We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for self catering”
Review of ASURE Sierra Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ASURE Sierra Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2016

A small group of us stayed here for 1 night while on the Alps to Ocean bike trail. We booked 2x2 bedroom units to give us plenty of space & kitchen facilities. The units were great (the superior 2 bdrm was huge). Everything was fine and we had a great stay.

Room Tip: The superior 2 bedroom units are huge and not much more expensive than the standard 2 bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sandyharper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SierraMotelOmarama, Manager at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Hi Sandy

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're pleased to hear that you and your group had a great stay with us and hope you enjoyed the Alps to Ocean bike trip. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future.

Regards
Ken & Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2016

Australian travelers. Just an overnighter on our trip to Christchurch but glad we chose here! Very modern. Friendly staff. Comfy beds. Were advised of things to see on our upcoming day. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Happy_Chappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SierraMotelOmarama, Manager at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Hi Mr Happy Chappy,

Thanks for your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. While we may be a small town, there are still many things to do here in Omarama or on your way out of town. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand holiday.

Regards Ken & Jo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on our way through to Queenstown after a day of fishing.
We received a friendly greeting and were very pleased with our room which was very clean, warm and large.
The tackle shop at reception, with everything you need (especially if you managed to lose lures, sinkers during the day!) was an added bonus.
Highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Bunster72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SierraMotelOmarama, Manager at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Hi Bunster72

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is very popular for those travelling to Queenstown especially anyone who wants to fish on the way. We have recently stocked up the Tackle Shop in time for the start of the new fishing season. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Ken & Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I stayed here with two other friends in September 2016. The place is a bit higher prices than a regular hostel, but it is really clean, comfortable, and the owners are very helpful people. (They even gave us free milk:) ) There is also free and good speed Wi-fi, a kitchen, and a great bathroom in the room. I would definitely recommend here for anyone thinking of visiting Omarama.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taniostamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SierraMotelOmarama, Manager at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Hi Taniostamar

Thanks for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the recommendation. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your NZ holiday.

Regards
Ken & Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

we stayed the one night here in a one bed apartment and it was a very nice spacious and warm room and the staff were realy friendly, it was also across the road from the hot tubs and next door to the Rinkly Ram which was hand. I highly recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sierraomarama, Manager at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Hi Amy

Thanks for your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments regarding our units and staff. The hot tubs and Wrinkly Ram are very popular with our guests. We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Ken & Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omarama
0.3 km away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
199 reviews
27.5 km away
Mackenzie Country Inn
27.8 km away
High Country Holiday Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
107 reviews
0.9 km away
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
#2 of 4 in Omarama
113 reviews
27.6 km away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Sierra Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Sierra Motel

Address: Omarama Avenue, State Highway 8, Omarama 9448, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Omarama
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Price Range: $130 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — ASURE Sierra Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at Omarama, on State Highway 8 (Mt Cook - Queenstown Highway), ASURE Sierra Motel offers you accommodation with the peace of a quiet high country setting, with the convenience of village shops and restaurants within walking distance. Fishing tackle shop on site. Cycle friendly for cyclists on new Alps to Ocean cycle trail. Omarama Hot Tubs are situated opposite. The Wrinkly Ram is right next door to our Motel and is open from 7am 7 Days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your ASURE Sierra Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing