We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware: They'll Cancel Your Reservation, Blame it on Hilton and Couldn't Care Less”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall
Ranked #25 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

I was very much looking forward to my stay at this Hampton, when I received a phone call the morning of check-in advising my credit card had expired and they needed an updated card before 2:00 p.m. local time or my reservation would be cancelled. Fair enough. I returned the call at 11:00 a.m. local time, spoke to a young man and gave him my updated card, and he issued me a new confirmation number to my email. All set, or so I thought.

When i went to do the e-check in on the Hilton Honors app, it showed my reservation as both booked and cancelled. Confused, I rang the hotel and the gentleman who answered informed me indeed the reservation was cancelled because I didn't call back by the 2 p.m. deadline. Hold on I said, I did and here's my new confirmation number. He said when I called I apparently got linked to Hilton central reservations, which has nothing to do with this Hampton's reservations, and Hilton reservations doesn't communicate with their hotel.

It would have been very helpful on the recorded message when you ring 520-618-8000 if they had made it very clear you are NOT speaking to the Hampton Inn - however it said nothing of the sort, and the gentleman who I spoke to never advised he wasn't a staff member at this Hampton Inn.

What really agrevated me about this was the man who I spoke with at the Hampton front desk wasn't the least bit concerned and kept trying to rush me off the phone and transfer me back to Hilton central. "Sorry we're sold out and so are all the other Hamptons in Tucson tonight so you need to speak to Hilton reservations" he repeated several times as I tried to understand how this Hampton didn't communicate with it's parent company at all. Of course, when he transferred me all I got was a runaround - press 1 or 2 or 3 and figure out who to speak with, then when I did get a hold of someone they told me they couldn't help and I had to take the matter up with the hotel directly.

Not only was this a major fail on the part of Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson Mall, but their customer service needs to be a little more understanding and helpful, and the hotel needs to make it extremely clear when you call their local phone number that you may in fact not ever speak with anyone working at the hotel.

Unfortunately they've lost a good customer, a HH Gold member, and have summarily tarnished the Hampton Inn image and brand through this interaction and complete screw-up in the handling of this.

Room Tip: Don't book here or your reservation will automatically be cancelled without you ever knowing it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan D, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

I am sorry that your reservation got cancelled. As a hotel policy on sold out nights we have to confirm at the local Hotel all Credit cards. As we had not heard from you at 2 pm the cancellation had to be cancelled. Our front end Agent informed us that the call had been made to you to call before 2pm. I hope you will consider us again and give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Everything was really good except not having a refrigerator! I think every room should have them so people like me can store cold things. I travel a lot and I do not want to eat out all the time nor always have to make a store run.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank antwainerondalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan D, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson Mall. I am sorry you did not have a room with an refrigerator. As of right now only our Suites accommodate refrigerators. We do hope in the near future to be able to have refrigerators in all rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

The suites were a very nice size and the hotel was clean. The breakfast wasn’t the best but it did feed the kids. I enjoyed the coffee and tea in the lobby at all times that was a nice overall touch to the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank bethanyg308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan D, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for your stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson Mall. We enjoyed having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Great location, clean, friendly staff great bed. Breakfast was enjoyable. We took two apples to snack on during our ride. The exterior was also clean and we felt comfortable leaving our car with most of our belongings in view. The staff was friendly at check on we were given a choice of what floor we would like to stay on. We liked that the ice maker was close by also. I would highly recommend staying at this location. The lobby was also welcoming and sitting in it as apposed to in your suite was nice too!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank freddiejay2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan D, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for your stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson Mall. We enjoyed having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

The room reserved-2 queen beds-was not available first night of 5 night stay. Staff had us check out after first night and reregister for next 4 nights in a 2 queen room as originally reserved. Thus we received 2 bills for our stay We were charged $50 more than the reservation which we discovered after we left Tucson. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank geraldc959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan D, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson Mall. I am sorry for the billing error. I have credited back the 50.00 of overpayment to your account. Thank you for brining this to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
15.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tucson East / Williams Centre
4.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
7.5 km away
Hampton Inn Tucson-North
Hampton Inn Tucson-North
#36 of 129 in Tucson
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson Mall
0.2 km away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
2.9 km away
Comfort Suites at Tucson Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall

Address: 5950 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-3816
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#21 Family Hotel in Tucson
#21 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $119 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Tucson-Mall hotel is located just 12 miles north of downtown Tucson and just two miles from the popular shopping destinations of Foothills Mall and Tucson Mall. Our Tucson mall hotel is also only 5 miles northeast of La Encantada shops and restaurants. The Bisbee Mining & Historical Museum, the Old Tucson Movie Studio and the Pima Air & Space Museum are all a short drive away when considering things to do in Tucson, AZ. Beautiful Sabino Canyon and Saguaro National Monument are also just minutes away as are dozens of other fun and interesting Tucson hotspots. Stay at this Tucson hotel and enjoy true southern hospitality. Sleep deeply in a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and stay connected with free access to high-speed internet. Start each day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast or just grab a Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag to take away with you from Monday to Friday. Swim laps in the hotel's large outdoor pool or relax in the whirlpool spa, or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines and weights. Stay on top of work in our fully-equipped business center, and host a meeting in this Tucson hotel's 836 sq. Ft. Of dedicated meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tucson-Mall Hotel Tucson
Hampton Inn Tucson
Tucson Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing