We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the room and location in downtown!”
Review of Menger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Menger Hotel
Ranked #21 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

A great time was had by all - family of four, kids 12 and 9! We stayed in a unique room - 2016 - the only room of its kind in the hotel - double bed price but was a 2 room adjoining rooms in the old part of the hotel - one bathroom - king and queen bed! Recommended by Larry in the hotel reservations group. We "hunted" for ghosts and enjoyed staying right next door to the Alamo - we also did the Ghost Tour, $10 for adults, and it was fun without too much cost! It was great to be close to the river - and our kids liked staying in an "ole timey" hotel - we read ghosts stories they gave us at check in. One let down was the "forced" bellhop service - the hotel does not let you push your baggage cart when you arrive or depart. And the valet charge of $25 is TOO much! Park down the street for 1/2 that and walk back to the hotel unless you just want to enjoy the luxury - I walked to valet pkg area to get something from the car and it was not in a protected area or closer than normal to the hotel. The pool area was nice but the hot tub was not working properly - the water was very hot and could not be turned down, and not all of the jets were working.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sctexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,279 - 2,283 of 2,622 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

perfect place to take your family and so close to every thing. and as i said in my opening -- I AM A VERY PICKY GAMMA!! if i go some where with my grandchildren it better be family friendly and safe,and this place is so much that and more. The staff was great,all you have to do is ask if you would like to know something about the surroundings,shops,etc. Dont let the riverwalk take away from all the attractions around the hotel--plus the hotel it self. We had passes to Sea World and my seven year old grandson wanted to stay at the hotel and the attractions around it. Very upset with the whole riverwalk, it was his birthday and not ONE--NOT ONE--would sing or tell him happy birthday, but they did at the hotel, and the Buckhorn rest.So,please dont forget the to check out all of the Hotel and the immediate surroundings.I am allready trying to plan for another trip with my grandson and we will not go to riverwal --we will be spending it in the HOTEL like he wants!!

Room Tip: we had one facing the front and it was just awsome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonfly-mom-2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

I truly appreciate you sharing your experiences with Trip Advisor and am pleased that the Historic Menger Hotel recognized your grandson's birthday and helped create a memorable celebration.

Your coments will be shared with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as reinforcement of our committment to excellence.

We are pleased to learn that when you are able to return to San Antonio, you will once again choose the Historic Menger Hotel. We lood forward to your return.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

So I paid to get a "suite" which was a huge disappointment. When I arrived they placed me in a room that had two double beds and was about the size of your standard courtyard Marriott room. I was misled by the website which had picture of the luxurious spacious room which I found out when I called the from desk was not the case in every suite. My confirmation described the rooms as uniquely designed with King beds so I questioned whether this was even actually a suite. I find it hard to believe people would pay a "suite" price to have the room I had. The bathroom was tiny, the room was tiny and where the TV was placed made absolutely no logical sense as it could not be seen no matter where you were. Nothing like the picture they have on their website when you choose suite from the selections. Definitely not worth the money they are charging for it. The location is nice, the historical look and feel is pretty cool. Parking is steep at $25 per day, the food in the restaurant was mediocre and expensive. The pool was nice, the hotel lobby had a strange smell which I could not decide if it was the "old" smell or the smell of urine.... but I tried not to let that bother me.

Upon checking out they tried to overcharge me for my second night after we had been told the room rate would not change(If you ask me I was over charged to begin with). I really feel like the entire stay there was a jip...I can't imagine it would send them into the poor house to spring for a refrigerator for every room rather that charging $25 to rent them. I thought about complaining, but as I was standing in line the lady in front of me was having a conniption fit about being bumped from the specific room she had reserved for her anniversary it seemed her day was going much worse than mine. The poor girl receiving her wrath was clearly only the messenger so I decided not to burden her any further with the fact my room left a lot to be designed as it pertained to being called a suite. I will put it this way...last year I stayed in a suite at the best western and it was bigger than this room and had a jacuzzi and it was only $89.

All in all the place is a rip off...but it was a clean rip off I guess..

Room Tip: Call to request a specific room/
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kacy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

I truly appreicate you taking teh time to express your concerns with Trip Advisor regarding your stay and deeply regret that your accommodations did not meet your expectionats. Please accept my sincerest apologies.

We strive to have all guests leave with fond memories of their stay here at the Historic Menger Hotel. We offer a variety of rooms and suites with different types of beds and spaces and regret the suite you expected was not available during your stay.

Once again, we appreciate your comments.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed here for six days. The Internet only worked on the first day. The facilities are OK but not great. Some of the staff are really good (one guy at the front desk was wonderful, and one person from the restaurant was absolutely charming) and others don't have their act together. What they charge is appropriate for what you get. I didn't get to try out the pool because I was too busy so that was a pity because it looked nice. The business center is expensive to use and to print things - I thought that was overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi_Malvina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to advise Trip Advisor about your recent experiences during your stay at teh Historic Menger Hotel and regret that we were not able to speak with you personally.

Your comments will be shared with the ladies and gentlement of our staff as reinforcement that we are committed to prviding our guests with excellence at all times.

Please accept my apologiy and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope when your travels bring you back to San Antonio, you will once again choose the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Our family stayed at the Menger Hotel while our son was competing in the Trampoline Nationals. While our room was a bit smaller than most, our window looked out on the grounds of the Alamo! In the evening, we could watch the horse carriages, which were lit up with colored lights, go by below our window. The building is old and has a lot of personality. There are beautiful features, from the lobby, the Tiffany glass dome in the old section, near the restaurant. My son learned that there are parts of the hotel where people have seen ghosts, so on our last evening, we got up at 2 AM to walk in the old section. While we did not see any ghosts, we did see other families doing the same thing!

One of our friends took the bus from the airport to the hotel -- it costs a little over a dollar instead of closer to $25 - 30 for a taxi ride. The Menger is just minutes from the River Walk and, in addition to the touristy stuff, there is a public bus ($4 a day pass) you can catch on Alamo Plaza that takes you to the Zoo, Art Museum, Witte Science Museum, and the Botanic Garden.

My son and I did have breakfast at the Hotel on our first day. It was pleasant enough, but somewhat costly, as most hotel restaurants are. We did find an inexpensive -- and delicious -- deli two blocks away near the River Walk.

The kids LOVED the pool! The weather in July was incredibly hot, so we tended to spend our free time near or in the pool. Some of the rooms not only faced the pool, but had access to the pool courtyard and this was a lot more convenient than making wet footprints on the main floor carpeting.

All in all, it was a great experience and lots of fun! We loved the history of the place -- from stories about the Alamo to Teddy Roosevelt and the Rough Riders! I'd come back! (Although my son and I might ask for a room in the old section next time...)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirtwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of your stay at the Historic Menger Hotel with Trip Advisor.

The ladies and gentlemen of our staff will be pleased that our preservation efforts are recognized. Our heated swimming pool is a favorite of our guests year round and we glad that your family enjoyed it during our hot summer days.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio.
.
Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
2,061 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,159 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,295 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Address: 204 Alamo Plz, San Antonio, TX 78205-2687
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $211 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing