We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned and Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Estes Mountain Lodge
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We had reservations at the Estes Mountain Lodge and arrived early. We were able to go ahead and check into our very clean room. The ice machine was a short walk away, as was the swimming pool and hot tub. One of the great things about these older motels is that you can back right up to the door and unload your suitcases without have to fight stairs. It was also nice that all smoking had to take place far from the rooms. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be in a good location to access the pool/hot tub/ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wacotxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, General Manager at Estes Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you for your great comments. We try very hard to make it a great place for all.

Hope to see you again.

Tom Clifford, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

I have three complaints about the room I stayed in:

1) the walls were paper thin - I could very clearly hear people speaking outside of my room, I could hear footsteps, I could hear every noise the guests in the next room made. Thankfully, human activity quieted down early so it didn't remain an issue and I was able to fall asleep by 10pm ( for a very early, very long commute the next day).

2) the mini-fridge made a loud humming sound randomly - this was a minor annoyance that I mitigated by sleeping with the TV on to drown out the noise.

3) the room was pricey - for the quality of this room I would expect to pay less. I've stayed at some really nice places for $153 a night (the cost of this room). I've also stayed in rooms for $100 or less per night for the same quality as this room. I realize places like Estes Mountain Lodge get away with this because Estes Park is tourist town - everything books up fast and people are willing to pay it - but still - I was not happy about it. Next time I will just plan earlier and stay in a nicer place for the same price (and not feel like I'm being taken advantage of).

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drivehikecamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, General Manager at Estes Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry for the cross noise from rooms to rooms. Our walls have been insulated but we still haven't figured out a way to control the volume of the TV and voices of other guests.

The refrigerator is only 60 days old, and so we will have it checked out, thank you.

We appreciate everyone's visit and business and yes, you are right. Estes Park is a tourist town and all the businesses only have a short window (5 months) to make money and pay the year round expenses. If you check out a booking website you will find that our prices are inline with similar style motels and that we are most times lower as it is under new ownership and name.

Again, thank you for your comments, that is how we get better.

Tom Clifford, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Our room was not ready when they said it would be, the lady checking in people was flustered with the housekeeping staff, there was no bathroom in the lobby for customers, the hot tub was not hot the first night, The air conditioner did not work right and made a lot of noise, I asked for a Mountain View and got a view of the hotel next door, asked for a large bed, got 2 doubles in a 2 room suite that I didn't need. That said, the bed was comfy, I liked the games outside, it was nice to have something to do while we waited for our room. I am sure with the new renovations there are still some issues and it's probably way nicer than it was, but I was not impressed and probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, General Manager at Estes Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hi Michelle,

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that the front desk was expressing her frustration while you were there. I checked the Guest Notes and only noticed that you booked through Booking.com and that through them you booked a non-smoking double bed. If you made a request upon arrive I am guessing that there was not anything more to your liking like the bigger bed and view available. I also don't know what time you were trying to check in, but our check-in time is after 3:30 pm which allows housekeeping to prepare the room during the day.

Unfortunately, we never know when we are going to have a flat tire, thus is the case with the A/C and the hot tub. The hot tub was fixed during the day, as you mentioned and the A/C is being addressed now based on your comments.

Thanks for your comments that allow us to correct the issues.

Tom Clifford, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Yes, it is a motel, but it has a family run feel. It was very clean and you could tell they have been renovating the rooms. Is it the Ritz, no. The two room accommodation that we stayed in was perfect for myself, my husband and two teenage daughters. Our room was the only one that had a porch on the back, which was nice to use in the evening just relaxing. A table would be a good addition to the back porch. The beds were very comfortable. The only downside was temperature. The air conditioning did not get very cold.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank AverageJill727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, General Manager at Estes Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thanks for your comments. We try very hard to make all our guests feel comfortable and are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Tom Clifford, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

The newly renovated rooms look great. Beds are comfortable. Our room actually had 2 bedrooms, each with separate air conditioner and tv. The bathrooms looks nice and new but the vanity is small. The shower was great.

We checked in very late (about 1030) and management had left an envelope outside the office with my name on it. Very considerate.

Overall good stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Maryann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, General Manager at Estes Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thanks for noticing our remodeled rooms and appreciating our late check-in procedure.
Hope to see you soon.

Tom Clifford, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.1 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
199 reviews
3.5 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 28 in Estes Park
329 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 28 in Estes Park
99 reviews
0.5 km away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 28 in Estes Park
1,073 reviews
4.2 km away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estes Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estes Mountain Lodge

Address: 1120 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8924 (Formerly 1st Inn Estes Park)
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: $160 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Estes Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Estes Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Four Winds Hotel
Estes Mountain Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing