We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
K Bar S Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Keystone)(Great Value!)
US$169
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$290
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Powder House Lodge(Keystone)(Great Value!)
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookside Motel(Keystone)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (992)
Filter reviews
992 results
Traveller rating
662
261
50
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
261
50
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashington's profilewafflesfire pitmt rushmorebeautiful groundsmain buildingblack hillsfree laundrywild turkeysbalcony roomroad scholarseparate buildingpartial viewhot chocolatedistant viewoff the beaten pathlit up at night
Filter
Updating list...
815 - 820 of 992 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This hotel is tucked back in a wooded area of Keystone. Old Keystone, with its touristy shops and restaurants, is a nice walk from the hotel. We stayed in the main lodge in a room with a balcony that overlooked Washington on Mount Rushmore. Our room was right next to the front desk and we didn't hear any guest noise at all. Breakfast was great and served by a great staff. The room was average but clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was execeptionally down to earth and friendly. There isn't a restaurant on the property but they have bottles of wine and smore fix'ins for sale at the front desk along with vending machines. I enjoyed watching the mule deer and turkeys graze from our balcony. While this was not the fanciest place we stayed on our South Dakota trip, it was the most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony if available. It is worth the extra cost for a great view of the hotel's wooded property and a side view of Mount Rushmore.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeekyGirlTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews, which are always so helpful. I, too, booked a room with a "view" of Mt Rushmore, and was quite disappointed to find a profile view that I could barely identify without my camera's zoom lens.

Otherwise, everything was good...this is not a luxury lodge--and the rooms are a little Motel-6ish, but it does have a great location, terrific breakfast in the morning, is nice and quiet (except for the wild turkeys), and has well traveled guests...I would definitely stay there again, but would save the money on the view next time.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the "view"--you can just drive to it in a couple of minutes.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovemypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

If you want to stay in the area of Mount Rushmore K Bar S Lodge could not be better. The rooms away from the main building look a bit rustic but they are excellent, very spacious, clean, well furnished all with a balcony. We had one facing the main building which gave you a view of Mount Rushmore. The grounds are excellent with deer wandering about good breakfast and when we stayed in late Sept thr room rate was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankie030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We loved this place. It is close to town, but tucked away in a quiet canyon. The only noise is the occassional echo of the horn from the old fashioned train that travels between Keystone and Hill City. Absolutely get a room with deck. The xtra few dollars is worth it. Everyone is polite and friendly. The property is very attractive and well kept. You can have a bottle of wineby the fire pit in the evening, or roast s'mores if you prefer. The local wildlife fvisit morning and evening -- mostly turkeys and deer eating on the lawn. The only drawback (if you want to call it that) is that some tour buses stop here, so breakfast can be a bit crowded if you happen to meet them in the breakfast room. But even that is not bad, as the lodge is huge and there is plenty of seating and food.

Room Tip: Get a private deck, the view is worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dianasroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Great place to stay. Relaxing with lovely views sprinkled throughout the property. A very nice breakfast is part of the package. The outdoor fire pit is a fun touch. Nothing fancy but good value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews