We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yasuni National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The NWC was almost too good for words!!! The setting was beautiful on a lake in the middle of the rain forest. Even the 4 hour canoe trip (the first 2 hours in a motorized canoe, the second 2 hours in a paddle canoe...no motors allowed past a certain point) was fabulous. The staff at the lodge were wonderful (we all loved Marcelo!) the local guides were terrific (Pato, our "spotter" missed nothing!!) and our nature guide was very knowlegeable. The suites were roomy & nicely decorated & the food was good. The Napo Wildlife Center is owned & operated by the local people so in addition to having a fantastic experience, you are also helping to give back to the local community. On the excursions, we saw so many amazing creatures, including countless monkeys, birds, snakes, caimans, giant otters & of course, insects. My (adult) son was sick while there (nothing serious, just travellers tummy) & while the rest of us went out for the day exploring, the staff at the lodge checked on him & brought him tea without us even asking, just because they cared. My daughter does not eat red meat & they made sure (even on day trips) to have fish or chicken or a vegetarian choice for her. On trips, the lodge always sent along snacks for you, such as juice & crackers & fruit & water & they provided rain ponchos & rubber boots when needed. It truly was a trip of a lifetime!

My ONLY complaint is that the suites are all built traditionally (kinda) & while there was electricty & water (hot & cold) available 24 hours a day, the rooms are not really "sealed tight" & therefore the insects were able to make themselves at home in our rooms. The beds do have mosquito nets & obviously you do need to use Deet while in the middle of the rainforest anyway, there were more insects in our rooms than I liked. That said, anyone going to the rainforest should NOT stay anywhere else!!!

Room Tip: They are ALL good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorrie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Hi Lorrie, thank you for taking the time to review us, please share your experience with others

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 418 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

Everything at Napo Wildlife Centre was done at the highest standard. My husband and I could not have enough praise for our naturalist and local guide. Their full attention was put on giving us the best experience. They spotted a wide array of wildlife and made sure everyone in our group had adequate time to view and take pictures. Their knowledge was extensive. The many species of wildlife were quickly identified and we learnt many things about life in the amazon.

The actual lodge and cabins were beautiful and comfortable. Meals were varied, and again at a high standard.

Activities were different each day, so we left feeling we had experienced everything we possibly could have.

We only hope that Napo Wildlife Centre can continue on exactly the way it is so many more people can experience what we have.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas8311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWClodge, Director of Sales at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for your kind comments at Napo Wildlife Center we do our best to give to our clients the best experience possible. The commitment with the nature conservancy and the development of the community drive us to continue providing a quality service at the highest standards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I had researched extensively prior to our travels. This was the place to go and it was only confirmed stronger after having gone there. This is the best place to travel in Ecuador. You are helping give back to the local people and not a non-Indigenous organization. They constantly give your local juices. The food was great. Never a dull moment. When going to "El Oriente" only book your travels here. The tour guides are great and very accomadating. I was somewhat concerned about eatting with the same dinner group everynight as was noted in other posts but it was never a concern. The competion uses there locations for their extra-cirrucular activites and does not inform their guests. Create a adventure of a lifetime and go to Napo Wildlife Center.

Room Tip: They were assigned. But we had large beds and lakefront views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWClodge, Director of Sales at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for your review, the Kichwa community of Añangu is grateful for your support, by visiting Napo Wildlife Center you had contributed not only to the development of the community but also to the preservation of one of the most biodiverse areas in Latin America.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The experience we had at NWC was what we describe to others as “magical”. What we saw, felt and heard in that environment seemed almost unreal, it was so awe-inspiring. The food and staff at the lodge were outstanding, and staff made everyone feel welcome, comfortable and special. Our guides, were exceptional in their ability to spot wildlife, and to make sure we got as up close and personal as possible.
The care and respect the Anangu community has for their environment, the lodge and its upkeep make us hopeful for the future of this biodiverse piece of our planet.
If you want to get a full experience of the rainforest, its flora and fauna, this is the place to go. Be prepared to be actively engaged in the daily excursions, to get the full experience. Remember, you are in the middle of the rainforest jungle, and how often do you get the chance to be in such a place!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtnestNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWClodge, Director of Sales at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments. The Kichwa community of Añangu is committed whit its preservation philosophy and trough this projects assures the preservation of this fragile environment.
Your satisfaction is the best reward to our work.
We hope than more people visits this important conservation project.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The trip to the lodge --traveling for two hours in motorized canoe through secondary rain forest on the Napo river , and then transferring to a paddled canoe to travel up the lush and narrow Anangu Creek through ancient, primary rain forest was an indescribable adventure in itself. On our two hour journey up the creek we encountered giant otters, capuchin, saki and squirrel monkeys, countless tropical birds, and amazing butterflies -- blue morphos and owl eyes. Each day brought more close encounters with the extraordinary life of the rain forest, from a baby anaconda napping on a log to a colony of leaf cutter ants, an arboreal tarantula, long nosed bats, black caiman and all sorts of amazing lizards. In the upper branches a wild assortment of larger birds could be seen silhouetted against the sky from the canoe. One of the high points of the trip was climbing to the viewing platform at the top of a giant kapok tree to look across the jungle canopy where we spotted an assortment of colorful macaws, toucans and raptors. Our nature guide, Robbie Delgado was extremely knowledgeable and truly a pleasure to spend time with. Our native guide, Hugo, shared his unique knowledge of forest plants and how they have been used by his people. The lodge was beautiful, comfortable, and very well run, and the food was delicious. One of the main attractions for me was the fact that the local Quechua community owns and runs this ecolodge, which is a model of sustainable development in the region. Napo is an extraordinary and fascinating travel experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWClodge, Director of Sales at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

In behalf of the Kichwa community of Añangu I would like to thank you for your visit at our lodge.
Everyday we work to improve ourselves and offer our visitors an experience of a life time.
We hope than more and more people could be part of the Napo Wildlife Center project and be part of the efforts of the Añangu community to preserve this unique and rich environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
231.1 km away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
84 reviews
0 km away
Hosteria Amazonas
Hosteria Amazonas
#2 of 5 in Coca
7 reviews
20.2 km away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 km away
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
#1 of 6 in Yasuni National Park
468 reviews
0 km away
Shiripuno Amazon Lodge
37.9 km away
Amazon Dolphin Lodge
Amazon Dolphin Lodge
#6 of 12 in Coca
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge

Address: | Añangu Lake, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yasuni National Park
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napo Wildlife Center offers visitors a number of vantage points from which to admire and experience the spectacular, awe-inspiring diversity of the Amazon Basin. Climb the 120-ft. High galvanized-metal stairs to the jungle tower for otherwise impossible eye-to-eye views of canopy dwellers such as monkeys, eagles and macaws...Spy on clay licks teeming with parrots and occasionally visited by jungle cats or a magnificent elephant-muzzled tapir...Experience Man's ageless interaction with the jungle through the native community's perspectiveEnjoy evening walks to witness the astounding nightlife of the dense, entangled understory...Explore the many trails through "terra firme", "varzea" and swamp forest in search of the best that Amazonia has to offerBe it from the ground up, or from the canopy down, from hidden viewing blinds to silent paddling up black-water creeks, we deliver the biggest most intricate picture possible of this wonderful world. Napo Wildlife Center not only provides the educated perspective of bilingual guides but also the hands-on knowledge of the true guardians of Anangu, who live and witness the marvels of their jungle home every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Napo Wildlife Centre Hotel Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing