We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JimmySue

Good Place to camp if you are tubing the Current River

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Aug 2019
Good site (#17) with a deck, overlooking the Current River. Water, Sewer & Electric all worked fine. The campground has no bathhouse, so plan to use your own facilities. Verizon Cell service as poor and cable television on site was fuzzy on all channels. Campground wifi only works if you are near the office. Lady running the campground was very nice and did her best to help with the cable service.
Date of stay: August 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Big Spring RV Camp
S$283
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    S$283
50.3 km from Big Spring RV Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
S$105
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
  • Hotels.com
53.0 km from Big Spring RV Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
S$188
  • Booking.com
  • Fairfield Inn
  • Hotels.com
54.5 km from Big Spring RV Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$94
  • Wyndham
    S$100
55.9 km from Big Spring RV Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Front Entrance
S$204
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • HolidayInn.com
    S$204
56.0 km from Big Spring RV Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
S$152
  • Booking.com
  • Choice Hotels
    S$152
  • Hotels.com
56.7 km from Big Spring RV Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
S$158
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
56.8 km from Big Spring RV Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Beer Garden area at the lounge next door
S$270
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
63.5 km from Big Spring RV Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    S$142
  • Vio.com
68.1 km from Big Spring RV Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Van Buren
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
7
3
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
3
1
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We had an awesome time staying at the Big Spring RV Camp. Very friendly and accommodating owners. Beautiful Spacious camp spots with full hookups including cable right along the river. If you are looking for a beautiful and peaceful place to camp, this is the place. Family and pet friendly too. We were there last weekend and can't wait to go back!!!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Inspire278491
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Let me just start by saying don't waste your time or your money at this location. The lots that they had to offer were okay, but were placed very close to one another. The prices were outrageously expensive compared to other close by locations. After many years of camping, kayaking, and fishing, I do believe this is the worst experience my family and I have had. The owners of this camp do not care about you and act as though you are some criminal that just came out of nowhere. Personally, I felt as though we were being watched by our every move. The owners were very rude from the start of the trip. After making reservations months in advance and driving more than three hours away from home to make it to this location, the owners almost refused our business, due to bringing our own kayaks. Our family was going to self transport our own kayaks like we do every time we go, but without a chance to even say two words, we were told that our company wasn't welcome with our boats. After arguing for about half an hour, we were told that we could camp, but next time we weren't welcome to bring our own equipment. Keep in mind there were loads of other campers and tents with kayaks laying beside them. When having breakfast the next morning, the owner approached our table very rudely, and demanded to talk to "Melissa", which there was no one in our family by that name. We were told that family reunions were not welcome in their site. Our family rented two spots right next to each other, and all we were trying to do was eat breakfast before starting our day. I felt as though we were being treated like children, and the owner on multiple occasions stopped at our site accusing us of cars being parked at our site, while all of our cars were gone during the whole day for a kayaking trip. I highly recommend looking for a different location. You'll be much happier without babysitters looking over your back every 5 seconds.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Kimmy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Second time to stay at this property. It’s a nice area, comparable rates, and generally quiet campground. Enjoyed our visit UNTIL we were approached IN the shower house by the owner, who was EXTREEMLY rude. She began with “Knock Knock” when nobody replied she said “Hello in the shower” I said “yes”? She asked if we were registered there and had our arm bands on. I said I am registered, my name is *** **** in campsite *, I do not have my armband on, it is in the truck because I have been in the sun all day and did not want the tan mark from it” My friend followed by “I am registered with her in site *” she then rudely said “shower 3?” where a young girl proceeded to say she was not a camper but had just arrived back from a float they had transported her on, to which owner (again rudely) replied this was for campers only, to which the young girl apologized. We assumed it was over….however owner was waiting for us outside to shower stall! Proceeded to drill us on what we had done that day. When we mentioned we had spent the day on the river (away from their property) and Kayaked (again away from their property) she informed us we could NOT “self-float” while staying there. That if we did any type of float activity THEY would transport us (and of course charge us!) We were a little taken aback by that seemingly silly rule – but her attitude was what offended us. She said “if we ever came back” to which we replayed there was no worry in that – she simply said “that’s fine to”. She was STILL lecturing us when we walked out and down to our camp. I am 51 years old….SERIOUSLY? Don’t have issues with their “rules” their arm bands or even the silly self-float….what I DO have an issue with is her attitude! Oh, and I have an issue with her going into the MENS shower house while my husband and our friend were showering checking for non-campers. She could have waited outside. Incidentally, nowhere on the shower house did we see a sign warning those floaters this was for campers only….AND we had Kayaks hanging out the back of our trucks the whole 3 days we were there…what did she think we were doing with them? I know MY 50 some odd bucks a night doesn’t matter to her, she will have someone else in that sight tonight….but eventually she will chew on enough people and one at a time they will stop coming back and Karma will get sock it to um.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Davis63863
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Great people. Level lots. Most with shade. Especially love the spots along the water. Although they lack a good swimming area. Wifi more than serviceable. Bathrooms are older, but clean and well maintained. I would definitely recommend this to a friend.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VitaminMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Although we didn't actually camp overnight at BSRC, we had a great tubing experience with them. My husband & I stopped here while on our way to view the solar eclipse. We only had a few hours to spend in this area, and it didn't disappoint. First, the owner was such a fantastic lady! She was organized & knowledgeable, and really helped us feel welcome & safe. She had everything we needed for our trip, and even arranged for our pick-up via bus afterward. Also, we had the good fortune of a beautiful, warm afternoon after the start of the new school year, so there were only a few people on the river. Everyone we came in contact with was having a great time on the water, while still being respectful. Most importantly, the water was very clear and the scenery was beautiful. Big Spring, which was located at the end of our trip, is a must-see with its lovely blue waters.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shannon64804
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews