We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Palo Alto Inn & Suites(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$155
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$58
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$94
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crockett Hotel(San Antonio)
US$146
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,001)
Filter reviews
3,001 results
Traveller rating
1,453
874
352
175
147
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,453
874
352
175
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmenger barteddy rooseveltcolonial roommango ice creamcolonial restaurantghost tourhistorical hotelthe river walkrocking chairstexas historylots of historyalamo plazarooms are smallvalet parkingthe location is perfectconvention centerwater pressure
Filter
Updating list...
2,537 - 2,542 of 3,001 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Grand Dame of hotels in San Antonio. Been staying there for years, and yeah the room dooe locks were not working, and the TV was on the fritz, and the carpet... well, a little worse for wear. BUT it still is charming, odd, ecelectic and the pool is great. (Although the hot-tub could stand to be updated.)

The Menger sprawls in a variety of directions and has rooms from every era EXCEPT the current one (no cookie cutter generics). My favortie? The most "modern" ones overlooking the pool with balconies.

San Antonio is a tourist town, and they will stick it to you for parking at every chance they get. So be warned. But make sure you wander the courtyards, and check out the oldest section. Some things haven't changed in 50 years.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank Castrolandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent visit at the Historic Menger Hotel with Trip Advisor and appreciate that you and your family have stayed with us many times in the past.

We are planning a renovation of our guest rooms within this year and look forward to the change. Your comments have been shared with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as we strive to have all our guests leave with fond memories.

When the opportunity arises for you to return to San Antonio, we look forward to your visit.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

To begin, if you are looking for luxurious, modern, high-end details, don't go to the Menger. If you are looking for a charming hotel with character, history, and charm, the Menger is your hotel!

I spend a week there this month and had a fabulous time. The rooms in the 'historic' section are unique. The four poster beds, the old fashioned bath, the shuttered windows, all add to the charm. Yes, the bathrooms are a little old, and showing their age, but that is the point, right? You are looking for a hotel with some history, not a cookie cutter room.

The on-site restaurant is fabulous. We had breakfast their two mornings taking advantage of the generous buffet. The eggs were cooked to order, omelets on request, fresh fruit, breads, anything you can ask for. The wait staff is old-worldly and gracious.

The location is perfect. Right next to the Alamo. Two blocks from the conference center and two blocks from the River Walk. We were two ladies alone and had no fear walking the neighborhood in the evenings.

Try the Menger, you won't be disappointed!
(P.S. Tell the spirit of the lady on the second floor I said hello! :))

Room Tip: If you're interested in ghosts, ask for the second floor of the historic section!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for an anniversary cause our theme for the night was ghost hunting. We attended a ghost tour within walking distance & decided to reserve an advanced reservation at The Menger. Being from San Antonio, you hear numerous stories of this place being haunted. We didn't encounter any ghosts but the fear of it being possible was thrill enough for us! The hotel is very old & historic but not up to the modern hotels with amenities. Our toilet made a weird noise when flushed. Our shower would rotate between hot & cold, the floors to our room creaked. The a/c was not as cool as one would expect. Walls are very thin. The bar in the lobby closes at midnight. Taking all this into consideration, it is indeed a place to lay your head after a night on the town. It made a good addition for our ghost hunt theme for the night, but if traveling from out of town, probably not a place we would visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johneric76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.

Within this year we are planning a renovation of our guest rooms and are excited about the changes. As you noted, we are a historic property and our goal is historic preservation. We are looking forward to the new look.

We hope when the opportunity arises once again for you to stay in the historic downtown area, you will once again consider the Historic Menger Hotel as your loding choice.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

A quick taxi ride from the airport (its cheaper than the shuttle) and we were there. Our room was facing the street on the third floor and was almost as big as our house! It had a veranda you could actually sit on with table and chairs and a great view of next door to the Alamo and across from the Riverwalk. We had a hard time getting our bearings but the guys at the front desk were always very helpful in providing excellent directions. If you go, do not miss having a drink at the bar which is an exact replica of the bar for The House of Lords in England and a favorite haunt (literally) of Teddy Roosevelt. Purported to be THE most haunted hotel in Texas, lets just say, we believe! Do not miss a five star dinner in the hotel with some of the best food and service we had our entire stay in San Antonio. This place is beautiful! If you want ultra modern, go somewhere else, but for turn of the century grand elegance and beauty, this is our place! Within walking distance of more than you can do or see in a week, its also right next door to one of the largest malls we have ever seen and it is on the Riverwalk! I relaxed in the pool and hot tub with a delicious frozen concoction while my wife had a 2 hour deep tissue massage and facial in the spa. If you want a place with a whole lot of class but do not want to have to sell your first-born to do it, this is your place. We will be coming back again, and again.

Room Tip: The bath rooms are small, but the rooms are so big, who cares!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBWeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

When a guest takes the time to share their experiences with Trip Advisor, we are pleased to have an opportunity to respond.

Your comments regarding our historic preservation are appreciated as we strive to maintain the history with modern amenities for our guests.

Thank you again for your delightful comments regarding all the areas of the hotel that you enjoyed and we look forward to your return to the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Location Location. The middle of San Antonio and close to the River Walk. Very reasonable rates. There are a few small rooms so ask first before you book. Friendly staff and nice pool. Worth a trip just to see the lobby and have a drink in bar. Not your average hotel: it's historic and quirky but clean.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blineHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews