We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill Valley Inn(Mill Valley)
Book now, pay at stay
US$289
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamalpais Motel(Mill Valley)
Book now, pay at stay
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$212
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marin Suites Hotel(Corte Madera)
US$194
US$185
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$229
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
66
44
19
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
44
19
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmuir woodsclose to homemt tamsmall dressergreat place to get awaylocation location locationgreat location for hikingsalmonincredible viewsseveral optionssan franciscopaper thin wallslovely roomclose proximitybreakfast was deliciousparking areastinson beach
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We had dinner - or tried to have dinner there. The food was terrible and there was chewing gum underneath all of the tables. The bathroom was in terrible condition and the place looks as it has not been dusted in years. My husband ordered a steak and it looked horrible, kids chicken tenders were clearly microwaved from a bag! Never go there again

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lorena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Stopped here for breakfast on our tour of mount tamelpais and Muir Woods. The food was very well prepared and service attentive. We sat outside with beautiful views of San Francisco Bay. The food was all made with fresh ingredients from the area farms.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank brownsfan032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here one night of the two nights we booked.

Pros: location is absolutely gorgeous. Dinner was tasty. Evening staff was super nice. Bed was comfy and clean.

Cons: carpet is 30+ years old and it shows, big time. Furniture was older and well used. Several doors were very hard to open and we got somewhat trapped in the bathroom the first time using it. Bathroom in room 5 is anything but private as it has a slatted window door -- what happens in the bathroom is amplified everywhere. Plumbing fixtures were worn and wonky and water pulsed from comfortable to super hot. Some of the lamps and/or electrical sockets in room 5 didn't work. Upkeep was poor -- the inside of the property was well dusted but cluttered and again everything was well used and not in a homey way. Cleaning equipment was scattered about. The outside eating area had lots of trash on the ground around the eating area. The Breakfast service was prompt but the granola was from a box of Kellogg's and the oatmeal was uneatable.

Not sure what is going on with this place but to call it glamping would be a huge stretch. It's more like a rundown motel 8 in paradise. This place is waiting for a major renovation and overhaul of operations.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank llbcchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

The location of this Inn is just perfect for exploring Muir Woods and Mt. Tamalpais which is just what we wanted. There really isn't anywhere else to stay in this location and be so close to the natural wonders of this place.

The Inn itself dates from the 1890s and has been refurbished all the way. I wish I had known that some of the rooms were in the lower level. Our room, #6 was in the very bottom and there were some advantages (quieter than some) but while the walls are pretty thick, we could hear people walking around above us and it did have a basement-y feel. The room itself was clean and well appointed, and the bathroom, had all the amenities and was comfortable though older.

Staying at this place is like staying at a friend's house. It's very casual but the staff is very friendly. The food is excellent and the deck has beautiful views of Sausalito and the bay, and on a clear day you can probably literally see forever. The breakfast is great also, and free, but they recommend a tip of $5 per person.

Because the location is on the Panoramic Highway, there are a fair amount of motorcycles and quite a bit of traffic. While the guest rooms are in the back of the hotel, you can still hear the traffic, especially the vroom vroom of the bikes.

There is free wifi and there are three different connections, but none of them worked that well in our room. The television did work just fine and came with Netflix and some other subscription channels.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn-in-Chapel-Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHI_Management810, Manager at Mountain Home Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Hello Lynn-in-Chapel-Hill, and thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We apologize for the lack of identifying which floor each room was on, at the time of booking. We appreciate the kind words on our staff and food, thank you. Its unfortunate the wifi was not working with you, we have had our service provider re position our wireless adaptors to better serve our inn guest. Once again, thank you for your time and critiques.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Thanks to Trip Advisor I have 54,000 people reading my reviews, the majority are favorable, and I am a serial world traveller, this place is beautifully situated and run without any care for guests. Its dirty, managment reply "its worked for 20 years" when they give you the wrong doorbell entrance code time and time again. The redeeming factor is the wait staff who are at war with a kitchen who se the customer as a nuisance.
It is a MOTEL 6 with a beautiful view

Room Tip: find an alternative
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PETER1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHI_Management810, Manager at Mountain Home Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Hello PETER1209, I would like to first and for most thank you for staying with us, also for taking time to write us a review. Its really unfortunate that someone whom travels as much as you, didn’t enjoy your time with us. I am terribly sorry if upon check in one of my staff gave you the wrong door code, we change the code monthly, and have never had a problem with our call box, so I'm not sure who would have made the remark of, “its worked for 20 years”, but as the General Manager here, I can assure you, I did not make that remark. Our wait staff and our kitchen staff are like a big family, sometimes in the middle of a rush its hard to tell, however our staff is really compatible and generally all work as a team. PETER1209, I truly hope that if you are ever in our area again, that you will give us another try, as we have such a good following of guests who think the complete opposite of this review. Once again, thank you for your time, and critiques on our establishment , staff, and my management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews