We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Loredo Motel(Kaitaia)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capri Motel(Kaitaia)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
72
46
30
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
46
30
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courselodge roomsnew zealandnearby winerytop classmatai bayfantastic viewsstaff were excellenttennis courtslimited menupro shopbeautiful locationthe wait staffopen firedinner menunew chefseafood chowder
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We recently had our wedding at Carrington Resort. It was absolutely perfect.

We rented several of the villas for family and friends to stay in, and enjoyed a bbq with everyone in front of the villas the night before the wedding. There was plenty of room for the kids to run around and the accommodation was excellent. Several guests played a few rounds of golf, which was a great way to occupy restless boys! We made great use of the pool also.

The wedding itself was run extremely well by the staff at Carrington. We could not have asked for more attentive service. Munish, the chef, prepared amazing food which many of our guests have raved about to us.

We thoroughly enjoyed our wedding, and believe that a large part of why the day ran so smoothly was due to the staff Carrington.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lydia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Lydia,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased that you chose to have your wedding here with us at Peppers Carrington. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience and I will take pleasure in sharing your comments with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington on perhaps one of your many wedding anniversaries to come!


Best Regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here with my partner for four nights as part of our Christmas/New Year holiday (we reside in Auckland) and was thoroughly impressed.

We stayed in one of the villas overlooking the golf course - we went for this option over the Lodge room as being keen foodies we wanted the full kitchen, giving us the option to cook our own meals if we felt like it. Worked really well, and the kitchen had all the basics - from memory there were a couple of utensils lacking, but most "hardcore" types would be planning ahead and bringing some of their own gear anyway! The villas would also be a good setup for two couples or a family, being spacious and well-equipped (2 double bedrooms, a single bedroom, and two full bathrooms upstairs, plus a downstairs toilet). Rooms were sunny and well appointed (even down to the nice shower gel and shampoo provided), and the master bed was greatly to our liking (avoiding the "too soft" trap that many hotels fall into!).

Highlights:

- personal touch and friendly approach. All staff were great to deal with, from the lady at the front desk (Rochelle?) to the chatty groundsman/greenkeeper.

- dinner at the restaurant on the last night of our stay was superb. One of the best meals i have had in some time, and definitely superior to anything i have had in Auckland lately. The experience was also assisted by great service, in particular from an Indian gentleman whose name i unfortunately didnt make a note of.

- absolutely amazing setting, with excellent grounds and a spectacular outlook. The semi-remote location enhances feelings of rest and relaxation, and would suit those who want to get away from it all for a while and enjoy the outdoors. We also loved the infinity pool which we were lucky to have to ourselves for two out of the three times we went down in the late afternoon.

Really the only way our stay could have been better is if we were golfers and able to properly appreciate the beautiful course!

Anyway we both look forward to returning, hopefully in the not-too-distant future. To the staff of the hotel i would say thankyou and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JCofNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear JCoNZ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property as feedback is extremely important to us here at Peppers Carrington. It is always a pleasure to read positive reviews and yours is one to be acknowledged as you have experienced what our staff take such pride in with there efforts. I will be sure to share your feedback with our team and look forward to your return soon.

Kind Regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Had a large family reunion recently and the location and facilities were excellent. Georgous views and a perfect accomodation set up with their townhouse villas which were ideal for a large group of us or just a family travelling together. Pool was wonderful and after a trek by golf cart the beach was fantastic and deserted. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Others have commented on the good food however our New Year's Eve dinner was awful and not impressed with their wines. However as we did not really eat regular meals it would be unfair to rate the overall quality of the food on that one meal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grtflyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Grtflyin,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased that you chose to have your "family reunion" here with us at Peppers Carrington. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My wife and I had an overnight getaway at the resort early november '12.

Highlights:
- The highlight would have to be the Chef. His food was fantastic and his small dishes to break up the meal were sensational.
- We liked the personalised welcome note in our room from the manager and the decor was tastefully done.
- The views were amazing and really made the location special
- The golf course looked amazing and viewing the grounds on the buggy was great.
- Overall, the service was warm and friendly

Downsides:
- Checking in at the main reception would have been nice, instead of at the golf shop. It wasnt the nicest welcome and was unexpected given the calibre of the hotel. However, that slightly negative first impression was made up for by the lady behind the desk who was very friendly and gave us a helpful tour of the facilities.
- It would be nice if some arrangement could be arranged so that opened bottles could be transferred between the winery and the restaurant given that they are on the same property.
- Something that couldnt be helped was the wind of both the hotel and winery given their exposed location. The only option for shelter at the winery was sitting inside a gazebo which wasnt ideal as the plastic windows obscured the view. Indoor seating inside something more permanent with glass windows would've been preferred.
- After hours contact. At about 2130hrs I tried calling the operator, reception, room service and house keeping to see if a pair of spectacles had been found, but no one answered. It would be nice if someone was contactable if guests had queries.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the water for a great view
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank apap008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear apap008,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property; it is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words about the quality of food you experienced while staying with us to our Head Chef, I know he will be pleased to have contributed toward your experience in such a positive way. It was also nice to read that you found our staff service friendly and welcoming.

I do apologise that you were not explained upon check in that the Proshop is also our Reception area and that the onsite Duty Manager is on call if required after reception closes.

The above concerns have been followed up with our Front Office team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington Resort in the near future.

Best Regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

While my partner and i were staying at Whitesands Apartments Rangiputa Doubtless Bay in early Sept 2012, we decided to try the Peppers Carrington Resort for a meal while up north.
We can honestly say the whole experience was 1st class A+++++.

The restaurant itself is well appointed and the atmosphere, and massive open fire, created an instant comfort zone for us as it was raining outside and was nighttime so just perfect.

The meal and service exceeded our expectations and, when we return to the area, we will definitely be back for another experience.

Thank you to the team at The Peppers Carrington NZ.

Regards
Mike and Debbie
Taupo NZ

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Mike and Debbie,

Thank you for your review of the Peppers Carrington Resort restaurant. I was thrilled to read we exceeded your expectations in service, food and atmosphere, I will be passing on your positive feedback to our food and beverage team, please know we do appreciate your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews