We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$21
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/01/22
Travelocity
US$21
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/01/22
Trip.com
US$18
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/01/22
CheapTicketsUS$21
Orbitz.comUS$21
travelup.comUS$46
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
22
60
92
69
184
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
60
92
69
184
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2020

Food was terrible, most days inedible and was often the days before represented. Woman on reception must be the rudest person employed in the leisure industry, said she was Maltese but sounded Australian, called me a whinging pom. took over 3 hours to book in. Bar staff seem to have one objective and that is to avoid you getting more than one drink. Shame Malta is a lovely place but this House of Horrors has put me off going again. It was before March 2019 but that is the earliest date I could post.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank lesc528
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis T, Owner at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback.
Regarding your comments, please rest assured that these are duly noted.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience; however we would also like to inform you, that we are always happy to assist our guests whenever it is requested.
Unfortunately we were not given an opportunity to assist you during your stay.
Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2020 via mobile

I am really not one to write bad reviews but disgusting.NO heating, No toilet flush, no electricity.. Thought I was in Pakistan for a second. No TV remote.. Might as well project my thoughts onto then TV screen!!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 290,795
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis T, Owner at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback.
Regarding your comments, please rest assured that these are duly noted.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience; however we would also like to inform you, that we are always happy to assist our guests whenever it is requested.
Unfortunately we were not given an opportunity to assist you during your stay.
Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2019 via mobile

Where do I begin. Clever photography makes this tired old hotel seem like an idyllic place to stay. Wrong. Apart from the grand reception area this hotel is a pit that is badly run by uncooperative staff who put up a brick wall when you have an issue. There was no disability access into the property and I had to help my wife up and down 5 steps every time we entered & left. The whole place is filthy including the restaurant. We witnessed staff wiping tables, chairs & hot buffet serving areas with the same cloth without the use of any bacterial spray. If this hotel was in England, EHO would have a field day & close it immediately. The hotel has a dress code for the evening meal (smart /casual) but during our stay the hotel were accommodating a vast amount of builders who descended on the restaurant in their filthy work gear and dumping their safety helmets on the dining tables. The staff seemed nervous & reluctant to ask if we were having a nice holiday because they knew what the answer would be. The food was absolutely appalling. Pre cooked, dry and tasteless & repetitive. People need to know what a dire place this is before they part with their hard earned money. Having read other reviews & seen the hotels response that their views are duly noted, i can't believe that the Website we booked on are still taking bookings. This constitutes misrepresentation & should be stopped.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 364bobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis T, Owner at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to learn that overall you did not have a great holiday with us.

We also thank your feedback regarding your stay. We are truly grateful to our guests, who take the time to provide this useful information. This way we can improve our services and the facilities that we provide to our guests. We have taken a note of your comments and we can assure you, that the points raised in your review will be passed on to the relevant departments concerned.

Thank you once again for choosing our property and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Should you require any future assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2019

The standard of the hotel very poor,food cold lacking flavour and taste not a great selection. Satellite tv one channel poor reception. All drinks served in plastic glasses, never offered ice or lemon, bar staff in dining room was more interested in his phone than serving customers. Obtaining a coffee from the bar it contained grubs we returned it and was told it was the machine but the staff continued to use the machine. On returning to England my girlfriend had to visit her doctors with bites only to discover they were bed bug bites Doesn't deserve 3 star rating not even 1 star

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank Kensimmo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis T, Owner at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for dedicating your time to share your experience in regards to your stay. Please rest assured that your comments are duly noted.
We would also like to have the opportunity of assisting you during your stay.
Kind Regards
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2019 via mobile

Basic hotel, a bit tired in places but nice and clean.
Reception staff very helpful.
Fast, free wifi which beats many other better hotels.
Only ate breakfast in the restaurant on last morning and not sure it was worth €8 but convenient ahead of the transfer to airport.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 342stevenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis T, Owner at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for dedicating your time to share your experience in regards to your stay. Please rest assured that your comments are duly noted.
We would also like to have the opportunity of assisting you during your stay.
We are glad you have expressed your satisfaction with our helpful staff and free fast speed wi-fi.
We hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews