We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend w Mom”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2017

I took my mom, 77, for a weekend getaway - our first trip to the island by land and neither of us had stayed at a B&B. What a treat, for the both of us! Definitely within walking distance and close to everything downtown, uptown and overtown! The hosts, Doug & Roxy, are outstanding! They listened, and became part of our "life stories"! Their service and accommodations are excellent, have no complaints other than needing a bigger tummy = come to the breakfast table hungry because you'll want to eat everything! Can't wait to return, even the nice gent working for Commerce @ the Visitor Info center had nothing but wonderful to speak of hosts, Doug & Roxy, and The Kirk House. It was fun to hear the snippets here & there of the history of the property! I will definitely return, it's a fight between Mom and Sissy, as to whom I treat! Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Veranda room. They all partake in the craftsman wraparound porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mschweikl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

So fun having Mom's and Daugher's travel to the Islands, and stay at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast!!!! You guys were full of life, and brought great energy into the B & B - besides
making great friends at breakfast!!! Thanks for writing such a positive and fun review!!! We want our future guests to see how much fun they can have staying at the Kirk House!!!! Can hardly wait for your next trip!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017

We had 3 nights staying at the Kirk House Bed and Breakfast and couldn't have been happier. We were warmly welcomed by Doug and Roxy, who continued to make us feel at home and serve us beautiful breakfasts. Our room was spacious and comfortable ... the whole house was wonderful. We enjoyed sitting in peace on the veranda, and all the little things that made our stay special, like afternoon tea treats each day. We hadn't stayed at a B'nB before and really enjoyed interacting with the other guests over breakfast, while at the same time having complete privacy and quiet when we wanted it.
The Kirk House was a great base for us to explore and try many of the things on offer on San Juan Island. We had the best time and would love to visit again one day!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThreeBbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

We love making our guests happy!!! And our job is so much easier when we have great guests like you guys who really do appreciate all the small things we do!! Hopefully, you are now a converted B & B person - you definitely fit right in (we wouldn't have known it was a
first time). I truly believe the veranda is the best part of the house - thank you for enjoying it, too!! We so appreciate you writing such a wonderful review - and can hardly wait for your return trip!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast had lovely accommodations and within walking distance to downtown Friday Harbor. Our hosts Doug & Roxy made us feel so at home and relaxed. The food was delicious and our room was bright and cheerful. We highly recommend a stay if you ever visit San Juan Island, WA!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank azsteak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

So appreciate you taking the time to write a review for the Kirk House B & B!!
All of the rooms have their own look to them but the Garden Room, with a bank
of windows and french doors, lets the sunshine in just a little more than the others.
Glad you enjoyed your stay!! Hope to see you again some day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I had the very lovely pleasure of staying at the Kirk House Bed and Breakfast in Friday Harbor, Wa. this past month. Every aspect of our stay was perfect! We were welcomed by the owners, Roxy and Doug, and given a sweet grand tour of the premises and amenities. The location is on a quiet street and a short
walk to town. The Kirk home is cozy and quaint, very well cared for, well appointed and wonderfully clean and bright! Our hosts were always readily available to answer questions and provide service. The food was absolutely amazing and delicious! And Roxy and Doug were completely accommodating with special dietary needs. There was nice attention to detail with offerings from local businesses, such as lovely lavender toiletries. And the coffee....a special blend created for this B and B....the best I have ever tasted! Truly!
I can't wait to return to take a nap in the hammock or enjoy a cup of coffee while relaxing on the front porch!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Trudi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review!!! We know our future guests read these very carefully - best marketing tool ever!!!! The vendors we work with, Pelindaba Lavender and San Juan Island Coffee Roasting Co., are the best!!! They are always prompt with the ordering, and have the most wonderful products for us to use!! So appreciate you mentioning these amenities!!!! We have a reservation for the hammock in your name - just let us know the date!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Our visit could not have been better. The accommodations were perfect down to the smallest details and to wake up to such delicious meals not to mention the “to go” breakfast. Roxy and Doug were excellent hosts and we highly recommend their beautiful Kirk House.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

So appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review!!! We loved you guys
staying with us - next time you will need to stay a little longer. Thanks for pointing out some of the best parts of the B & B!! Hope to see you again one day!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.5 km away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
531 reviews
0.6 km away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
525 reviews
0.3 km away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
362 reviews
0.7 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
487 reviews
0.4 km away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#9 of 11 in Friday Harbor
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 595 Park St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $189 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing