We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holly Homestead B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very warm welcome”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stay one night at Holly Homestead. We enjoy a lot our stay: very helpful owners - giving adivise, booking restaurant for us. The house is really lovely and the rooms are big. Very nice breakfast which you are sharing with other guests. Really recommendable!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    28
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
182
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

we can't recommend this B&B highly enough; a beautifully kept homestead and our hosts were exceptional. The room was so comfortable and we had views of the glacier. The owners pay meticulous attention to detail for the comfort of their guests. The breakfast was superb as well and we really enjoyed the chat with the other guests around the big table.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl and Stew... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Our group stayed (once again) at Holly Homestead on our South Island tour. We were met on a cold, wet and blustery day with a roaring log fire and a smiling hostess, Bernie, who couldn't do enough for us. After getting us settled in our rooms, Bernie soon had a steaming cup of tea and homebaked cookies in our hands. It was a very warm welcome. The rooms are beautifully finished - the native rimu woodwork is some of the best I've seen in any New Zealand home.
This old character home has a ton of ambience, and has been lovingly restored and upgraded. I highly recommend Holly Homestead to those travellers seeking affordable luxury in Franz Josef

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We enjoyed our stay. As with most B&Bs, you do have the feeling that you're in someone else's house and have to play by their rules. But overall the experience at Holly was very good. The space is immaculately clean; our room was large and comfortable; the view of the mountains from the house was exquisite; the location was great (just a few minutes from town); breakfast was very nice (ask for Bernie's stewed plums! Incredible); and Bernie was sweet and very helpful in answering our questions about New Zealand and Franz Josef. Lots of really nice touches too: very nice bath soaps and shampoos, free wireless, reasonably priced laundry service and (this I absolutely loved) a detailed prepared itinerary of places to stop and see as we drove west. So even though we had checked out at that point, Bernie and Gerard's thoughtfulness stayed with us as we spent a really nice day on the road.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atnab3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed for a night here and the house is really cool, with lots of history behind it. Bernie was a great hostess and Gerard served a great breakfast. Given that we were the only guests, we were upgraded to a bigger room which we thought was a great gesture. The bathroom was very original! It was quite cold, and the living room area with the fire place was very cozy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
1.4 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
2.2 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,346 reviews
1.5 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 km away
Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Homestead B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Homestead B&B

Property: Holly Homestead B&B
Address: 2900 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price range (per night): $228 - $280
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holly Homestead B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B : This colonial homestead whispers history. Originally constructed from beautiful native timber in 1926, now tenderly refurbished staying true to the Arts & Crafts style of architecture. Start your day early with a panoramic view of the Franz Josef neve from the breakfast table. Go exploring at your own pace and come home to a glacial sunset, a glass of port in the guest lounge and a welcoming bed. Age restriction: children 12+ welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Holly Homestead B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing