We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$182
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$156
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Almijara(La Herradura)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Casablanca(Almunecar)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$159
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
La Caleta Bay(La Herradura)
US$147
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$438
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Pension La Herradura(La Herradura)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
15
32
40
17
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
32
40
17
20
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Chinasol is a older Apartment Block on the Paseo San Cristobal and a fine place for people to rest , walk , eat and enjoy the warmer winter in Almunecar. 3/5 degrees up over rest of Anadalucia. Apartments China Sol a nice and very clean. Everything working , bed nice , bath fine and the Kitchenett have everything to make The and a smaller meal and a small fridge is also here..The Electric heather will be need some days. Ask for a room with Beach View and morning sun... A small TV set is in the Flat and have many programs... Deco a bit old but renovational are taking place daily..

Room Tip: Beach and se view
Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank simonsgaard_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

We first got an studio apartment with a very noisy refugerator, so we actually had trouble sleeping.
The webpage says every room has sea view, but that is only if you stand in the front corner of the balkony, leaning out.
The staff was very helpful, and let us change rooms to the seaside of the hotel, when they had one available.
The kitchen stove takes some getting use to, but worked fine once we could understand the instructions.

NOTE- there is no wifi in the rooms, and barely in the reception. We had to sit in the hotel restaurant every day to have connection.

The interior has not been changed since the 70s/80s, and felt kind of dirty.
The beds are uncomfy and old. There is nowhere to do laundury, even though the webpage said so.
They were renovating the poolarea, so there was a lot of noise, and the terracebar was closed... And it was impossible to hang here because of the dust and noise. No warning about this when we booked, and no discount because of this...

All in all, cheap place to stay- but you get what you pay for.

Pluss for very friendly staff, doing their best, and very close to the beach. And new elevators... But thats about it. :-/

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank qwaekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015

If you don't mind jumping back to the 80s as far as the interior and rooms are concerned and you just want to enjoy a perfect holiday at a very low price, this is
the place for you! Beach frontline, seeview, swimming pool, free wifi at reception area.
Also Almunecar is the real deal, just lovely. Memorable three days.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in front or in the swimming pool side.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomRoxTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

First the good- location perfect, 50 yards to the beach. Situated, in my opinion, in the nicer part of Almunecar. Plenty of excellent restaurants and bars. Staff do their best under the circumstances.
Now the bad- rooms are very dated and sparsely equipped with no kettle, plates, cutlery or toaster. Some things arrived next day but by then it was already too late. No working light in the bathroom for 2 days. Maid simply threw the sheet over the bed and called it made. Food very basic and nothing is replenished after 9.30am even though breakfast is served till 10am. Orange juice was simply orange water with colouring, no taste. Air con didn't work and no wifi in the apartment. These two things are essential in this day and age and considering it was over 70* at night time. Manager Paco was very unhelpful and avoided us after we complained. Staff looked embarrassed but couldn't do anything as Paco was patronising and obviously didn't want to help solve the problems. Cheap and cheerful no, cheap and nasty more like!!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frankie140749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015

I very rarely write negative reviews but feel that I owe fair warning to other travelers about Apartments Chinasol. We stayed here with friends while visiting their relatives in Almunecar.

This place is stuck in the 70's - not in a retro kind of way, but in a "needs to be seriously updated" kind of way. From the moment we stepped in the lobby, we knew we made a mistake staying here. The elevator has exposed bricks (seriously, as in the drywall had been pulled off and waiting to be repaired). There are 4 elevators but only one seemed to be working. It took forever to get us between floors and was very tight and cramped.

We booked a one bedroom apartment (room for 4). There was one bedroom with 2 twin beds (you couldn't put them together), a sofa and an extra rollaway bed. There is no airconditioner and it was hot in July. The fan in our room worked but the one in the living room (where the kids slept) made a loud creaking noise and swung back and forth. It looked as if it would fall off at any moment. We had no choice but to leave the sliding glass doors open at night. These doors are so flimsy that they creaked and made noises when the wind blew. To say that we did not have a good night's sleep for the 3 nights that we stayed here is an understatement. The bathroom has peeling wallpaper and holes on the tiles. The kitchen looked like it may have been updated in the last 10-20 years but still looks a bit tired. There is no wi-fi. I thought perhaps that we were just unlucky and were assigned a bad room. But then after checking out our friends' room theirs was just as out of date. We tried to speak to management about the fan but no one in the Reception area speaks English. It was too late to pack up and find another place (this was in high season, so most places were booked up). We were stuck. On a related note: Our friends stayed in a 3-person room and their son developed issues with his allergies. My friend suspects that it was an issue with the bedding.

After having stayed at some lovely accommodations around Spain, Chinasol is a real disappointment. The pictures on Tripadvisor, Booking.com and other sites must have been taken many years ago, because today's Chinasol does not look like it. To use a common American expression, this place is a dump. If this place has one saving grace, it is that it is across the street from the beach (Playa San Cristobal). The pool is ok but is small and gets very crowded. There is not enough seating in the pool area so you can bring a towel and sit in the hard cement if that works for you. There are no pool towels so you'll need to bring your own. And, yes, the tiles are peeling off in the pool, too!

In terms of location to the city center, it is about a 15-20 minute walk. There is a small mini market closeby and restaurants are about a 5 or so minute walk (there is one attached to the hotel, but we didn't try that as there are better options elsewhere).

For your money, there are much better options in Almunecar that are close (or across from) to the beach. Hotel Helios, Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel, Hotel Tranco del Mar, Hotel Casablanca were some that we saw (after the fact, sadly) that were closeby and rated better. There are also options in Nerja or La Herradura. If we go back to Almunecar, we will know to stay away from this place. Lesson learned the hard way.

Room Tip: There is no a/c and no wi-fi. These rooms are old and outdated.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank marcyg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews