We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Time With the Whole Family”
Review of Tanque Verde Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tanque Verde Ranch
Ranked #32 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Fun Time With the Whole Family”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My family and I just returned from a great vacation at Tanque Verde Ranch. Will definitely need a few days to recover — this was an ACTIVE vacation. From horseback riding and mountain biking to fishing, golfing and hiking, we did a lot. In fact, we were in bed by 9:00 most nights, thoroughly exhausted from a full day out in the desert sun.

The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are very nice, with beautiful views of the surrounding mountains, spacious accommodations and satellite radio. It was nice that they offered wifi, although it was pretty spotty at times. The outdoor pool was very popular with our kids...it was heated to a very comfortable temperature.

Meals were very good. My kids loved the breakfast buffet, and the desserts at lunch. The dinner menu offered several appetizing choices every evening, with some "standards" that were always an option, like the delicious ranch burger. My wife and I enjoyed stopping by the saloon before dinner to get a couple of beers while the kids snacked on popcorn.

Everyone at the ranch, from the wait staff to the employees at the front desk, was very warm, friendly and helpful.

My only suggestions are centered around the corral and the horseback riding. For first-timers, the corral was a rather intimidating and confusing experience if you wanted to take a lesson or go on a ride. Often, there was a crowd gathered, waiting to get saddled up for various rides, and nobody to talk to or ask for help, since the wranglers were so busy getting horses ready. I'd suggest having designated waiting areas clearly marked for different activities, so you know where to wait and that someone will eventually help you.

The other suggestion would be to have more family-centered rides and activities. Two of our daughters were in the age range for the kids' program and were forced to split off from us to do rides and other activities. We could join them on the kids' rides, but a couple of times that was a confusing process and we didn't even end up riding with the right kids. It would be great if there were more options for families to stick together and do more together.

All in all, though, it was a very fun trip and definitely something we'd love to do again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patedugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas_Gold, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Patrick
I am please your family enjoyed the vacation and I thank you for the suggestions in the corral,
The video you made is fabulous; if you get a chance attach it to this review.
Hope to see you all again soon.
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    96
    39
    24
    24
See reviews for
289
145
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just spent the last week as a family getting away from winter in the Northeast. Well, we'll be coming back! Outstanding service, excellent food, and an attention to detail that would put some "Leading Hotels of the World" to shame. Both our daughters who had not ridden much before came away with more confidence and ability than we might have expected over just a short stay. We already miss the people...and the horses...particularly Chip....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank consul22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas_Gold, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
I thank you very much for your review.
It is indeed the people that make a difference: having managed a "Leading Hotel of the World", I will agree that the staff at Tanque Verde are as willing as any that I have ever worked with. They ARE the difference.
I look forward to seeing yourselves and your daughters back soon.
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

our familyhas returned with truly outstanding thoughts about our stay !!!
facilites excelent.
most importantly were the staff !!!! accomidating, helpful and willing to go the extra miles for us, grand parents(2), parents(2), and grandchildren(2) !!!!!
especially notable were 2 individuals:
Marsha Warwick, who taught us about the "flora+fauna" of the ranch
and
Karen Powers, who was able to teach ALL how to stay on and enjoy 'hoss ridin' !
a wonderful experience......
we will return !!!!

Room Tip: suites away from main lodge are best for families with younge rchildren
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfzmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas_Gold, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
I am so pleased that all 3 generations of your family enjoyed the ranch as much as you did and thank you for mentioning Marsha and Karen; 2 individuals who both work hard and always have the best of intentions for the ranch and our guests.
I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was our first time experiencing a guest ranch and could not have chosen a better spot. Nicholas and his staff were top notch and always made sure you were taken of. The room was great, only complaint was it was a bit dark but the spectacular view made up for it. If you want to go unplugged you can it was great. The wranglers (Ashlee, Michael and Jonathan) were great. They took great care with each rider to ensure they were comfortable with the horses and taught us a lot. Valentine, Ricochet, Tabasco and Rex were great horses and look forward to riding them again. The hiking was excellent. Virginia is a great guide and is a treat to hike with.
The food, wow! more than great there was no reason to go hungry. The pork shank is one of the best I have ever had and the blueberry pancakes cooked over the campfire on the morning ride were the best. Nothing better than breakfast cooked outside.
We met some of the nicest people and it is a testimate to TVGR that these same guest have been coming back for years. You can count on us as one of those who will be back and can't wait to meet our new friends and catch up with "old" one.
Oh... and Lisa the bartender at the Saloon is the best. Order the lemon drop martini or the margarita you can't go wrong.

Grant and Barbi Kerr
Victoria,MN

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNdesertrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas_Gold, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Grant and Barbi,
It was a pleasure spending time with you both and although the food is great, the horses and wranglers phenomenal; Lisa, in the Dog House is special.
We all look forward to seeing you again.
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We just got back from a 2-night stay at the Tanque Verde Ranch over Valentine's, and it's one of the best places we've ever stayed at. It says a lot about it that most of the other guests had been there before, some of them over twenty times. It has the biggest herd of riding horses in the whole of Arizona - 162 of them.

The food was a lot better than we expected from a dude ranch, of gourmet quality, and everything included apart from alcoholic beverages. The mole sauce I had with my chicken was the best I ever tasted. and yes, they do make some great wine in Arizona. the dry rose we had from Drayden was the equal of many we've had in the South of France.

We're novice riders so had two lessons to begin with, but then we were ready for a 90-minute walk ride in the desert. It was blissful, riding among the saguaros and other cacti, and getting up high for terrific views. The ranch has 630 acres alongside the Saguarao National Park East, and you really get a feel for what the Old West must have been like. The ranch has been there since that time, and is still a working ranch with over 600 head of cattle.

The facilities were excellent, and our only complaint would be that there was too much to do - we only had one full day and then a morning there, and there was something happening all the time - nature walks, bird-watching walks, mountain-biking, different rides and lessons, activities for kids, a lovely Nature Center where I got to handle a snake, a spa, good bar, and a real history about the place.

I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms at Javelina Heights, which is on one of the higher parts of the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas_Gold, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
It was wonderful to meet a couple who live on 2 continents and, from you, high praise for the food is over and above my expectations. Thank you.
Chef Ben and his team have been working hard on preparing great food with a sense of place; a ranch style, suited to the area. He has certainly pulled it off.
I hope to see you both again.
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
47.5 km away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 128 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
21.3 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
24.0 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 km away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
18.3 km away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
28.7 km away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanque Verde Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanque Verde Ranch

Property: Tanque Verde Ranch
Address: 14301 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85748-7138
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#13 Family Hotel in Tucson
#25 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price range (per night): $378 - $749
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanque Verde Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanque Verde Ranch Resort was named "Best Dude Ranch in Arizona" by Dude Republic in 2012, as well as a "Top Ten Family Resort" by the Travel Channel since 2007, and a "Top Five Ranch" by Conde Nast in 2008. Tanque Verde Ranch is one of America’s old time cattle and guest ranches. Located on 60,000 acres of Tucson’s most breathtaking desert landscapes, nestled amongst the Rincon Mountains and adjacent to Saguaro National Park and Coronado National Forest. Established in 1868, the superb guest ranch is recognized as the last luxurious outpost of the old west providing guests with plush accommodations, unparalleled amenities and a vast array of exciting activities such as horseback riding, mountain biking, fishing and hiking. La Sonora Spa is the perfect place for a bit of quiet relaxation, and the kids will love all the supervised children's programs! Don't hesitate – getaway at one of the premier, all-inclusive dude ranches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanque Verde Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanque Verde Ranch Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing