We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,120)
Filter reviews
1,120 results
Traveller rating
724
256
89
31
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
724
256
89
31
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fine dining beautiful setting afternoon tea wedding breakfast bar menu friends wedding per head function room wedding reception from start to finish lovely hotel bar area special occasion set menu sandwich fantastic food lewis partnership
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,120 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

Situated close to Junction 13 and next to the region's canal system, this is a truly excellent and luxurious place for a business meeting. Situated in beautiful grounds with ample opportunity for al fresco dining and meeting.

This is a standout building with lots of car parking space. We nabbed the lounge just off reception. It was spacious and private. The staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient. Drinks and food were served with good humour and grace.

I think I will have all my meetings here from now on. The venue is far superior than its mundane and workmanlike brothers and sisters surrounding this region's cities. Even if you just wanted a drink and to watch the barges chug past, you will not be disappointed. Very highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank Bhanudhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

We arrived at 10pm last Fri eve for a 1 night stay, chosen as needed somewhere near M6 in Stafford area and I recalled years ago that ex work colleagues had chosen to stay here when visiting the area on business.
I could see why - lovely setting with an attractive duck pond out front and canal with long boats passing behind - with even more birdlife action. The only downside was the hum of the nearby M6 but with Windows shut it was ok.
When we arrived there was a loud wedding reception underway but we were reassured that it was due to stop at 11pm and we were allocated a room at the end of the corridor furthest away and heard nothing more once in there.
Breakfast was lovely - substantial cooked offerings which were tasty as well as the usual buffet items and we were given a great table looking out across the canal. Room was pretty standard but comfortable but hot water not reliable - eent cold during showers both theeve and the morn which was annoying but didnt mind too much in the hot westher.
The hotel night cost us £110 inc breakfast which was only £10 more than the local Premier Inn and much nicer in terms of scenery and breakfast so we thought good value for money. Happy to stay here again if in the area. PS it was Thurs night not Fri if hotel reads this but can't get back to top of my review on my phone!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Roundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

We called in on our way South on the M6 for a late supper. Excellent bar food, friendly staff and good value. Only 5 minutes detour from J13 of the M6 and well worth taking the time for a driving break, and to avoid motorway services

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We attended a lunch function at the Moat House last weekend. Before being seated we were served some excellent canapes and drinks out on the terrace overlooking the canal.
The meal itself was perfectly cooked: roast beef, Yorkshire pudding and all the trimmings beautifully served and very tasty followed by a panna cotta dessert with fresh summer fruit. The Chef received everyone's compliments.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank bowerhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Lovely meal in great surroundings but not great service after the meal as staff wanted to go home. Residents were few and far between so don't blame them. Great run in the morning with a lovely breakfast.

Think about night guests!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews