We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rebecca Gaskins”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge University / Downtown
Ranked #95 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Room needed updated. Shower door and bathroom window were both cracked. Heat lamp bulb in bathroom exploded when it was turned on. Pluses were price, convenient location to many area attractions, free continental breakfast.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank R3848MKrebeccag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Very good price and offers discounts. Updated room stuffy and hot when we entered. Staff friendly adequate room nothing special. Need a car to go out not to many amenities are close by. Not sure if I would use again.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We checked in and requested two beds and were told we had to pay over 100 dollars extra for that. I pre-paid online via priceline. Ok, whatever. It felt like bait n switch. I asked for an extra blanket since it was a cold night in January. It was filled with cigarette holes. The hotel wasn't booked up full but I felt taken advantage of with the extra charge.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Serena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Good size room, moderate maintenance, minimal breakfast. We went while there is a lot of street construction around, a lot of trafic. Wi-Fi is good and fast. There is no hairdryer .Bed is very confortable, but this is not a 5 star.

Room Tip: Better choose room 201 202 because they have a wide shaddedbalcony, with exterior table. And better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank durocherlise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

We stayed here on January 22, 2016 for a Boy Scout swap meet. The facility was well kept up on the outside and our room was very clean as was the bedding. We had no problems at all with anything. A slight negative was they do not have coffee makers in the rooms and they only offer coffee during the breakfast from 7-9am. The neighborhood was decent enough and there is a nice art gallery next to the motel. The breakfast was minimal but they had very fresh donuts from a bakery. Not those little pastries in cellophane packages. I was quite surprised by that as I rarely see them offered. After reading some of the negative reviews I was hesitant to stay here but it was very nice for what you pay. I thought it was a great value. The staff was friendly. I think some people want to have a $200 room and only pay $30 for it. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. We have been through all 50 states over the last 40 years and have been in hundreds of motels. For the price this was as good as most of those I have stayed in.

Room Tip: We were in furthest from the road and heard no noise. I think we were in room 110 or close to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TravelingOldCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
12.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tucson Airport
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson
3.1 km away
Comfort Inn Tucson
Comfort Inn Tucson
#74 of 129 in Tucson
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Quality Inn Flamingo Downtown
0.3 km away
University Inn Tucson
University Inn Tucson
#51 of 129 in Tucson
185 reviews
1.4 km away
Ramada Limited Tucson West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge University / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge University / Downtown

Address: 1136 N Stone Ave, Tucson, AZ 85705-7334
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range: $78 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge University / Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Tucson AZ hotel near the University of ArizonaThe Econo Lodge® hotel provides a great location near the University of Arizona (U of A) and the Tucson Convention Center. This Tucson, AZ hotel is close to area attractions like Old Tucson Studios movie studio and theme park, Davis-Monthan Air Force Base and the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, one of the most-visited attractions in Tucson. The Tucson International Airport is 12 miles away.Year-round mild weather allows visitors to enjoy Tucson's many award-winning golf courses, horseback riding and various University of Arizona sporting events. Snowfall permitting, nearby Mount Lemmon provides a winter wonderland with skiing and plenty of winter play areas. Just about one hour south of Tucson is Nogales, Mexico, offering an abundance of shopping and restaurants.A wide variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Enjoy shopping at the nearby Tucson Mall and Park Place mall.Full-service hotel amenities and features include: Free continental breakfast Free local calls Outdoor pool Wireless high-speed Internet access Pet-friendly hotel (additional fees apply)All guest rooms have cable television and offer room service. In addition, some rooms come equipped with refrigerators. Large family-friendly rooms have three double beds.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge hotel provides friendly customer service, a convenient location, relaxing accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Tucson, AZ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge University / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing