We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TravelocityUS$21
Orbitz.comUS$21
CheapTicketsUS$21
TripadvisorUS$21
Trip.com
StayForLong
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
22
60
92
69
184
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
60
92
69
184
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2019

Stayed the week half broad, food awful. Eating my evening meal and found a lovely catapiller named him Fred, told the waiter no apology... disgusting, stayed away from salads, vegetables. Rooms very basic, but cleaned daily noisy area, not ideal for young children. Most of the staff polite and helpful.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KarenL3436
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis T, Owner at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback.
Regarding your comments, please rest assured that these are duly noted.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience; however we would also like to inform you, that we are always happy to assist our guests whenever it is requested.
Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2019 via mobile

This was the second time we stayed at the Santa Maria. The rooms and basic but they are clean . We were all inclusive and had no complaints with the food , if we are honest it’s actually improved since our last visit . Pool area very clean and tidy . This hotel doesn’t deserve the negative comments it gets . People need to consider the price they pay for this hotel if you want a better standard of hotel then pay more money and you will get it . We will return to Malta and we will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank welshlady1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis T, Owner at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback. We are happy that we met your expectations and we hope to see you again at our Hotel.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our great location and our friendly staff. We will pass on your kind compliments to everyone concerned.
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2019 via mobile

Was very apprehensive about arriving at the hotel after reading the reviews, so was pleasantly surprised to find the staff were cheery and helpful, room, although basic, was clean. Everything we asked for (extra pillows, towels etc), was dealt with immediately. Breakfast did leave a lot to be desired, but managed to eat every morning. Didn't eat any more meals in the hotel, so can't comment on them. Overall, you get what you pay for. It was perfectly fine for our needs.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MichaelAHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis T, Owner at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2019

Your positive feedback regarding your stay with us has been very well received and is appreciated by all the staff. Thank you for taking the time to share this constructive review which fills us with a lot of energy and enthusiasm in our daily achievements to provide an excellent service.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed our friendly and professional staff. We will pass on your kind compliments to everyone concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2019

i was given room 316 in saint maria hotel. the room was big with balcony and very clean, the room was cleaned every day with fresh towels and bedding, The staff was lovely, very helpful and always a smile for those who chose to speak and smile to them.
the food was lovely, aside from 2 days where i think the chef was off. Food was plentiful, and always hot. the restaurant staff did remove plates immediately but they always asked if it I had finished. i was a solo traveller, i had a street room, but there was no late night disturbances, the hotel was centrally located busses only 5 minutes away, The tour guide man was very helpful,
i ate at the hotel every evening and there was no repetition of food apart from the salads, there was meat fish and vegetarian options. i would go back again, i have to say i was very nervous based on the bad reviews, i think if people want 5 star service they should book a 5 star prices. only down side pool was a bit cold, but as i was advised from a girl swimming in it for hours. its cold when you get it but nice after that. the pool area was kept clean i really cannot fault this hotel. thank you to all the staff.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis T, Owner at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2019

Your positive feedback regarding your stay with us has been very well received and is appreciated by all the staff. Thank you for taking the time to share this constructive review which fills us with a lot of energy and enthusiasm in our daily achievements to provide an excellent service.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed our friendly and professional staff. We will pass on your kind compliments to everyone concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

Our room did not have tv or electicity in plugs to charge our cell phone, at the reception desk, they told us that they couldn't help us, stuff very unkind! Breakfast horrible! Never come back again.
Belive me, all this is true. Trust me!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tired_Tucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis T, Owner at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback.
Regarding your comments, please rest assured that these are duly noted.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience; however we would also like to inform you, that we are always happy to assist our guests whenever it is requested.
Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews