We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Jagua Managed by Melia Hotels International
Nearby Hotels
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hostal Sol Bahia(Cienfuegos)
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hostal Ivan y Lili(Cienfuegos)
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$183
US$160
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Alondra(Cienfuegos)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hostal los Mares(Cienfuegos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Hostal Marina(Cienfuegos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (981)
Filter reviews
981 results
Traveller rating
98
304
363
139
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
304
363
139
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern hotelbalcony doorgreen housethe main hotelpalacio de vallecuban hotelsbit datedinternet accessview of the baycienfuegos baygreat poolhot watersunsetbalconiesrumcubansmalecon
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 981 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel is located at the tip of peninsula not far from the town center. While It has a feel of beach resort and is managed by Melia group we found the room and service are overpriced and under standard. Room is not as clean and bathroom is old and not in well maintained. View is great though and its location right next to the famous Palacio de Valle with a great mix of architecture and good sea view. Breakfast is not good with poor quality. A good choice though considering limited choice.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Suwatss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Director Comercial at Hotel Jagua Managed by Melia Hotels International, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

We appreciate your comment. Meliá Group is working on a very serious project that we assure you, will raise the quality standards of our Hotel. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a Saga Cuba Libre tour. Lovely setting with great sea views from the hotel. Great place to sit and watch the sun go down with a drink in hand. Rooms were as most other hotels in Cuba, little tired with minor works required, but nothing to spoil the visit. Buffet restaurant food was as good as any other in Cuba and staff were lovely. We had no water one night, but that’s Cuba! Newly refurbished pool area was lovely.
Compared to the all inclusive hotel we ended the tour in, in Varadero, this hotel was definitely a better option. The area around Cienfuegos is well worth visiting & this hotel is well located for that. Recommended.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank elmgrove5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Director Comercial at Hotel Jagua Managed by Melia Hotels International, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

We appreciate your comment. It is very important for us the satisfaction of those who visit us, opinions like yours help us improve our service. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Casa Verde appears to be part of the Hotel Jagua... its a charming guest house across the street... Our room was elegant in that 1930's era of high ceilings, beautiful wood armoire, and two full size beds.. plus a flat screen TV! The bathroom had been updated... although the shower was an "add on" to the large bathtub... an abundance of lovely ceramic tiles in the public areas... we were first room, beyond the entry, on the left... keep on walking through the zig-zagging hallway and you'll be rewarded by a set of steps of a nice patio... scenic views of the bay... and a small restaurant which is serviced by the Hotel Jagua kitchen... plenty of hot water... clean...

NOT accessible for anyone with mobility issues.. no elevators, and stairs to the rooms and suites on the second level...

Hotel Jagua is your spot for breakfast buffet... which is satisfactory. shortages in food supplies are not the fault of the hotel.. but a reality of the controlled economy...

omelets were available every morning... coffee makers were not running one morning... and there were electricity outages... plenty of fresh tropical fruits, and small pastry items... not a lot of "protein" selections. pack protein bars!

That's just Cuba... don't visit if you're expecting Western standards.

Room Tip: Casa Verde would be my first choice!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DogTagTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Director Comercial at Hotel Jagua Managed by Melia Hotels International, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

We appreciate your comment, we will take them into account to improve our service, and to raise the quality standars as well. It's very important for us the satisfaction of those who visit us. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Visited as part of a tour. The room had a lovely view and was comfortable. The maid did some laundry which was done efficiently and well. The bathroom was missing part of the shower door so flooded, the patio door didn't shut easily. However the worst bit is that on a weds cienfuegos has a party which goes on to 3am the sound travels to the hotel and it sounds like it's on your balcony. I would guess any hotel in the area would be similarly affected.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Sue4067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Director Comercial at Hotel Jagua Managed by Melia Hotels International, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you very much for your comment. Meliá Group is working on a very serious project that, we assure you, will raise the quality standards of our Hotel. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

I was truly disappointed as the Melia Hotels are normally excellent. The Hotel Jagua is fabulously located and each of the rooms had beautiful views of the sea. The downstairs is simple, but clean and the breakfast was wonderful, as was the staff. However the rooms all smelled horribly of mold and one of our group's rooms had black mold on the ceiling and walls of the bathroom. I had to leave the sliding glass door open my entire stay. It was difficult opening the door, as the mechanism had been cut out and the hole where I had to put my hand was edged in sharp uneven metal. I had to ask twice to get someone upstairs to open it for me. Moreover there was no screen on the door, which resulting in my getting mosquito bites during the night. Small rooms, only amenity was a nice TV.

Room Tip: One that doesn't smell of mold and where there's a screen door on the sliding glass door.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Director Comercial at Hotel Jagua Managed by Melia Hotels International, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

We appreciate your comment. Meliá Group is working on a project that will raise the quality standards of our Hotel. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews