We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous New Year Celebration!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moat House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Moat House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Acton Trussell
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fabulous New Year Celebration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We went with 10 friends to stay at this hotel for the second time to attend the New Year's Eve party, and had a wonderful time from arrival to departure. The hotel is so conveniently situated just off jcn13 of the M6 nr Stafford, which is brilliant if you are looking for an overnight stop on the way north or south. The hotel is very characterful and has a lovely duck pond at the front and the Staffordshire and Worcester canal runs along the back of the hotel, which is well worth a walk along to Penkridge The staff and are polite and friendly from reception to the chamber maids who turned down the beds each evening. Our room was overlooking the car park and part of the canal, and although you could just about hear the motorway traffic, it was not intrusive. The room was spacious with very large, very comfortable double bed, bathroom with good powerful shower over the bath. The food for New Year and the next night was fabulous - quality dining here, and the breakfast included Staffordshire Oatcakes which are actually like crepes - very filling and traditionally served with bacon and cheese! Yummy! They also have a very welcoming pub like bar in which we sat one afternoon for lunch and games.

This hotel is privately owned and family run, which is why I think it is so well run and enjoyable to stay at. We spoke to a few of the staff, many of whom have been working there for several years which says a lot. It also seems to be a very popular venue for weddings with one going on, on both of the occasions we have stayed. We would most definitely stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: The quietest rooms will be to the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillnAdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, Owner at The Moat House, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Many thank for your review of your stay with us over the New Year, fantastic to get the feedback on our reception and housekeeping staff, I'll ensure that praise is passed on to them. As a hotel we always beleive that the little things like the turn down service we offer is important and its good to get your feedback. As you mentioned most of our team have been here with us for several years which we beleive is our key strength, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Moat House in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    156
    54
    21
    12
See reviews for
181
238
14
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We have a family Christmas lunch in a private room at the Moat House, Acton Trussell every year and always enjoy ourselves there. We originally picked it because of its location which is not far from the M6 near Stafford and a central point for our family to meet & exchange Christmas presents as we live in different parts of the country. But we now keep going because of the venue itself. It is full of character and has lovely grounds. The staff are always friendly and helpful and the food is always tasty.
The Christmas menu always offers a variety of dishes and was particularly good this time. Portion sizes were generous and the presentation of the food was also very good. However the service this time was outstanding. We were looked after by the general manager, Luke Stanley who was so welcoming and attentive and made us feel very special. We can't praise him enough as he really is excellent with his customers. He made an effort to understand what was important to us and made it a particularly memorable occasion. Thank you, Luke!
In my opinion, the Moat House is an ideal venue for a Christmas lunch or dinner, a wedding or a short break. But given its location, we also stop there for lunch where we are travelling up or down the country and enjoy sitting outside by the lake.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Onlyacustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, Owner at The Moat House, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thanks for your most kind remarks, Luke and his team were delighted to read your review. It is always a pleasure for us to host such important family gatherings and we are amazed sometimes at how quickly the year flies by until the next event.

We look forward to seeing you on your next pit-stop

Chris Lewis
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We had our wedding reception here 20 years ago and the Moat House was very impressive then. As we have returned over the years it has been quite amazing to see how it has developed to become one of the most stunning hotels in Stafford.
You can enjoy the tranquility of the canal walks and soon feel in the heart of the counryside. There is so much to be enjoyed in the county town.
It is an excellent base for visiting family and friends.
Thank you to all the staff at the Moat House for making our visit very special.

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor over looking the garden is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelda1CheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, Owner at The Moat House, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
I love your review, but don't at the same time like being reminded that we've being building this business for so many years (since 1988) so yes it has grown significantly, but has still kept its family feel in many ways.
We continue to develop our business and our team with our regular customers who have supported us over the years. Thank you for your continuing support,

Chris Lewis
(now 20 years older)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

A party of 8 of us went for our Christmas Party - overnight stay with meal in the restaurant - we could not fault it from booking through to departure - absolutely superb.

Our rooms were exceptionally comfortable, we then enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in the bar dispensed by professionals and with those all important touches like lime squeezed into the gin and tonic.

We then went into the restaurant, the meal which we pre-ordered was then served and could not be faulted. The Wine Sommelier, Ian was very attentive and kept our glasses topped up.

We then enjoyed the rest of the evening, dancing away to the DJ.

The following morning we had a fantastic, relaxing breakfast before leaving.

well done to all members of management and staff

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David186377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, Owner at The Moat House, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Great to get a review like this, certainly brings a smile to all our faces after all the efforts we put into our Christmas at The Moat House.

Your review reinforces the fact that running a hotel is a team effort, not dependent upon the actions of one person, but of all.

Thanks for telling others that we did a good job, we really appreciate it.

Chris Lewis
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Stayed at the hotel after a function and enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep in a well appointed hotel. Reception was freindly and helpful. Breakfast well presented with above average cooking. Close to M^ junction 13 so it is a useful place to stay if you want to avoid the chain hotels scattered around motorway junctions.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, Owner at The Moat House, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Lou Johnson

Thanks for your review, The Moat House is lucky to be in a village location, but just 3 minutes drive from J13 of the M6 motorway, so as you say we are different to many of the chain hotels scattered around motorway junctions.

I'll pass on your feedback to all of our team

Chris Lewis
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acton Trussell
5.7 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
9.9 km away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
8.9 km away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
5.0 km away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moat House

Property: The Moat House
Address: Lower Penkridge Road, Acton Trussell, Stafford ST17 0RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford > Acton Trussell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Acton Trussell
Price range (per night): $171 - $272
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moat House 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moat House Staffordshire, an independent, family run hotel with four coveted AA stars....a unique and very special place. The luxury Moat House Hotel boasts a canal side location in the picturesque village of Acton Trussell. It extends a warm family welcome which guarantees industry leading professionalism and service. Whether your need is for accommodation, fine dining, a wedding venue or the best in corporate hospitality, our beautiful, historical buildings provide the perfect solution. Close to junction 13 of the M6 and within a short drive of Stafford, The Moat House combines a taste of history with leading-edge facilities and unrivaled service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Moat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moat House Acton Trussell Hotel Acton Trussell
Moat Hotel Acton Trussell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing