We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flirting with Greatness”

Sage Woodfire Tavern Perimeter
Reserve with OpenTable
Sage Woodfire Tavern Perimeter is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #304 of 4,084 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Sage Perimeter offers a city chic yet casual atmosphere featuring contemporary American cuisine with global influences. We offer market fresh fish, seafood, hand-cut steaks, chops, gourmet salads, chicken, pastas and burgers all prepared over our live hickory oak woodfire grill.
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Sage could be a great restaurant, but it is conflicted and unsure just what it wants to be - a bar or a restaurant. The Picky Eater and I went to a get together (which was poorly thought-out and planned) taking place the weekend of a wedding we were to attend. The Greeters were nice and accommodating and, eventually, we found the hostess. We were settled into a booth in the bar area and brought menus, though we hadn't asked for them. A pianist was setup not 10 feet from us and vied with noise from the bar crowd, forcing her to nearly scream lyrics to the songs. The room was attractive, but garishly lit and very, very loud. After the pianist finished her set and packed up her gear, we were quickly made aware that there was a dance-floor/room not more than 30 feet from our table. We were joined by 4 others bringing our group to 6. The waitperson was wonderful and bravely explained the menu, provided "spot-on" advice on items, and took our orders over the increasing louder din of the dance music.

I was pleasantly surprised at how wonderful the food was prepared. We ordered braised short ribs, mini lump crab cakes, Ajillo Shrimp, and tenderloin skewers for table-sharing appetizers. Each was served hot and in generous portions. They all were flavorful and I would recommend each of them. The Picky Eater ordered the Rack of Lamb and I ordered Wood-fire grilled Salmon. Both were excellently prepared. Others ordered salmon, Asiago Chicken, Pappardelle Lamb Ragu and Baby Back Ribs with similar responses on quality and freshness of preparation. I would order the salmon again and after tasting the Lamb Ragu, I would also order it. We skipped dessert.

This is not a cheap place to eat and, though the food is tasty, generously portioned, and presented well; there are other places. Expect great service, though, so maybe it balances out. I would go back to sit in the dining room to avoid the noise and that might make this a true 4 star experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Harith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 May 2017

Hi Harith, thanks for taking the time to leave us this detailed review! We are pleased to learn that you received exceptional service from both our team of hosts and servers. We want to ensure that you are comfortable and well attended to the duration of your meal!
The Sage Tavern team of chefs work to create delicious meals made of fresh ingredients for your enjoyment. We are pleased to learn that your appetizers and meals were tasty and served hot!
We apologize for the noise level; we want guests to enjoy their meal and the conversation that goes with it. We will certainly take this into consideration!
Thanks again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you back at Sage for a 5-star experience. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2017

Waste of time.. Took my parents for Mother's day.. Super Loud Environment because of the table next to us celebrating a birthday.. Nonetheless, The best thing there is the calamari. The Bruschetta is bad.. Bread was not edible at all it was so stale! So, the entree's.. The Pecan Sea Bass.. Drenched in oil and Soggy.. So Hard to Eat.. Like the Mashed Potatoes.. My dad got the Ribeye and that was just fatty and He said it tasted like they unfroze the meat.. Wow.. Ouch! Yeah Definitely Not returning here... !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sevil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 May 2017

Hi there, thank you for leaving us with this feedback. Our team is always looking for ways we can improve the customer experience, and the input of guests provides us with more insight as to how we can do so.
We're sorry to hear that the meals your parents and yourself ordered did not meet your expectations. We take pride in serving meals that are created with fresh, quality ingredients. If you wish, we would appreciate the chance to discuss your comments further. Please reach out to the management team at (770) 804-8880. Thank you, we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

This restaurant has a great vibe. The food is great and the service is on point. Sage Woodfire Tavern has a very diverse menu that should please all pallets. The oysters on the half shell were great as was the Greek salad and the Korean ribs. It is a little pricey, but you pay for what you get so one should not be disappointed with the meal, worth the price and wait.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 May 2017

Hi Andre, thanks for taking the time out of your day to leave the team at Sage Woodfire Tavern Perimeter this wonderful review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time dining with us. Our team of servers and chefs strive to provide our guests with amazing food and exceptional services to make your time with us relaxing and pleasant! We look forward to having you back again soon for another delicious meal. Have a great weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

The restaurant was very dark and I couldn't see the menu well. I ordered the Chicken Alfredo and it was very watery with processed chicken and bacon bits. My Texas Margarita was full of ice so my drink tasteless. The waiter was very attentive.

Thank margaretbL69BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 April 2017

Hi there, thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us with this feedback. Our location is known for providing our guests with superb service and delicious meals; it's great to hear that your server was attentive to your needs! However, we're sorry to hear that the meal you ordered did not meet your expectations. If you have any additional comments or concerns regarding your Alfredo, you drink, or anything else, please contact a manager at (770) 804-8880. We hope to hear from you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We were staying at a nearby hotel and chose this local restaurant based on their on line menu and reviews. It was a wonderful dining experience with more than adequate portions.

Our party ordered the Meatloaf (great taste, large portion), the chicken tender waffles, the goat cheese chicken and a salmon substituted ahi tuna salad. Everyone was pleased with their selection.

Having live music on Friday evening added to the experience.

Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 March 2017

Hi John, thanks for taking the time out of your day to leave us this review! We're very glad to hear that you had a wonderful dining experience at Sage Woodfire Tavern Perimeter. Our team is dedicated to ensuring that our guests receive delicious meals and amazing service. We hope that you return next time you're in town for some more of our tasty eats!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sage Woodfire Tavern Perimeter also viewed

 

Been to Sage Woodfire Tavern Perimeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing