We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveller rating
593
55
17
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
55
17
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews giant otters clay licks anangu community local guide local community canoe ride national park cultural center amazon basin welcome center amazing lodge on stilts different species the river observation tower two hours community run
Filter
Updating list...
580 - 585 of 671 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2008

We really did not know what to expect having never been to a jungle lodge before, but the NWC exceeded even our wildest expectations. The location was simply stunning, there are really no other words to describe it. The food was wonderful, made all the more special when you consider that it takes four hours by river to get anything to the lodge. The staff was so friendly and thought of every need before you even realized you wanted it. One of our friends got sick and the staff took care of her; they made her seperate meals, brought tea to her room and were constantly asking about her.

The property is owned and operated by the local Anagu tribe so all the profits are going directly back to the community, and not to an outside agency. Our guides were wonderful, the animal and plant life that we saw was incredible.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dmhc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope you still remember your Napo adventure. Feel free to share your experience with others

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

We just stayed at the Napo Wildlife Center. It was truly outstanding -- a terrific vacation in the Ecuadorian Amazon. Our tour guide was Christian, and even though he was new at the lodge, he did a fantastic job. Our local (Indian) guide was Gabriel, and he was amazing: knowledgeable, tireless and thoughtful. Everyone on the staff was wonderful, and they all made certain we were well taken care of throughout our stay. We lucked and and had virtually no rain for our 5 day-4 night stay there. The trips through the jungle can be muddy, and Napo provides each customer with rubber boots for their stay at the lodge. There are mosquitos, but we used repellent and also the bed nets provided in the rooms, and the mosquitoes were never a problem. The rooms (individual bungalows, with palm thatch roofing) are lovely, and the setting (on the Anangu Lake) is gorgeous. The food in the dining room was excellent and plentiful. The stars overhead were just beautiful -- we could clearly see the milky way. There is an excellent and reasonably-priced daily laundry service. I would recommend this lodge for families with older children, I should think that if you child is 8 or 9 and up (and likes adventure travel), that would be fine. We were two adults, with a 12-year old girl, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Napo.

Highlights: Looking for caiman on the dark river/lake at night... incredibly beautiful with fireflies all around, and the stars in the sky, and a distant thunderstorm providing lightning on the horizon. The monkeys and birds were absolutely lovely. The staff was outstanding. You can drink delicious capirinhas (or whatever your favorite drink is) at the bar with (with ice) with impunity -- the water for the ice is purified.

Problems: None that I can think of, except that their website does not let you know exactly how nice it is.

Date of stay: July 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelingLemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope you still remember your Napo adventure. Feel free to share your experience with others

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Don't expect the Ritz-Carlton, that's not what it's about. This is about the amazing wildlife setting, the care and love for eco-tourism, learning about indigenous life, all while tasting delicious food in a beautiful, comfortable setting.

Unlike other Wildlife preserves along the Napo, this is the only one that is actually in the National Park. To be able to build within the park meant complying with guidelines that are not necessary in other areas along the Napo. Getting there can be challenging for a backpacker, it’s several hours on a local bus, but worth it. Try to time it so that you don’t need to stay overnight in Coca. It’s a dump that came on the map due to the oil companies nearby. It’s a study on what happens to a city when the Father of all capitalist businesses influences a region. Most people fly into Coca, and boat directly to the Wildlife Center in Yasuni. We backpacked and bused into Coca from Baños, but then flew out to Quito. Flying was nicer, and not too expensive.

The guides are sensitive, interesting and knowledgable.

Date of stay: April 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventurejanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope you still remember your Napo adventure. Feel free to share your experience with others

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We spent 4 nights at Napo and loved every second. Those hours spent slipping down the creek to and from the lodge - whether in daylight or under the stars are some of the most memorable of a month long stay in South America. We're really interested in birds, so took the option of hiring a bird guide - Robert Cedeno. He was really excellent - very bright - with a very solid and deep knowledge of not only birds but the entire rainforest ecosystem. We shared him with another couple who were more serious birders than we - adding still more to our experience. We saw 100s of species of birds, an anaconda, a tarantula, 5 species of monkeys, a sloth, and more. Everything at Napo seemed to work like clockwork - very efficiently. Food was good fresh local simple - interesting array. We felt very well cared for there. A special effort was made to link the enterprise tothe community (it's now fullly owned and operated by the community). That made an impression on us when we were choosing which lodge to visit. We enjoyed the claylicks and the canopy platform - saw the most beautiful bird there - a paradise tanager. I could go on . .... but you should just go . . . ..

Date of stay: July 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your review and photos. We hope you still remember your Napo adventure. Feel free to share your experience with others

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2008

Napo was SPECTACULAR. It exceeded all of my expectations. The entire experience was SUCH an adventure. After a flight from quito, a couple hours on a motorized canoe, followed by a couple on a regular canoe. The remoteness and the adventure to get there made it all the better for us! Our flight was delayed on the way in so by teh time we got to the canoe, it was dark. Paddling in amongst the jungle noises, glow worms on the edge of the creeks and then seeing those incredible jungle lodges in the distance. UNFORGETTABLE! Our guide was very knowledgable. Staff was great. Food was quite good as well. I couldnt get over how unique the actual rooms were. It was truly just an incredible and unique jungle experience. You have to be a bit adventurous though. It is a trek but it is SO worth it.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope you still remember your Napo adventure. Feel free to share your experience with others

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews