We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for island events”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Kirk House for several days. The location was great...four to five blocks away from the ferry landing at Friday Harbor. We chose not to rent a car and were still able to do all the things we wanted. Our kayak company picked us up in Friday Harbor and we were able to rent bikes a few blocks away from the hotel. Many great restaurants were within walking distance as well as a grocery store for snacks and lunch. Debbie made great, varied breakfasts each day including granola with berries, quiche, and peach pancakes. The beds were comfortable and we had plenty of space to relax in. There is a fridge for guest use and tea is always available. Debbie gave us great advice about things to do around the island. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbythepoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 574 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

In my opinion, this is the best B&B to stay in while visiting Friday Harbor in the San Juan Islands! The historical, charming home is maintained beautifully. The home is extremely clean, immaculate and comfortable. It was such a treat to admire the architecture of the home and the beauty of the gardens. Even the pansies that re-seeded themselves and grew up through the front entrance walkway gave visitors a warm welcome feeling. I personally enjoyed the unique birdbaths and tables made of glass vases. The Kirk House is within easy walking distance from Friday Harbor.

Debbie and Allen were gracious and kind hosts. They were helpful when asked for restaurant recommendations and directions, but yet non-intrusive and allowed guests to be alone. Who could ask for better hosts? Debbie's enthusiasm for the love of her home and the comfortable feeling she gave guests, made us feel as if she was a long-time friend. Both Debbie and Allen were quick to help when asked. They live in the cottage next door but are easily reached if needed.

The breakfasts were excellent and filling. We never needed to eat lunch and had a mid-afternoon snack until dinner. The yogurt parfait and entrees were presented beautifully each morning - and with a smile and kind word. Coffee was also very, very good. It was ready for the early riser and it always plentiful. We enjoyed having a cup on the front porch before breakfast each morning. The front entrance porch is actually on the side of the house and delightful for reading the morning paper. The large wrap around porch is very relaxing for reading or enjoying a glass of wine.

The rooms were very nicely decorated and each had an outside entrance. The bed was very comfortable and shower in wonderful working condition. An earlier post mentioned thin walls - but we did not notice this. In fact, we felt as if we were the only ones in the house... it was that quiet. There is a refrigerator for guest use in the common livingroom. Afternoon snacks were plentiful - and there was the large jar of candies and chocolates available all the time.

This was the best B&B experience we have ever had and we would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful charming home and wonderful hosts to anyone. Keep up the good work Debbie and Allen.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Delightful Craftsman style home with beautifully landscaped grounds that is charming, welcoming and comfortable. Allen and Debbie are great hosts and Debbie's breakfasts are delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonCoffeeBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We spent three nights at the Kirk House in the Veranda Room in late July. It is a beautful, historic arts & crafts home. They even have a ton of documentation on the history of the house in each room, which is interesting. Allen & Debbie were most gracious and breakfast was wonderful. The started each breakfast with a fruit and yogurt parfait, with their own homemade granola. After that, there was a delicious hot entree. A large jug of fresh juice was also on the table with unlimited coffee. The room was nicely sized with a huge shower in the bath. There was a door that opened onto the wrap around porch with loads of seating. They even furnish a refrigerator in the lobby area, if you wanted to keep wine or something else cold. It was great - very convenient to town. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at the Kirk House in Friday Harbor on 7/26 for 2 nights. We fancy ourselves as being experienced B&B guest and enjoy the B&B experience. We had such a warm and wonderful experience with Debbie and Allan and would recommend staying at the Kirk House. The breakfast was delicious and the hospitality was top notch. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it was one of the best we have ever experienced. Debbies enthusiasm is contagious and her warmth is such a comfort. Thanks for the wonderful stay and relaxation!!
Ron and Maureen G

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsgirard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.5 km away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
361 reviews
0.5 km away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
528 reviews
0.7 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
525 reviews
0.3 km away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
0.2 km away
Friday Harbor Grand
Friday Harbor Grand
#3 of 17 in Friday Harbor
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 595 Park St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $189 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing