We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Property”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We come back every year - The property is beautiful, the rooms are nice, the grounds are impeccable and the food is great. In addition - it is very conveniently located to most of what you would like to do when in the area. The desert trail is really interesting as well. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Request valley/pool view otherwise you are staring at a hill of Cacti.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdwallst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

We sincerely value your personalized perspective on your recent experience. Thank you for taking the time to highlight a couple of the features of our resort. The hiking trails are a remarkable added value that seems endless at times. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Please remember to bring water and sunscreen on your next hike, as it was sunny and 90 yesterday!!!

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    481
    160
    62
    40
See reviews for
522
489
56
680
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed here February 2012 and could not have been more pleased. Had not stayed at this hotel before but we were treated like royalty. The staff were excellent and took very good care of us, making us feel at home right away. The hotel is a wonderful getaway and affords great views of the surrounding area. Had dinner and breakfast in the hotel and were treated to a wonderful experience. No negatives for us!!! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halibut-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for highlighting our greatest asset, our ASSOCIATES! The Marriott Way is keenly focused on taking care of our associates, whom then extend authentic hospitality to guests. We are overjoyed that you had a flawless experience and we would love to have you come back. Thank you for taking time to share your experience.
Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, FL
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I travel to Tucson two times a year for business. I only found the Starr Pass last year. While it is a little outside of town, the attentiveness of the staff and variety of things to do while staying here make it worth the drive. Right out the backdoor of the hotel, there are walking paths which I use every morning through the foothills, and I always see a variety of wildlife. Every night at 1730, there is a complementary tequila toast on the patio. The patio has a multitude of seating areas around firepits, which are great for meeting with your group and chatting. After dinner, we usually come back to a firepit and order smore makings to make a fireside treat. So much fun!!

Room Tip: I always ask for a room on the 4th floor or higher with a poolside/city view. You cannot beat the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funt1mes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

That you for highlighting, that we have hikes right out our back door. We offer a diverse selection of trails that start on property. Whether you explore on your own or contract with our guides you will appreciate the beauty of The Sonoran Desert. Our Partners, Southwest Trekking also have Mountain Bike rentals and tours. I am so glad that you could experience our exceptional service and amenities. We are glad that you located the oasis in the desert, The JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa!

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is a very nice hotel, but its not spectacular. If you are going and can get a decent room rate, I would definitely stay here. But if you are going to be paying upwards of $300 a night which I believe is the going rate during the high season, I would stay elsewhere.

This is your typical resort that nickels and dimes you for everything. Because its not close to Tucson, it would be ideal to stay at the resort for drinks and meals but that can get very pricey if you're staying for more than 3 days.

That being sad, its a gorgeous property that is nestled in the foothills. Sitting outside and enjoying the scenery is one of the most fun things to do. The hotel was extremely clean and staff was always tending to the beautiful outside and inside decor. Also the pool is FABULOUS. That is probably the best part. You can get a reasonably priced lunch while sitting at the pool enjoying the Tucson weather.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The fitness center is very nice. We walked to the Catalina BBQ restaurant not far from the hotel. The decor was dated but the food was delicious. Also they do have self parking at this hotel which is free and only a short walk from the lobby.

If you enjoy golf the courses looked awesome (although I am not a golfer). If you want to do some light hiking they have trail maps you can use. All in all this was a lovely hotel and I did enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience on your past stay. In regards to our fabulous amenities, I wanted to mention that we have recently introduced a Resort Fee; for $25 per day you receive a $110 value, which bundles many of our fabulous amenities, and includes complimentary self-parking, high-speed internet and many more amazing amenities. Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Just spent 5 days at the resort for a friends birthday. We spent most of our time at the spa which was amazing. We had incredible massages and treatments and the entire staff were experienced and welcoming. Ask for Jose! He gave the best deep tissue massage I've ever had.

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are really comfortable. The lobby is large and airy with huge windows overlooking the patio, pool and the valley below including the city of Tucson. The firepits on the patio are wonderful during the cold desert nights. The pool was really nice and they have a 'lazy river' float pool.

There are nice walking trails out into the desert. One loop trail which can be done in about an hour or hour and a half and another that connects with a much longer trail that runs throughout the Tucson Mountain Park. Early mornings are cool and the light is perfect for beautiful desert photos.

The restaurants were nice. Breakfast in the Signature Grill was great. Dinner there was not so special. We had one meal in the Primo restaurant which was really nice and the food was fantastic. Be sure and try and Salted Caramel Gelato for dessert. Also ate a couple of times down at the Barbecue restaurant at the bottom of the property. The food was great and you can catch a ride down the hill in the hotel shuttle bus.

Overall the trip was relaxing and refreshing and the staff were very accommodating and professional. Spend some time in the spa. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside have wonderful views of the valley and city below in the distance. Especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out of your day to detail the fabulous amenities of the Resort, and especially the Hashani Spa. I also enjoy the Spa amenities, such as the Saline Lap Pool and the Eucalyptus Steam Room. Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to your retun!

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
10.8 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
16.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
22.5 km away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 km away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
16.4 km away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
16.1 km away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Address: 3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-5115
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price range (per night): $262 - $498
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing