We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Fantastic Visit”
Review of Woodstocker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodstocker Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Our third wonderful stay at the Woodstocker and absolutely no sign that standards are slipping! Dora and David were every bit as welcoming & hospitable as on our previous visits. Loved the funky Chelsea room with the Italian red bath - a superior bathing experience! The library is my favourite room in the inn. Perfect for curling up with a book and cup of tea and even a slice of lemon cake after a hard day exploring Woodstock and the surrounding area. Breakfasts are great with our favourites the granola, smoked salmon & scrambled eggs and the omelettes. The cafetiere was a welcome home from home for my partner.
Do make a fuss of the lovely Daisy Doo and do counsel David & Dora for local information, things to do, restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Westminster, Richmond and Chelsea are all great and have "feature" bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N5Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 220 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

Lovely b&b perfectly situated in Woodstock. Decorated with color and humor (a welcome break from the traditional new england b&b decor), great reading room and fantastic breakfasts including specialty sausages and fresh food from local purveyors. Warm and friendly hosts that really care about comfort and service. Comfortable and well appointed large rooms made the kids and the adults very happy. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nytraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I've been travelling through Woodstock for about 30 years and recently decided to spend a weekend there. I've traveled to the UK many times and when I stumbled onto the Woodstocker - with it's British flair - I knew I wanted to stay there. I was not disappointed.
The inn is immaculate with way more many amenities than any other inn I've stayed at. The choices and quality of the English breakfast (included) were superb. I will definitely be staying there again. This place is truly a gem.

Room Tip: I believe that rooms away from Rt 4 are quieter, however, there might only be one that is near the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Well-deserved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This is a charming inn, ideally located for visiting Woodstock. While we only stayed for one night we were made to feel very welcome and provided with useful information about the village and surrounding area.
While we had originally booked the Bradford we were upgraded to the Westminster room, which had an exceptional bathroom. Breakfast was excellent with the home made granola particularly noteworthy.
We enjoyed our interesting conversation with David about the differences between US and UK.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ceri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This B&B was immaculately clean and charming. The modern colors and decor are different from more traditional B&Bs but work well. The owners are helpful without being overbearing. We had the front room downstairs but found it quiet enough to get plenty of sleep. Good bed.

The only advice I would give is to make sure you are open to new breakfast experiences. We tried the beans for breakfast but not the blood pudding. Many of the guests were having trouble using the french press coffeemakers and becoming frustrated with making their own each morning. I understand that these breakfast customs stem from the owners' British heritage, but I did see lots of frustration over the coffee. Yes--you can ask the owner for help, but many people feel embarrassed over having to ask, and the owner wasn't around at 7:00 a.m. when I tried to make my coffee in the guest kitchen.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TXcatlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidbignose!, D3 Co-Owners at Woodstocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Our inn provides complimentary tea, coffee, sodas, cakes and chocolate all day and night, as we feel inns that charge for them are petty and tight fisted, which is something we are not!

The coffee cafetieres we use allow all clients to make beverages that suit their own style, strong or weak, hot or cool etc. We also provide clear instructions in 15 languages on how to use them as the result of previous client comments, as well as showing every client upon check in where they are and the brewing instructions.

In addition we now also inform clients on how to use our electrical kettle an item very popular in most of the developed world, as some of our US clients seem to think that the item was designed by NASA! It is in fact an Australian manufactured by Breville and supplied by Amazon. Fill it with water, flick a switch and when it has boiled it switches itself off....it is as simple as that.

We never realised when we purchased our cafetieres six years ago that they would provoke such a source of comment! Thus we are at a loss why so many folks seem either unable to read or to ask for assistance? When asked, we happily provide assistance on many other issues like local restaurant bookings, cork screws and ice .....but the humble coffee pot seems to have stumped this particular client.

We are satisfied that these clients understood our stated aim of 'Striving to be different' and not being 'Just another New England inn' and liked everything else about their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
2.3 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
447 reviews
6.3 km away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
296 reviews
1.4 km away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
1.1 km away
The Charleston House
The Charleston House
#7 of 15 in Woodstock
161 reviews
2.1 km away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 15 in Woodstock
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstocker Inn

Address: 61 River St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1227
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: $286 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original village 'green eco' Inn - 15 AWARDS more than all the other Woodstock B & B/inns combined! Including - Telegraph UK - Worlds Best British owned inn. Innkeepers of the Year, Top 12 in World, Top 10 in USA all on Bed & Breakfast com, D3 - European owners provide adult indulgence, eclectic mix of relaxation, cakes & chocolate using organic sources. We operate a 'warts & all' policy. Motto 'only as good as our guests say we are!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Woodstocker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstocker Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing