We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stands out in a crowd”
Review of Hal's On Old Ivy

Hal's On Old Ivy
Ranked #80 of 4,307 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Buckhead
Transit: Piedmont & Habersham
Reviewed 6 November 2018

In a town where there's a fabulous steak house on every corner, Hal's is a top contender. Their steaks are by far some of the best I have eaten in the south. In several dozen visits over the years I have had only one steak returned, that came out just a little too quick. In all fairness the place was packed with a wait (as usual) and one minor fau pa out of dozens of great meals is negligible. If you want a steak you'll remember or sea bass to die for, you owe it to yourself to find this hidden gem in Buckhead. I suggest a taxi or uber as the parking is valet only or you walk a good distance.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Atlanta_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

I am over Hal’s. They want a kings ransom for food that is no better than your average midrange diner! I have been here many times and have not been happy with the food. Actually I have left ILL after eating the lobster mac & cheese. Everybody complained about the salt on their food. There are 1 million better choices in Atlanta!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 366warrenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

This not only a great steak house but i think one of the best in the country. The service is outstanding and the steak was even more than being awesome one of the best steaks I have ever eaten.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank josephfA7704PO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

A little expensive, but good was great and portions were large. Had the duck & Lobster bisque...yum!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank GoPlaces146165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Best food, music, atmosphere and sevice! Hakan made our night very special! Will definitely return

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Sandra Elizabet... Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hal's On Old Ivy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing