. But apart from those two little things. We were very happy with the size of our room, cleanliness. Towels and room cleaning were daily if required. Closet space was big. All staff were fantastic and very pleasant as always. The pool was spotless.

We got a great deal on the room only and all our requests were met, i.e. late check in, out high floor etc.

The Hotel also has a beauty salon which I got a full Chinese Medical Massage and Pedicure by a fantastic lady called Yan. Would recommend this hotel, its good value, very cheerful and treat yourself to a massage while you're there.

We will return.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Auds44Kier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob arrigo, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2021

Thanks for the reviews. Topaz does not deliberately switch off lifts.
Some users do not care on good usage. Damages caused deliberately are ultimately charged.
Its good we have 4 lifts on ground floor to all floors.
Mechanics, even the flushing, does go into tilt at times. Most unwanted. We do have a 24/7 maintenance on duty too
Thanks again and wish you all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2021

We came over to the topaz hotel for our first holiday and I can say for certain that we won’t be returning
Our room had dried blood on the hotel telephone and on the bathroom floor, our fridge sounded like it was making ice cubes all night. There were practically no shops open and the one open had nothing we needed. We arrived at our hotel a little after 10oclock but was told we couldn’t check in till 2 pm

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 751shaunj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob arrigo, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2021

The whole world of hotels has check ins after 2 pm and depatures at 11 am. There is cleaning time in between...!
Blood? Impossible.
All shops in resort are and stay open 365 days.
Fridge change or unplug are options seemingly not availed of
Pity really

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021 via mobile

Went for 7 nights and had a excellent stay the staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel was spotless and the staff worked hard our room was cleaned everyday the hotel catered for every nationality but the staff was subjected to lots of abuse from customers who were very rude and over demanding I did feel sorry for them but the staff was very professional about the incidents almost like they was used to the abuse of a certain nationality which I won’t name I would also like to point out that the reviews I’ve read on here don’t paint a true picture of what it’s like at the hotel and I would certainly book here again thank you for the lovely stay
(Au revoir)

Room tip: Don’t be disheartened with the location you soon find your feet and there is a lot of places in the area
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank L5869GUcarll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob arrigo, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2021

Our staff thank you so much. Yes some clients are aggressive, rude and insult staff. I commend the staff for being so professional.
As to reviews, what can i say. Its from halftruths to blackmail.
Once you visit topaz, know the price, and quality ratio, and be sincere, then you will have a good holiday
Again, thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2021

Stayed at the Hotel Topaz for one week at the end of September 2021, we were bed and breakfast only.

Our room was in the annex across the road from the main hotel, the room was spacious enough cleaned every day, towels also changed daily.

All the staff the staff seemed pleasant though some serving the cooked breakfast look fed up. All seemed polite but especially the lady on reception with dark hair and glasses who was so helpful.

Nice outdoor swimming pool at the hotel, though you had to be careful walking round the pool as sometimes very slippery.

The hotel is located about a 5/6 minute walk from the main square with the bars, restaurants and shops.

Bus stops close by for airport and to Valletta and other resorts.

Enjoyed my time in Malta and stay at the Topaz.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob arrigo, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2021

Thanks so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2021 via mobile

This was a nice hotel to stay in, if you’re expecting luxury this isn’t for you but it was ok for us for a week. We arrived very early hours of the morning and whilst being the only 2 people standing in reception it appeared that we were being ignored by the man on reception at the time but after asking for him to check us in he did so with no problem. The rooms are very outdated, corridors etc are the same but with covid stopping alot of travel etc it’s been hard for any industry to earn money over the last couple of years. Air con was cool but not great. The beds were very hard and not the comfiest but we slept well. The rooms were clean and every day the cleaners came in and did a brilliant job on the rooms and sheets and towels replaced. A few times we were still in the room when they came around and we expected they wouldn’t come back to clean but they still did come back and clean it which was much appreciated. All of the staff were friendly and said good morning or let you walk past.
We were just bed and breakfast, which I was grateful for as the evening meal menu didn’t look like it catered much for British people. Breakfast was served to you because of covid but the amount they gave you was enough. Standard breakfast, toast, eggs, bacon etc. and by far the best cup of tea I’ve ever had abroad. There are plenty of lovely restaurants to eat in and to be honest eating out for dinner was far better than paying for an evening meal in the hotel. I have read reviews of St. Paul’s bay being dirty and littered. I have never witnessed any of this in the times I’ve been to Malta. Everyone in Malta is lovely and polite and very accommodating.
The pool area is lovely. Plenty of sun beds and options for shade. The pool is nice and big and clean. Shallow end to ease yourself in and even a seating bit inside the pool aswell. Bar service outside and music during the day.
Worst part of the hotel? The lifts are beyond attrocious. Half of the time they weren’t working. One day all of them were out of order and using the stairs up to level 4 was a killer in the heat! There didn’t seem any rush to repair them. And they’re very small, for a hotel with over 300 rooms the lifts only fit 4 people and it’s a squeeze! Having broken lifts was the only bad point about the hotel
On the listing here it says street parking as an amenity. Let me tell you that you will never ever get a space! It’s first come first serve. We rented a car and found it very difficult to ever park. It’s a shame there’s no parking for hotel guests as renting a car really helps you enjoy Malta more. If you are renting a car and need parking, staying at the end of St. Paul’s bay there are 2 hotels that have parking, one is for the hotel the other is next to it and they charge €5 a day for parking.
Overall this was an ok hotel, would consider staying again.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kelliee1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob arrigo, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Thanks. We opened in 2014. We chose a type of warmer furniture, rather than a cold , whote chipboard which would have cost less.
Its a matter of taste. Each to his own taste .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews