We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$170
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Hotels.comUS$170
TravelocityUS$170
FindHotelUS$170
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
227
33
9
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
227
33
9
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front porch the main house southern charm antebellum mansion mint juleps college street gresham room bottle of champagne hors d oeuvres b bs downtown macon no elevator wonderful stay road trip we've stayed king bed gloria
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2021

I loved my room. Furnished as it would have been in Antebellum times but with all the comforts of today. The breakfast was fantastic. Get the Strawberry French Toast. The bed was very comfy, and the staff was great.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank katyrwalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2021 via mobile

We stayed for one night in late September 2021. The place is a bit shabby but charming decor and well located. Our smallish room (George Walton Room) was on the first floor with a door opening to the outside back porch of the house. When we adjusted the air conditioner blasting cold air we noticed a very disagreeable musty, damp odor permeating the room. We think the odor came from the wall to wall carpeting — what appeared to be a heavy synthetic carpet that needed cleaning and/or was retaining water. It was not a comfortable night. We both had stuffy noses in the morning and were thankful we were only spending one night there. Otherwise the staff was friendly and the bathroom was clean.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank RonnieSEUnitedStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2021

I researched the B&Bs in Macon, and 1842 Inn kept rising to the top. We elected to stay in the actual original home in the Macon Room, which was large and comfortable with fantastic light during the day and large windows overlooking the front yard. The service was FANTASTIC, especially in terms of Gloria and EJ, who waited on us extensively during our time spent enjoying the property. We had breakfast on the front porch, drank wine with our appetizers (included with the room) on the front porch, and were served fresh cookies the evening we stayed in. The breakfast is well presented, but limited in terms of other B&Bs we've stayed in. The scones are really delicious and made fresh on-site - don't miss them. The building itself is, well, quite old, and is in need of external painting, and some of the furniture in the room is in need of replacement. The room's bathroom was overly basic, and detracted quite a bit from the quaintness of our stay. And be aware that the rooms in the front of the home (2nd floor) will pick up any talking from the patio below, a problem one night when people stayed late and were on the louder side. Plenty of parking, and an easy walk to/from town. Eat at Dovetail for a fantastic elevated dinner!

Room tip: Middle rooms in the original home offer the best stay away from the patio noise and better arrangements.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank X3NUkevink
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2021 via mobile

Hospitality was very good! We were in the Macon Room - bathroom was small, but maybe they are all that way. Bed comfy. Complimentary hors d’oeuvres were wonderful in the parkour - had good selection in the cash bar, but the desk clerk wasn’t sure how to mix the drinks. Breakfast was very good! Could have eaten in your room, the parkour or in nice courtyard area outside. Loved the big front porch - we enjoyed a bottle of wine there! If you drive a large vehicle, it is a little tight to pull into the registration entrance - we opted to park behind vs try this with a Suburban. Location is in a nice area with large beautiful properties! Would stay here again…….we also had dinner at Oliver’s Corner Bistro - wonderful dinner! 4 minute drive!

Room tip: Park in back - plenty of parking. We took a walk - looked for the Riverwalk, but did not find it - might be worth checking out.
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank WLM1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2021

My wife and I spent two days/nights at the 1842 Inn. All the people on staff were super nice, helpful, and accommodating. The inn is so amazing and the bed was very comfortable. I highly recommend spending some time there, you won't regret it!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mikevanetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews