We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$88
TravelocityUS$88
FindHotelUS$88
Orbitz.comUS$88
EtripUS$88
TripadvisorUS$88
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
76
67
22
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
76
67
22
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shenandoah national park would definitely stay here again room was clean separate bedroom the wi fi located close fire pit checking in porch furniture cell
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, it was great. Be prepared for limited cell and WiFi, but that’s a good thing sometimes! Everything was clean, room was big and roomy. Limited food establishments in the area, but we just always picked something up on our way back. If we are ever in the area again, we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Diane Griffith, General Manager at Hillside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2020

Thanks so much for choosing the Hillside Motel and taking time to provide us with a review. We are happy to see that your overall needs were met and hope you are able to come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2020

I was looking for a place with no indoor common areas and an outdoor pool. This worked perfectly. Room was a nice size. Pool was clean and tables were well spaced. The women in the office were super nice and accommodating. Love the fire pit, but make sure to bring your own wood and fire starter. Location was very convenient to Luray and skyline. Only negative was the soap in the bathroom was face soap not antibacterial hand soap so might want to bring your own.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kirstin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Diane Griffith, General Manager at Hillside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2020

Hi Kirstin. Thanks for the review and thanks for choosing the Hillside Motel. Glad to see that overall you had a great stay and enjoyed the pool and hopefully the fire pit :)

Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2019

We booked this motel based on TA reviews, and once again, they were accurate. The thing we most enjoyed was the incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Every request was answered immediately, and with a smile. Real southern hospitality.
As others have commented, the room was small and old-fashioned - which was part of the charm, to a certain degree. The bed was not the best; we would have preferred a larger one, with a firmer mattress. Since fall had arrived (it was cold!), it was a bit uncomfortable that the bathroom had no heating, and the floor was cold.
Be aware that the motel does not offer breakfast, and the closest places to eat are in the main intersection, about a 5 min drive away. There's a supermarket, Walmart, and lots of fast-food choices.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank anonmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HillsideMotelLuray, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2019

Hi, thank you for providing us with a great review. We are happy to see that staff easily assisted you with a great attitude. Our one queen bedrooms are on average 150 square feet while our two queen rooms are a larger. October is a beautiful time to come with the leafs changing, even though they peaked a little late this year. Hope to see you back next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2019 via mobile

We love these types of motels as they all have their own vibe that you would never get with one of the larger chains. This one is no exception. The motel itself consists of a strip of rooms with a covered sidewalk/patio area that faces a mountain range. There are outside chairs on this walkway with a small table and an ashtray.

One needs to check in by 8 PM or risk a closed office and a no vacancy sign. There are multiple portable grills at the front office, which I assume you can use - as people were in the little island between the parking lot and the road. There is a pool.

The room was very small - probably 10x12, but had everything - clothes storage, fridge, microwave, flatscreen. The bathroom, about 1/2 the size of the room in length, had a sink, toilet and tub with shower, as well as a place to hang clothes. Everything was clean.

What makes this place so great are the people that run the thing. My morning included a memorial to frosty mums, stories of international travel, and offers and advice on sites and tastes of the area. This ain’t happening at the Marriott.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 962anthonyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HillsideMotelLuray, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2019

Thank you for providing us with a great rating. So glad we were able to provide you with a a clean room that provided the amenities you needed and of course memories, that you are correct you would not have made elsewhere!! We do have a process for late check in so if you should need a late check in you let us know and we will ensure you are taken care of! Our grills are for the guests to use (free of charge) and we have a fire pit as well that many guest enjoy. Hope to see you the next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2019 via mobile

After reading reviews and looking at photos of the Days Inn down the road from the Hillside Motel, I decided to cancel the reservation I'd made there and book a room for two nights here.  I'm very glad I did.  The room was comfortable and clean with a spacious bathroom.  It is an old-timey motel, so don't expect modern updates, but it is well maintained.  The location is great for leaf peeping in the Shenandoah National Park and visiting Luray Caverns.  I have a suggestion for the owners, though:  Put heavier curtains in the rooms that are close to the exterior lights.  The light shining in the window was a bit much.  For visitors, I suggest you bring a sleep mask and an extension cord.  Outlets are limited.  Overall, we had a very nice stay.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lovemytrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HillsideMotelLuray, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2019

We are happy that you decided to stay with us and really appreciate the great review you provided. The Shenandoah National Park is definitely a beautiful site this time of the year. It's great to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable, its' reviews like this that makes the housekeepers feel proud of their hard work! Thank you also for the feedback on the room lighting, we are working on upgrading all rooms to the new hook less curtains with the black out liner for the comfort of our guests. We hope to see you the next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews