We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th Year in a Row With Lazy R!”
Review of Lazy R Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy R Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
WINDSOR
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“4th Year in a Row With Lazy R!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was our families fourth year in a row at Lazy R Cottages in their off-site vacation homes. We have previously stayed in the Elk Ridge Retreat (about 7 miles out of town) and the Rky Mtn Retreat 1 and have been very happy. This year we stayed in the Monte Verde and were thrilled again. We were close to town, had a private hot tub and plenty of room for 6 people. We even woke up with deer in the yard two mornings! The staff at Lazy R has always been extremely helpful and accommodating. We look forward to our visit next year and would not even think about staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Oct 21st - May 21st is their "Winter Getaway" special. Buy two nights and get one night f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KACYLYNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    63
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
112
64
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent a weekend at the Lazy R Cottages the first weekend of October. We had a very nice & cozy 1 bedroom cottage with a small kitchenette. The cottage was larger than I expected. The weather was gorgeous and we left the doors & windows opened most the time. The management people were extremely nice and accommodating. It's a great location in a small town not far from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed in Cabin 5 (Eagles Nest) for two nights. The cabin is perched at the very top and was very quiet and had great views from all sides. It was very nicely decorated and very comfortable and inviting. Felt like we had our own little piece of paradise in Colorado. It was a lot warmer than usual up in the high 80’s and with no air condition I wasn’t sure what to expect. But once you opened the windows and with the nice shade and fans it cooled off in no time and was very comfortable. Best part was all the wildlife that was hanging around. We spent each morning watching a photographing the animals. We totally enjoyed our stay and loved the close proximity to shops, dining and Rocky Mountain National Park.

Room Tip: Recommend cabins higher up to eliminate the road noise. Could not hear the traffic from cabin 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlebean23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We rented both the Rocky Mountain I & II for five nights. They were comfortable and nicely decorated. The exterior could use some work; missing window screens and the neighbors kept their places kind of messy. The places slept 14 & 10 respectively, but they didnt have enought dinner plates and forks to accomodate that many people. Other than these few items we had a great time and had plenty of room for our large group. The large deck and picnic tables were great for our family and we all could gather together. The mainenance staff was attentive and came each time we reported the hot tub leaking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytravler006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed in Cabin 3 (Mountainview) for 4 nights - pet friendly cabin. A huge elk came up the driveway the first morning while I was outside having coffee. The porch was nice with a hot tub which we used each evening. The futon was hard to get up from, after sitting down. The mattress on the bed needs to be replaced. It was unusually hot in late June and we only had a fan - no AC. The view of the mountain from the porch was the best feature. Also within walking distance of two of our favorite restaurants - Sundeck and The Other Side. Would stay again but maybe in May.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a cabin with the best view of the mountains. They have several.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
3.2 km away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
992 reviews
2.0 km away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#35 of 78 in Estes Park
197 reviews
7.3 km away
Loveland Heights Cottages
Loveland Heights Cottages
#22 of 78 in Estes Park
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
157 reviews
2.1 km away
Inn on Fall River
Inn on Fall River
#12 of 20 in Estes Park
142 reviews
8.2 km away
Dao House
Dao House
#56 of 78 in Estes Park
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy R Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy R Cottages

Property: Lazy R Cottages
Address: 891 Moraine Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price range (per night): $129 - $232
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lazy R Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled below Colorado’s radiant mountaintops is beautiful Lazy R Cottages. Our one-, two-, and three-bedroom cabins (some with personal hot tubs) are perfect for romantic escapes and family vacations. Kitchens, fireplaces, decks with mountain views, playground, gas grills, free Wi-Fi and DVD movies. There are scenic hiking trails and endless fishing waters just minutes away. Pets accepted in some units. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lazy r Cottages Hotel Estes Park
Lazy R Cottages Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing