We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gem of Mill Valley”
Review of Mountain Home Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mill Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Home Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Mill Valley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Once a year we would go hiking up in the Mt. Tamalpais area and we do not want to stay anywhere else but at Mountain Home Inn. It is a boutique inn situate up in the mountain and away from almost everything. The place is quite old but VERY cozy and charming. The staff is exceptional. The dining patio overlook the mountain and valley is breath taking. We always to stay in different room every time, each room has its own unique characters and accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi-Cristien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We had dinner - or tried to have dinner there. The food was terrible and there was chewing gum underneath all of the tables. The bathroom was in terrible condition and the place looks as it has not been dusted in years. My husband ordered a steak and it looked horrible, kids chicken tenders were clearly microwaved from a bag! Never go there again

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lorena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Stopped here for breakfast on our tour of mount tamelpais and Muir Woods. The food was very well prepared and service attentive. We sat outside with beautiful views of San Francisco Bay. The food was all made with fresh ingredients from the area farms.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank brownsfan032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here one night of the two nights we booked.

Pros: location is absolutely gorgeous. Dinner was tasty. Evening staff was super nice. Bed was comfy and clean.

Cons: carpet is 30+ years old and it shows, big time. Furniture was older and well used. Several doors were very hard to open and we got somewhat trapped in the bathroom the first time using it. Bathroom in room 5 is anything but private as it has a slatted window door -- what happens in the bathroom is amplified everywhere. Plumbing fixtures were worn and wonky and water pulsed from comfortable to super hot. Some of the lamps and/or electrical sockets in room 5 didn't work. Upkeep was poor -- the inside of the property was well dusted but cluttered and again everything was well used and not in a homey way. Cleaning equipment was scattered about. The outside eating area had lots of trash on the ground around the eating area. The Breakfast service was prompt but the granola was from a box of Kellogg's and the oatmeal was uneatable.

Not sure what is going on with this place but to call it glamping would be a huge stretch. It's more like a rundown motel 8 in paradise. This place is waiting for a major renovation and overhaul of operations.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank llbcchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

The location of this Inn is just perfect for exploring Muir Woods and Mt. Tamalpais which is just what we wanted. There really isn't anywhere else to stay in this location and be so close to the natural wonders of this place.

The Inn itself dates from the 1890s and has been refurbished all the way. I wish I had known that some of the rooms were in the lower level. Our room, #6 was in the very bottom and there were some advantages (quieter than some) but while the walls are pretty thick, we could hear people walking around above us and it did have a basement-y feel. The room itself was clean and well appointed, and the bathroom, had all the amenities and was comfortable though older.

Staying at this place is like staying at a friend's house. It's very casual but the staff is very friendly. The food is excellent and the deck has beautiful views of Sausalito and the bay, and on a clear day you can probably literally see forever. The breakfast is great also, and free, but they recommend a tip of $5 per person.

Because the location is on the Panoramic Highway, there are a fair amount of motorcycles and quite a bit of traffic. While the guest rooms are in the back of the hotel, you can still hear the traffic, especially the vroom vroom of the bikes.

There is free wifi and there are three different connections, but none of them worked that well in our room. The television did work just fine and came with Netflix and some other subscription channels.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn-in-Chapel-Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHI_Management810, Manager at Mountain Home Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Hello Lynn-in-Chapel-Hill, and thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We apologize for the lack of identifying which floor each room was on, at the time of booking. We appreciate the kind words on our staff and food, thank you. Its unfortunate the wifi was not working with you, we have had our service provider re position our wireless adaptors to better serve our inn guest. Once again, thank you for your time and critiques.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
5.8 km away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
566 reviews
6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
10.3 km away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
597 reviews
11.2 km away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,605 reviews
11.8 km away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#3 of 4 in Sausalito
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Home Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Inn

Address: 810 Panoramic Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-1765
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mill Valley
Price Range: $229 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Mountain Home Hotel Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing