We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of La Escalopa

La Escalopa
Ranked #1 of 90 Restaurants in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$23
Cuisines: German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Feel like home in our tiny Restaurant. Enjoy or home made german food,crispy Pizza, colorful salad or hughe Beef Steaks. And for your sweet tooth: German Apple Strudel with vanilla ice cream or Crema Catalana or or or. Since 2014 we are listed in LE ROUTARD...And we are sooooo proud!
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Tucked away in a tired shopping arcade, this place is easily missed, but we are very happy to have stumbled upon it. Excellent schnitzel, great house wine, all for prices lower than the norm in the area. And a special mention to the waitress Katja - vibrant, welcoming, efficient- in pretty much any language required!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Flemensfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La-Escalopa-de-Begur, Geschäftsführer at La Escalopa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Hello Flemensfirth!
Thank you very much for your review
It was a pleasure for us!

We hope to see you again

Gracias, thank you
Katja y Thorsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

One thing about restaurants in tourist locations is that the menus and cuisines are usually quite similar. What La Escalopa offers is a menu that caters to the requirements of many and does it very well, but what it also does well is to have a specials menu that has a really interesting mix of flavours and combinations. After a shared starter of "kroketten" and Fried Camembert with a delicious side salad my wife and I had the chicken stew with bananas, courgettes, coconut milk and rice. It was delicious and followed with a shared Apple Struddle. Together with attentive and excellent service from Katje, this place is a must for something different, but very good.

Date of visit: September 2017
2  Thank Oscarwildetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We happened upon La Escalopa by chance this evening, Katja spoke as we passed by so we turned and went in !! Lovely food, chicken and pork schnitzel, Strudel dessert, nice wine to wash it down, all in all a lovely evening !!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank thejaspers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Delicious good. Extremely friendly waitress. Excellent value. Hidden location so quite difficult to find. We enjoyed it so much that we visited again the next evening. A gem of a restaurant!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rawlins7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

The friendly waitress is serving all tables by herself, yet she has the time to have a friendly conversation with all of the guests, in many languages. The food tastes very good as well making this restaurant perfect for when you want to have a good meal and a nice experience.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SvenB421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Escalopa also viewed

 

Been to La Escalopa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing