We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
8
28
35
17
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
28
35
17
24
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here with our tour group on our way to Milford Sound. It was the most disgusting place we stayed in New Zealand. The rooms were very 80's horror movie. Staff was rude, especially the French manager. The food was alright, better then nothing. Big spider in the toilet upon our arrival. TV had two channels and the bed was uncomfortable. The next morning my legs were covered in bites. Would not recommend it here! Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MME178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

On my way up country to Mount Cook and beyond for a few days, I decided to stop in Omarama as many towns nearby were either fully booked or were charging a bit much for even just one night.
For $85 per night it seems many people here are expecting too much for their money. I find it a very reasonable price, in fact it's cheap compared to other places where you'd be paying upwards of $150. Yes the decor is a little dated and the walls are thin, the beds are a little bit hard but I was about to rough it in the back-country for a few days so I can't complain!
After driving all day, I just needed a place to sleep before moving on in the morning.
I was greeted by Cecile who was professional, informative and friendly all with a smile! I would like to see this hotel spruced up as another reviewer mentioned it is in a very good spot along the road. Lots of potential.
:)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bivvy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

A group of 11 cyclists stopped the night at the Countrytime Hotel and all found it a great experience - can highly recommend it. Dave - the Manager, Cecile - the French maid/receptionist/waitress and superb chef helped make our stay a fun time. We evening meal and complimentary wine(because we were the first group of cyclist through on the new trail) was enjoyed by all. The breakfast the following morning was absolutely wonderful - the chef had gone above and beyond all expectations - this all made up for the slightly dated decor.

An excellent stopover spot - can recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We spent just 1 night there en route to Queenstown. The hotel is very dated, but certainly good value for money. The Staff were most helpful, and super-friendly. The meal was excellent, but not many people there to enjoy it. They need to make the place more attractive to the passing public as they are in a great position.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JellyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Omarama is great ,Countrytime hotel is like from historic movie,nice friendly staff but not perfect rooms with noice fridge and uggly bathroom ,but Omarama is great and because staff send us to Hot tubs we were happy there,nice place

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews