We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YHA Franz Josef
Nearby Hotels
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terrace Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
US$114
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$44
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Montrose(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
114
157
67
26
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
157
67
26
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree saunathe kitchenbed dormprivate ensuitecommon areas aredrying roomcommon roombathrooms were cleansquare supermarkettv loungefree soupgreat kitchenopen firetea and coffeepleasant stayshort walktwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2018

my stay was on Oct 2017. we and my husband was so surprise after we checked in, we never expect a backpackers hostel can be so clean and nice. well equipped kitchen, clean shower room and toilet. strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy_Lavander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Hi Ivy Lavander

Thanks a lot for your review.

We're very happy to hear you and your husband had a pleasant surprise after checking in at YHA Franz Josef. We're very proud of our high standards of cleanliness so it's great to read your positive feedback :)

We hope you had a lovely time in Franz Josef and to see you again soon.

Best regards, Mauro Giordano - Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

First time staying in a YHA. Three of us shared a room with a private ensuite, very clean and spacious enough. Was impressed with the kitchen and the facilities, much better than I ever imagined. There was no other accommodation in Franz Josef and we literally took the last room available here. Was sceptical but turned out surprisingly very well and quite enjoyed the experience and mixing with other travellers. Was concerned we would be the odd old people in the place but pleased to say many older than us were staying.
Great location.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lepa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Hi Lepa M,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at YHA Franz Josef and that you were impressed with our facilities.

It's also great to hear you were able to mix with other travelers from different age groups and hope you made some new friends during your stay.

All the best, Mauro Giordano - Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

My stay was from sun 4/3/18-tues 6/3/18. The great sights bus driver dropped me off right outside the yha which was very convenient. Check was quick. I was in a five bed dorm room 101. The room was nice and clean, and there was enough space for bags and suitcases. The bed had its own individual light and there were plug sockets also near the bed. No lockers in the room however I saw lockers in the hallway corridors on ground floor, nz$1 for small and nz$2 for bigger ones. The bathroom on floor one was clean and a good size. It had both the toilet and shower in the one room. Wifi was great it worked in the room. The kitchen and dining area was clean, big and very spacious. There is only one four square supermarket near by which was small. I would stay at the hostel again as the staff were very welcoming and it was really big and clean.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank 1sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi 1Sam, Thanks you for your review of our hostel. We're delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and made good use of our facilities. It's also great to hear you found our staff to be helpful and friendly and that you would stay with us again :) Hope to see you again very soon! All the best, Mauro Giordano - Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Very close to all you need, petrol station,a well stocked supermarket which didn't run out during a crisis and a good selection of bars and restaurants.Clean and well equipped rooms and kitchen area. We stayed during Cyclone Gita and the staff we truly amazing, keeping us well informed of what was going on and safe at all times. Great team work guys and gals, a huge thank you for looking after us so well..

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jeanette401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Hi Jeanette,

Many thanks for your review.

We're glad to hear you felt looked after and safe during your stay while Cyclone Gita was passing through.

All of our team were happy to be able to help and make everyone feel as comfortable and reassured as possible so it's great to hear it didn't go unnoticed :)

Hope you enjoyed your time in Franz and to see you again soon!

All the best, Mauro Giordano - Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Husband’s first hostel experience and he loved it. We had a private ensuite room which included towels and toiletries. Our stay was during Cyclone Gita’s moment of glory so we couldn’t go too near the glacier as we needed to be back in time to hunker down. The staff are to be commended for their dealing with guests and keeping us informed of what was happening in regard to the road closures. We had dozens of power cuts but generator was put on all evening so that everyone could cook and not have to go out. Very thoughtful.

The kitchen is very large and although busy at times it was a friendly place to be. Very well equipped and clean. Plenty of hard working staff who were always friendly and ready to help.

Good supermarket one minute walk away as well as several restaurants and bars. Filling station nearby too.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ElspethSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews