We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When staying in someones home is apparently not a "Homestay"”
Review of Hahei Oceanfront

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hahei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hahei Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 3 Hahei B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 March 2015

23 Wigmore Crescent is a private house which the hosts live in. They rent out two bedrooms at the rear which are en suite with a shared galley area for making coffee. In all of the other genuinely luxury properties I have stayed in there is a clear separation between the hosts living space and the guests. With this property there is no dedicated exclusive space for guests other than the bedroom, the area in the photographs is part of an open plan area which backs on to the hosts kitchen.

I had intended to stay here for seven days, having been advised by another host, the Hahei Beachfront Property were apartments but given the reality - staying in someones home checked out after two and moved into more suitable discrete bespoke accommodation. I have been refunded in full by my booking agents Dial A Flight, even though they are not directly responsible, which speaks volumes for their generosity of spirit.

The other key points I would ask future travellers to consider are :-

1) It is either a 35 minute drive with a one minute expensive ferry ride or 45 minute drive to Whitianga, otherwise you eat at Church's in the evening which is limiting.

2) You cannot do any laundry whilst visiting in the summer months because the owners have to buy in their water and they do not feel the $400 dollar a night charge covers the cost of water for one load of washing.

3) There is a public pathway to the beach next to the house on the right handside and a ferry business set up directly in front of the property so not quite the breath taking serene experience that you would achieve by walking on the Matarangi or Otama Beaches further North.

The hosts are perfectly amicable and hospitable but you are constantly reminded you are inside the working part of someones house. Raewyn mentioned that she has found it difficult in the past if guests stay in in the evenings whilst they take their evening meals.

To sleep at 23 Wigmore Crescent for a couple of nights to explore this particular part of the Coromandel (Hot Pools and Cathedral Cove) might make sense but for several days of discrete relaxation no.

My thanks to Raewyn who provided the documentary evidence that she had questioned the length of my stay and confirmed it was not self catering to Kira, the N Z ground agents, which Dial A Flight have no record of receiving.

Room Tip: The Maturangi room has the unobstructed sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2015

Situated right on the beach, this is impressive accommodation. Guest rooms are at the back of the house but we had a good view across the sea. Rhaewyn and Joe are perfect hosts- kind and helpful. They really want to ensure their guests have a good time and get the most out of their time with them and made some very helpful suggestions fir walks, things to do. Breakfasts were delightful. Overall a really great stay. Thank you Rhaewyn and Joe.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rose8g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2015 via mobile

No pictures can do this place justice...it's location and the view are second to none. When you add in amazing hosts in Jo and Raewyn and the perfectly designed accommodation you have a winning formula.

We would also highly recommend:

1. The Hahei Explorer rib trip
2. Shakespeare's Cliff
3. The Church for dinner

If the Hahei Oceanfront was in England we would be back every year...

Stayed: December 2014
Thank Abigob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014

Spectacular location on the beach, Joe and Rowyn are great hosts and make a terrific breakfast.
The pictures on tripadvisor only tell half the story - actually, it's much nicer than the pictures can tell.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2014 via mobile

We are currently on our honeymoon and our stay at Hehei Oceanfront was magical. We absolutely loved the hosts and the accommodations. Most importantly, the scenery was breathtaking. We only stayed for one night and if you can, we definitely recommend staying for two. We weren't ready to leave!!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mitch F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
21.6 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
9.6 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
518 reviews
9.9 km away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1 km away
Hahei Holiday Resort
1.1 km away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Oceanfront

Address: 23 Wigmore Crescent | Hahei, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hahei
Price Range: $235 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hahei Oceanfront is luxury hosted accommodation, located between two of the Coromandel Peninsula’s top natural attractions, the world-renowned Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. Situated on the dune just above the beach, Hahei Oceanfront is the ultimate in luxury accommodation, with superb ocean views of the Pacific. Built in late 2004, the house is designed to comfortably accommodate your hosts Raewyn and Joe, and to offer boutique luxury accommodation to the world’s most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hahei Oceanfront Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing