We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,780)
Filter reviews
1,780 results
Traveller rating
1,486
189
69
26
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,486
189
69
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aerial yoga highly recommend hotel relais chateaux our honeymoon shuttle service mixology class pool area nespresso machine romantic getaway top notch ocean view open air beautiful property beach service minute drive turn down service four seasons
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,780 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2021

Just returned from four nights at this hotel and really have nothing bad to say whatsoever. Because of airline changes, we had to alter our reservation several times and staff was very accommodating and no change in pricing. As a result of these changes we had a 10:30 pm Maui departure. While the hotel could not accommodate a late check out, they did hold our bags and we enjoyed the beach and pool all afternoon with use of a complimentary guest suite to shower and dress in at the end of the day.

We ate at the Restaurant at Hotel Wailea one night and so enjoyed the privacy of a garden table. Food was good, service excellent. We also ate at the Birdcage and around the pool, both were very good. We had fun at the pool bar with Chelsea and James and the others.

While not on the beach, they will immediately drive you to the beach where gentlemen are immediately available to set up lounge chairs, umbrellas, towels and snorkel equipment. When you are ready to leave, simply call the hotel and by the time you make it from the beach to parking lot, your driver will be there.

Rooms reportedly are all the same size and similar in finishes. We opted for an ocean view room and were very pleased with its location (close to main building) feeling of seclusion and quietness. because of changes to room previously mentioned, we had to relocate on our last night to a garden view suite. This was seamless as we simply packed our bags and went on our way for the day, upon return we grabbed a new key from the front desk and walked to our new room. Inside the room was great and we still had a view of the ocean however, this particular room, 122, did not feel as secluded and you could hear the traffic from the nearby road, although nothing to complain about.

At 72 rooms, this is a very quiet hotel, incredibly enjoyable and nothing like the crowd at the Four Seasons

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ROBII
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2021

Thank you so much for your excellent review and five stars. We are incredibly pleased that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly, and appreciated our service, amenities and spacious suites. I look forward to welcoming you both back again one day soon!

Warm regards,
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021

We came for our honeymoon and Hotel Wailea is one of the most unique places we've ever stayed...you are guaranteed to have an incredible experience from the gorgeous property, to the food and drinks, to the unbelievable service and amenities! We will be back!!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank eajenkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2021

Thank you so much for your glowing review. I am very glad that you had such a wonderful honeymoon at Hotel Wailea! We hope to be able to celebrate with you again.

Warmest wishes for your happy future together,
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021

We love to travel and we have had the good fortune of visiting many countries throughout Europe, Asia, the Middle East and African continent. Our go-to hotel is the Intercontinental, which never disappoints, but the Hotel Wailea is one of our all-time favorite resorts! The vibe at the hotel is a “sophisticated chill” … relaxed, understated, chic. The suites are spacious and tastefully appointed [more like a one-bedroom apartment with kitchen essentials]. Huge shower, and the bath and powder room area are luxuriously spacious. Throughout the hotel, the staff are genuinely friendly and helpful.
The Hotel Wailea sits atop a hillside, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. You enter the hotel from the top of the property, and you find yourselves in the jewel of the crown of Hotel Wailea … A delightful lounge/bar with cone-shaped vaulted ceiling, open walls, and a stunning view. It is dubbed “the Birdcage” because lovebirds fly in before sunset, and settle in for the night. It’s fabulous for a cocktail, appetizers and/or dinner. From the outside, the Birdcage looks like a huge tiki hut … with a waterfall in the foreground, which empties into a pond that meanders down the property.
Although you may think you are losing out because you are not on the beach, dismiss the thought! The Hotel Wailea has a small fleet of Teslas and a team of drivers who will pop you down the hill to their beach [with chaises, umbrellas, snorkel gear], or wherever you want to go. Super convenient!
Overall, the Hotel Wailea is a huge winner and we will return again and again!

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kazzemanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2021

Aloha and thank you for such a detailed and wonderful review! We are pleased to have exceeded your expectations in so many respects, especially since you are so well-traveled - and agree that "sophisticated chill" describes our hotel perfectly.

I look forward to welcoming you both back to Hotel Wailea and The Birdcage for another romantic getaway soon!

Warm regards,
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2021

We received a certificate for Hotel Wailea as part of a silent auction package and it was a delightful surprise. Beautiful grounds, delightfully appointed and comfortable suite, and very, very attentive staff. Well worth the investment!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank NDOpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2021

Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are happy to hear that you both enjoyed yourselves thoroughly. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Wailea in the future!

Warm regards,
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2021

It's really hard to explain every aspect of how amazing this place is. It is paradise; in fact, If you need a place to be happy at, this is the place. The service was extraordinary. The management at the resort care about your requests, they always were there for you. The house keeping crew were amazing, the bartenders, the restaurant staff.

What I loved the most about the resort is that everyone who worked there.. sincerely made me feel like I was at a resort. They all had an interest in working there and always had a smile on their faces. (Even saw it through the facemask) I can't explain enough. This place rocked my experience in Maui. See for yourself (:

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank josephdnapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2021

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and thank you for the excellent review. I am especially honored by your mention of our attentive staff. This is the highest priority for us, and we look forward to welcoming you both back for your next romantic escape!

Warm regards,
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews