We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a one night stay”
Review of Countrytime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Countrytime Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We didn't plan to stay here. Because of the adverse weather and a broken bridge in the west coast, we were force to stay a night at Omarama. This hotel is rather worn out but is good enough for an over-night stay. The room is clean (although aged) and the bed is comfortable. The staff is nice & helpful. The breakfast at NZ$10 for 2 is good. Most surprisingly, the view from the breakfast room is wonderful.

Room Tip: Get a room with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_and_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 91 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here with our tour group on our way to Milford Sound. It was the most disgusting place we stayed in New Zealand. The rooms were very 80's horror movie. Staff was rude, especially the French manager. The food was alright, better then nothing. Big spider in the toilet upon our arrival. TV had two channels and the bed was uncomfortable. The next morning my legs were covered in bites. Would not recommend it here! Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MME178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

On my way up country to Mount Cook and beyond for a few days, I decided to stop in Omarama as many towns nearby were either fully booked or were charging a bit much for even just one night.
For $85 per night it seems many people here are expecting too much for their money. I find it a very reasonable price, in fact it's cheap compared to other places where you'd be paying upwards of $150. Yes the decor is a little dated and the walls are thin, the beds are a little bit hard but I was about to rough it in the back-country for a few days so I can't complain!
After driving all day, I just needed a place to sleep before moving on in the morning.
I was greeted by Cecile who was professional, informative and friendly all with a smile! I would like to see this hotel spruced up as another reviewer mentioned it is in a very good spot along the road. Lots of potential.
:)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bivvy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

A group of 11 cyclists stopped the night at the Countrytime Hotel and all found it a great experience - can highly recommend it. Dave - the Manager, Cecile - the French maid/receptionist/waitress and superb chef helped make our stay a fun time. We evening meal and complimentary wine(because we were the first group of cyclist through on the new trail) was enjoyed by all. The breakfast the following morning was absolutely wonderful - the chef had gone above and beyond all expectations - this all made up for the slightly dated decor.

An excellent stopover spot - can recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We spent just 1 night there en route to Queenstown. The hotel is very dated, but certainly good value for money. The Staff were most helpful, and super-friendly. The meal was excellent, but not many people there to enjoy it. They need to make the place more attractive to the passing public as they are in a great position.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JellyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omarama
27.1 km away
High Country Holiday Lodge
0.9 km away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
189 reviews
26.7 km away
Mackenzie Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Otematata Eatery Bar & Lodging
Otematata Eatery Bar & Lodging
#687 of 728 in South Island
31 reviews
1.1 km away
ASURE Sierra Motel
ASURE Sierra Motel
#1 of 4 in Omarama
123 reviews
0.7 km away
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
#2 of 4 in Omarama
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Countrytime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countrytime Hotel

Address: 15 Airport Road | State Highway 8, Omarama, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Omarama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Price Range: $103 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Countrytime Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Countrytime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing