We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,653)
Filter reviews
3,654 results
Traveller rating
1,351
962
620
411
310
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,351
962
620
411
310
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ghost tour stephen king cascades restaurant whiskey bar beautiful hotel the main hotel fourth floor ghost hunters haunted room paranormal activity hedge maze haunted hotel concert hall night tour bucket list great history hotel tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 3,654 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2021

I just spent two nights at the historic Stanley Hotel. My two travel friends and I were very disappointed. The hotel is rundown, unsanitary, staff is unfriendly and the rooms are awful. Each question or request was answered with "no". The service is extremely poor. Our room had no closet, no racks for hanging clothes, no in-room service (housekeeping) although when the manager came to our room, she said is was due to covid protocol although she and her engineer were unmasked. We asked to check out late the night before we left to avoid long lines the next day and were told, once again, "NO". I'm in the group travel business and work all over the world so I know about hotels. The only good thing we found here was the hotel tour and the engineer who was friendly and helpful as the system would allow. I certainly would not recommend this hotel ever!!!

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Gwenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2021 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful. It looks like early 1900 decor. We made a stop for dinner after spending a day at Rocky Mountain National Park.

We chose this place because it was advertised as being affiliated with the movie called The Shining. We misunderstood and thought the movie was shot at these premises.

The management really plays up on the fact that Stephen King wrote the book while staying at this hotel. It is just a tourist trap.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank vespadue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2021 via mobile

We thought it would be fun to stay here but I must say this hotel is the most user “unfriendly” hotel we have ever stayed in. Nothing seemed to be easy-from the 3 hour delay for our room to be ready to our key card being deactivated the night before we checked out (neither which even got an apology for our inconvenience) to parking to the lack of a mirror in the room to the lack of enough coffee in our room… If you are going to stay here, one night should suffice for the novelty of it!

Room tip: Be prepared for numerous tourists who are not staying at the hotel but are just there to see it.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Fearless51250478987
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2021

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY. In short it’s obvious the Stanley does not care about the experience of their guest but rather focuses efforts on profiting off of the tour groups that visit. Extremely overpriced, very very busy hotel (most people aren’t even staying there), with limited staff.

The Stanley portrays itself as a luxury hotel with a tranquil and intimate setting but it is the exact opposite. All of the pictures on their website depict the hotel as a lone building on the hillside but it’s not. They built up all around the hotel to the point my wife and I couldn’t figure out where the actual hotel was. After 25 minutes of driving around trying to find the front of the hotel we gave up and parked and lugged our bags through the grounds.

Turns out there is no where to drive up and drop off your bags let alone anyone to help you with them. Took us 40 minutes to check in. The hotel itself is a mad house with tour groups. Getting to and from the room you have to navigate through tours in the hallways.

If you expect to grab a drink or bite to eat at the restaurant/bar forget about it. Again it’s packed with people touring the hotel and you can’t get a seat.

I didn’t have high expectations for the room given the age of the hotel but the grout in the shower was filed with mildew. Also, there were dirty linen bags lining the hallways from the time we checked in to the time we checked out.

The hotel is extremely overpriced, stay anywhere else but here.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank scott605212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2021 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Outside is very much like the movie The Shining although the inside not as much. Bartenders were not great, s little full of themselves but the atmosphere was nice. Saw s great show by Aiden Sinclair, a Victorian seance if sorts. Would highly recommend that.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews