We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded expectations”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yasuni National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2008

We can only echo the positive reviews for this place. It is truly fantastic and was the highlight of our time in Ecuador. Our guide was Andrew and he was knowledgeable beyond belief, we wouldn’t have seen much if it had not been for him and our native guide.
What we really liked about this place was that the groups were small and personal. Andrew ate with us and tailored our trips to fit with the whole group. We were introduced to the local Shaman and learnt about the struggle the local people had to set up such a beautiful lodge.
The food at the lodge was good and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Words cannot do justice to the wonderful sight of eating breakfast and watching the mist rise above the lagoon at day break or relaxing in the hammock on the veranda listening to the jungle wildlife all around. This place is truly magical and a tribute to the community warding off the industrialisation creeping in by the oil companies. May it have a long and lasting future.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Toffeepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope you still remember your Napo adventure. Feel free to share your experience with others

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 519 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2008

We really did not know what to expect having never been to a jungle lodge before, but the NWC exceeded even our wildest expectations. The location was simply stunning, there are really no other words to describe it. The food was wonderful, made all the more special when you consider that it takes four hours by river to get anything to the lodge. The staff was so friendly and thought of every need before you even realized you wanted it. One of our friends got sick and the staff took care of her; they made her seperate meals, brought tea to her room and were constantly asking about her.

The property is owned and operated by the local Anagu tribe so all the profits are going directly back to the community, and not to an outside agency. Our guides were wonderful, the animal and plant life that we saw was incredible.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dmhc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope you still remember your Napo adventure. Feel free to share your experience with others

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

We just stayed at the Napo Wildlife Center. It was truly outstanding -- a terrific vacation in the Ecuadorian Amazon. Our tour guide was Christian, and even though he was new at the lodge, he did a fantastic job. Our local (Indian) guide was Gabriel, and he was amazing: knowledgeable, tireless and thoughtful. Everyone on the staff was wonderful, and they all made certain we were well taken care of throughout our stay. We lucked and and had virtually no rain for our 5 day-4 night stay there. The trips through the jungle can be muddy, and Napo provides each customer with rubber boots for their stay at the lodge. There are mosquitos, but we used repellent and also the bed nets provided in the rooms, and the mosquitoes were never a problem. The rooms (individual bungalows, with palm thatch roofing) are lovely, and the setting (on the Anangu Lake) is gorgeous. The food in the dining room was excellent and plentiful. The stars overhead were just beautiful -- we could clearly see the milky way. There is an excellent and reasonably-priced daily laundry service. I would recommend this lodge for families with older children, I should think that if you child is 8 or 9 and up (and likes adventure travel), that would be fine. We were two adults, with a 12-year old girl, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Napo.

Highlights: Looking for caiman on the dark river/lake at night... incredibly beautiful with fireflies all around, and the stars in the sky, and a distant thunderstorm providing lightning on the horizon. The monkeys and birds were absolutely lovely. The staff was outstanding. You can drink delicious capirinhas (or whatever your favorite drink is) at the bar with (with ice) with impunity -- the water for the ice is purified.

Problems: None that I can think of, except that their website does not let you know exactly how nice it is.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelingLemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope you still remember your Napo adventure. Feel free to share your experience with others

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Don't expect the Ritz-Carlton, that's not what it's about. This is about the amazing wildlife setting, the care and love for eco-tourism, learning about indigenous life, all while tasting delicious food in a beautiful, comfortable setting.

Unlike other Wildlife preserves along the Napo, this is the only one that is actually in the National Park. To be able to build within the park meant complying with guidelines that are not necessary in other areas along the Napo. Getting there can be challenging for a backpacker, it’s several hours on a local bus, but worth it. Try to time it so that you don’t need to stay overnight in Coca. It’s a dump that came on the map due to the oil companies nearby. It’s a study on what happens to a city when the Father of all capitalist businesses influences a region. Most people fly into Coca, and boat directly to the Wildlife Center in Yasuni. We backpacked and bused into Coca from Baños, but then flew out to Quito. Flying was nicer, and not too expensive.

The guides are sensitive, interesting and knowledgable.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventurejanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope you still remember your Napo adventure. Feel free to share your experience with others

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We spent 4 nights at Napo and loved every second. Those hours spent slipping down the creek to and from the lodge - whether in daylight or under the stars are some of the most memorable of a month long stay in South America. We're really interested in birds, so took the option of hiring a bird guide - Robert Cedeno. He was really excellent - very bright - with a very solid and deep knowledge of not only birds but the entire rainforest ecosystem. We shared him with another couple who were more serious birders than we - adding still more to our experience. We saw 100s of species of birds, an anaconda, a tarantula, 5 species of monkeys, a sloth, and more. Everything at Napo seemed to work like clockwork - very efficiently. Food was good fresh local simple - interesting array. We felt very well cared for there. A special effort was made to link the enterprise tothe community (it's now fullly owned and operated by the community). That made an impression on us when we were choosing which lodge to visit. We enjoyed the claylicks and the canopy platform - saw the most beautiful bird there - a paradise tanager. I could go on . .... but you should just go . . . ..

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your review and photos. We hope you still remember your Napo adventure. Feel free to share your experience with others

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
231.1 km away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
84 reviews
0 km away
Hosteria Amazonas
Hosteria Amazonas
#2 of 5 in Coca
7 reviews
20.2 km away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 km away
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
#1 of 6 in Yasuni National Park
466 reviews
0 km away
Shiripuno Amazon Lodge
37.9 km away
Amazon Dolphin Lodge
Amazon Dolphin Lodge
#6 of 12 in Coca
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge

Address: | Añangu Lake, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yasuni National Park
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napo Wildlife Center offers visitors a number of vantage points from which to admire and experience the spectacular, awe-inspiring diversity of the Amazon Basin. Climb the 120-ft. High galvanized-metal stairs to the jungle tower for otherwise impossible eye-to-eye views of canopy dwellers such as monkeys, eagles and macaws...Spy on clay licks teeming with parrots and occasionally visited by jungle cats or a magnificent elephant-muzzled tapir...Experience Man's ageless interaction with the jungle through the native community's perspectiveEnjoy evening walks to witness the astounding nightlife of the dense, entangled understory...Explore the many trails through "terra firme", "varzea" and swamp forest in search of the best that Amazonia has to offerBe it from the ground up, or from the canopy down, from hidden viewing blinds to silent paddling up black-water creeks, we deliver the biggest most intricate picture possible of this wonderful world. Napo Wildlife Center not only provides the educated perspective of bilingual guides but also the hands-on knowledge of the true guardians of Anangu, who live and witness the marvels of their jungle home every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Napo Wildlife Centre Hotel Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing