We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Know this is an Historical Hotel but . . .”
Review of Menger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Menger Hotel
Ranked #21 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We had a family get together at the historic Menger over Memorial Day weekend and were very disappointed by the lack of updating that this old hotel needs desperately. We booked a King Suite and did get the largest suit in the Hotel, the General Sherman Suite. However if he slept in this room it hasn't been updated since then. First thing was the room was moldy smelling and even had a portable air purifier in the room. The 2 bathrooms had tons of mold in the shower curtains and the tile around the tubs. The carpet was dirty and dint look like it had been vacuumed in days, in fact pieces of link and paper that were there the first day were still there the second day after the maids had supposedly cleaned the room. The many reports of the showers lack of consistent temperatures are very true. You can not stand under the water flow very long with out getting scalded and cold every time someone turns on a sink or flushes a toilet. It was impossible to keep a constant shower temperature for more than a few seconds. The amenities in the bathroom did not include any hair conditioner, only shampoo and moisturizer which when used up did not get replaced on the second day by the maids. The TV's could also be updted to new wide screen versions.

For what the room cost we could have stayed at the Marriott or Hyatt on the river and paid way less for parking our car. The Menger charges $28 per night plus tax for parking while most of the other river walk hotels charge less than $20.

We did love the beautiful lobby and atrium and the Menger bar was great and uncrowded for late night drinks.

MY advice is stay at one of the new modern riverwalk hotels and visit the Menger to see all the history associated with this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the newer wing of the hotel or go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to advise Trip Advisor regarding your concerns during your recent stay and regret that we were not able to address this while you were here.

I have met with the Executive Housekeeper and appropriate action has been taken to ensure that situations of this nature do not occur in the future. We are excited to share that we have planned a renovation of our guest rooms within this year.

Thank you again for sharing your concerns and we hope that when you return to San Antonio, you will stay with us again at the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,211 - 2,215 of 2,670 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Grand Dame of hotels in San Antonio. Been staying there for years, and yeah the room dooe locks were not working, and the TV was on the fritz, and the carpet... well, a little worse for wear. BUT it still is charming, odd, ecelectic and the pool is great. (Although the hot-tub could stand to be updated.)

The Menger sprawls in a variety of directions and has rooms from every era EXCEPT the current one (no cookie cutter generics). My favortie? The most "modern" ones overlooking the pool with balconies.

San Antonio is a tourist town, and they will stick it to you for parking at every chance they get. So be warned. But make sure you wander the courtyards, and check out the oldest section. Some things haven't changed in 50 years.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank Castrolandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent visit at the Historic Menger Hotel with Trip Advisor and appreciate that you and your family have stayed with us many times in the past.

We are planning a renovation of our guest rooms within this year and look forward to the change. Your comments have been shared with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as we strive to have all our guests leave with fond memories.

When the opportunity arises for you to return to San Antonio, we look forward to your visit.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

To begin, if you are looking for luxurious, modern, high-end details, don't go to the Menger. If you are looking for a charming hotel with character, history, and charm, the Menger is your hotel!

I spend a week there this month and had a fabulous time. The rooms in the 'historic' section are unique. The four poster beds, the old fashioned bath, the shuttered windows, all add to the charm. Yes, the bathrooms are a little old, and showing their age, but that is the point, right? You are looking for a hotel with some history, not a cookie cutter room.

The on-site restaurant is fabulous. We had breakfast their two mornings taking advantage of the generous buffet. The eggs were cooked to order, omelets on request, fresh fruit, breads, anything you can ask for. The wait staff is old-worldly and gracious.

The location is perfect. Right next to the Alamo. Two blocks from the conference center and two blocks from the River Walk. We were two ladies alone and had no fear walking the neighborhood in the evenings.

Try the Menger, you won't be disappointed!
(P.S. Tell the spirit of the lady on the second floor I said hello! :))

Room Tip: If you're interested in ghosts, ask for the second floor of the historic section!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for an anniversary cause our theme for the night was ghost hunting. We attended a ghost tour within walking distance & decided to reserve an advanced reservation at The Menger. Being from San Antonio, you hear numerous stories of this place being haunted. We didn't encounter any ghosts but the fear of it being possible was thrill enough for us! The hotel is very old & historic but not up to the modern hotels with amenities. Our toilet made a weird noise when flushed. Our shower would rotate between hot & cold, the floors to our room creaked. The a/c was not as cool as one would expect. Walls are very thin. The bar in the lobby closes at midnight. Taking all this into consideration, it is indeed a place to lay your head after a night on the town. It made a good addition for our ghost hunt theme for the night, but if traveling from out of town, probably not a place we would visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johneric76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.

Within this year we are planning a renovation of our guest rooms and are excited about the changes. As you noted, we are a historic property and our goal is historic preservation. We are looking forward to the new look.

We hope when the opportunity arises once again for you to stay in the historic downtown area, you will once again consider the Historic Menger Hotel as your loding choice.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

A quick taxi ride from the airport (its cheaper than the shuttle) and we were there. Our room was facing the street on the third floor and was almost as big as our house! It had a veranda you could actually sit on with table and chairs and a great view of next door to the Alamo and across from the Riverwalk. We had a hard time getting our bearings but the guys at the front desk were always very helpful in providing excellent directions. If you go, do not miss having a drink at the bar which is an exact replica of the bar for The House of Lords in England and a favorite haunt (literally) of Teddy Roosevelt. Purported to be THE most haunted hotel in Texas, lets just say, we believe! Do not miss a five star dinner in the hotel with some of the best food and service we had our entire stay in San Antonio. This place is beautiful! If you want ultra modern, go somewhere else, but for turn of the century grand elegance and beauty, this is our place! Within walking distance of more than you can do or see in a week, its also right next door to one of the largest malls we have ever seen and it is on the Riverwalk! I relaxed in the pool and hot tub with a delicious frozen concoction while my wife had a 2 hour deep tissue massage and facial in the spa. If you want a place with a whole lot of class but do not want to have to sell your first-born to do it, this is your place. We will be coming back again, and again.

Room Tip: The bath rooms are small, but the rooms are so big, who cares!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBWeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

When a guest takes the time to share their experiences with Trip Advisor, we are pleased to have an opportunity to respond.

Your comments regarding our historic preservation are appreciated as we strive to maintain the history with modern amenities for our guests.

Thank you again for your delightful comments regarding all the areas of the hotel that you enjoyed and we look forward to your return to the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 357 in San Antonio
2,091 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#25 of 357 in San Antonio
4,087 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,325 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
3,270 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Address: 204 Alamo Plz, San Antonio, TX 78205-2687
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $206 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing