We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine tastes in Ligurian Style”

Trattoria 'a Lanterna
Ranked #8 of 183 Restaurants in Bugibba
Price range: US$17 - US$28
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 March 2018

A small and family run trattoria restaurant following the food tradition of Italy and of Genova / Liguria in particular.

If you are looking for something characteristic , genuine and with some dish you can find only in Liguria ....this is the place.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank GuzziAbysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Good food, services and value for money. Highly recomend. Friendly staff and nice atmosphere quiet place.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank O5272CAcharlesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

While in Malta my husband and I visited the restaurant for dinner. A beautiful quite restaurant with amazing ligurian food as the owner comes from San Remo. We had a salad, pasta and the beef, which is the most tasteful beef we have ever eaten! Melting in your mouth and so rich in flavors, you want to have more! Everything was excellent and cooked with fresh ingredients and the prices were also very good!!! Excellent dinner!!!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _mpadoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Located on a small street in Bugibba it's easy to walk past this place without even noticing it. Kind of, blink and you'll miss it. Don't miss it.
Rather small in size this place is cosy and warm. Everyone from the owner to the waitress are welcoming, smiling and eager to help and feed you good food.
The food was fantastic. Simple, full of flavour, nothing fancy just good eating. Melt in the mouth beef (best ever), fresh fish and the best tiramisu that I ever tried. I skip desert usually, but just a taste from my wife's glass and I was hooked. Ordered mine. And could have had three more.
If I had to say something negative about it, but only if I had to say it, is that I would have loved larger (500ml) beers rather than 330ml (that's for children).
And another thing: Italians eat here too.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grogoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

This is one of Malta's hidden gems. It's as if one has teleported to Liguria. It's a place suitable for romantic dinners, family outings or small groups. What I love about the food is not just the quality, but the choice is not the typical Italian restaurant but is truly a specialty regional restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank MaltaValletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igor L, Proprietario at Trattoria 'a Lanterna, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Thanks!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria 'a Lanterna also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Trattoria 'a Lanterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing