We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in the Northwest Passages Suite”
Review of San Juan Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Juan Suites
Ranked #8 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed in the NW Passages suite for three nights in October 2013. Wife, nine year old daughter, and I for two nights and two friends for a third night. This suite overlooks the ferry terminal and has a (very) small balcony with a propane grill. Master suite includes a jacuzzi tub (Daughter loved it) and a great (!) walk-in shower. (I would have taken it home if I could.) In addition, the LR includes a queen fold out sofa bed and the foyer includes a smaller single sofa bed.

All in all, it was a GREAT alternative to a more expensive but similarly upscale accommodation for four adults and a kid. VERY well equipped kitchen and LOTS of room. Location could hardly be better and this particular suite has an excellent view. We were there "off season" and found it delightfully quiet but I suspect that during the summer the rooftop bar just below the suite might be problematic. YMMV.

Our only complaint was the fold out sofa bed in the living room. Managed to open it twice and close it once but it was a major struggle. To their credit the property management folks offered to come help but we managed to close bed once and didn't bother on the day we left. Bottom line is that the sofa bed in the living room should be replaced or repaired. The single sofabed (where our daughter slept) was fine for her. Again, YMMV if you intend to put an adult you care about on it.

The bottom line is that the accommodations earned at least an A-. The property management folks were especially helpful when we asked for a late check out on Sunday. (The suite was not reserved for that night so their flexibility may be limited in other circumstances.)

It should be noted that the quality of furnishings in vacation rentals like this often depends on the willingness of the unit's owner to upgrade them when necessary. Thus, the experience in one suite may not match that in another. Travelers should keep that in mind when booking a stay. But with the exception of the sofa bed cited above, we couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at the Northwest Passages suite.

Room Tip: The building includes four suites, all on the second floor of the building. Two (Northwest Passages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanJuanSuites, Owner at San Juan Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for spending the time to write such a lovely review. I am happy that you had a great time and loved The Suites.
Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in the Northwest Passage. It was perfect and as represented by management firm, views of bay at Friday Harbor were pretty, unit was quiet, fresh, clean and spacious. Kitchen was well appointed, king size bed was very comfortable, soft sheets, big walk-in shower was cool, having two bathrooms was ideal and location was perfect for walking everywhere. No car necessary, easy to rent one up the street at M&W Auto which was within walking distance as well.

Highly recommend this unit and complex, proprietors were delightful, welcoming and very approachable. Couldn’t find a negative and I’m a picky consumer.

Room Tip: Peeked in the others and they all look nice, we chose Harbor view and were happy with that choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllstaedtX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have stayed in the Channel Room twice now, and I have to say? It is FABULOUS. This room is perfect for us! Spacious and in the middle of the bustling port of Friday Harbor, you can easily walk to shops, restaruants, the pier, just about everything. The room is very clean, tastefully decorated, and about half the cost of other rooms on the island.

This year I did get a peek at the larger suites, and they also look amazing. Book one of these suites, and you will be happy that you did :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steffijean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Leaking dishwasher, noise coming from vent on roof. Extremely high pet fee. Manager was not able to resolve issues. Manager had me speak with building owner; he was a heartless bully. I would not stay there again. I would suggest you find another place to stay...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pqrstpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed here in four of the five suites in Friday Harbor with a group of 11 women. The location was perfect with great views of the marina and ferry dock from two rooms and overlooking the street from the other two. The units are well designed and beautifully cleaned and maintained. Each has a fully stocked kitchen though we used it just for wine and cheese before dinner and coffee in the morning. You can walk everywhere in Friday Harbor from here. The property manager, Mary, was a great help with suggestions for dinner outings and other activities. The units are similar to The accomodations for the eleven of us ranged from a studio to one bedroom units that could accommodate up to five people. The room rates were excellent for our trip in September of 2010.

Room Tip: Northwest Passage and High Seas both have a great view of the water and marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWWTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
1.1 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
485 reviews
0.0 km away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#9 of 11 in Friday Harbor
365 reviews
0.1 km away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
0.3 km away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
525 reviews
0.8 km away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#11 of 11 in Friday Harbor
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Suites

Address: 100A First Street, PO Box 1255, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Juan Suites - Luxury Lodging - San Juan Suites Vacation Rentals are known for their amazing water views, downtown location and luxurious appointments. Two of the larger suites overlook the entire harbor in Friday Harbor. Friday Harbor is the main town on San Juan Island. These two suites see the comings and goings of the Washington State ferries, private boats, and commercial boats and shops. Two other suites overlook the town of Friday Harbor on First Street and the charming shops and restaurants. One additional vacation rental suite can be utilized by a larger suite, or by just itself These luxury vacation rental suites take up the entire upper floor one of the newest buildings in down town Friday Harbor. Rent a suite individually, rent two suites, three suites, and four or for a large family reunion - rent the entire floor to accommodate up to 17 guests •Suites sleep 2, 4, and 5 individuals. Rent them all and they sleep 17 people! •Northwest Passages sleeps 5 with a water view •High Seas sleeps 4 with a water view •Channel Room sleeps 2 and can be coupled with any of the other suites •Valley Farm sleeps 2 with a Friday Harbor Village view •Conservatory sleeps 4 with a Friday Harbor Village view •Pet-Friendly - Well-mannered dogs are welcome. There are two suites that are pet-friendly •Wi-Fi all rooms •Sleep Therapy Machine (for light sleepers) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Juan Suites Friday Harbor, San Juan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing