We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and convenient”
Review of K Bar S Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
K Bar S Lodge
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We were very happy with our choice of the K Bar S. There are so many places from which to choose, and we felt like we hit the jackpot. It's off the beaten track, yet close to all the major sites in the Black Hills. While our room was more or less a typical hotel room, it was very clean, comfortable and quiet. (Oh yeah, except for the night that some rowdy convention guys sat around the fire pit til the wee hours of the morning.) There was a wedding on site one evening and we didn't hear any of the celebration. The grounds provide a restful atmosphere and while the view of Mt Rushmore wasn't up close and personal, it still gave me goosebumps to see Washington's profile along side the American flag.We enjoyed our morning coffee sitting on our balcony. The breakfast gazebo is large with lots of windows through which we watched the wild turkeys. The breakfast selection was good and was kept filled. After we checked in there was a slight glitch in the reservation, but it was resolved quickly and seamlessly. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony are definitely worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nawbmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

782 - 786 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

This hotel is tucked back in a wooded area of Keystone. Old Keystone, with its touristy shops and restaurants, is a nice walk from the hotel. We stayed in the main lodge in a room with a balcony that overlooked Washington on Mount Rushmore. Our room was right next to the front desk and we didn't hear any guest noise at all. Breakfast was great and served by a great staff. The room was average but clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was execeptionally down to earth and friendly. There isn't a restaurant on the property but they have bottles of wine and smore fix'ins for sale at the front desk along with vending machines. I enjoyed watching the mule deer and turkeys graze from our balcony. While this was not the fanciest place we stayed on our South Dakota trip, it was the most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony if available. It is worth the extra cost for a great view of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeekyGirlTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews, which are always so helpful. I, too, booked a room with a "view" of Mt Rushmore, and was quite disappointed to find a profile view that I could barely identify without my camera's zoom lens.

Otherwise, everything was good...this is not a luxury lodge--and the rooms are a little Motel-6ish, but it does have a great location, terrific breakfast in the morning, is nice and quiet (except for the wild turkeys), and has well traveled guests...I would definitely stay there again, but would save the money on the view next time.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the "view"--you can just drive to it in a couple of minutes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovemypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

If you want to stay in the area of Mount Rushmore K Bar S Lodge could not be better. The rooms away from the main building look a bit rustic but they are excellent, very spacious, clean, well furnished all with a balcony. We had one facing the main building which gave you a view of Mount Rushmore. The grounds are excellent with deer wandering about good breakfast and when we stayed in late Sept thr room rate was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankie030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We loved this place. It is close to town, but tucked away in a quiet canyon. The only noise is the occassional echo of the horn from the old fashioned train that travels between Keystone and Hill City. Absolutely get a room with deck. The xtra few dollars is worth it. Everyone is polite and friendly. The property is very attractive and well kept. You can have a bottle of wineby the fire pit in the evening, or roast s'mores if you prefer. The local wildlife fvisit morning and evening -- mostly turkeys and deer eating on the lawn. The only drawback (if you want to call it that) is that some tour buses stop here, so breakfast can be a bit crowded if you happen to meet them in the breakfast room. But even that is not bad, as the lodge is huge and there is plenty of seating and food.

Room Tip: Get a private deck, the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dianasroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
1.3 km away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
1.2 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
8.3 km away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
11.3 km away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K Bar S Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Bar S Lodge

Address: 434 Old Hill City Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-2027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: $130 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — K Bar S Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your K Bar S Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Bar s Hotel Keystone
k Bar s Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing