We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$233
View deal
Expedia.com
US$228
View deal
Hotels.com
US$228
View deal
TravelocityUS$228
PricelineUS$233
Orbitz.comUS$228
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
71
22
10
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
71
22
10
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel oliver room comfortable bed full kitchen sitting area chose hotel small kitchen blackout curtains the hotel manager first floor living room common areas skyline drive main st great place to stay nice stay mimslyn inn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2022 via mobile

Impeccably clean with friendly service and amply supplies with all facilities for a comfortable stay. The old building has been carefully modernised without losing its charm. We stayed in Oliver Room (room 1) which had a welcoming and freshly decorated bedroom with very comfortable bed and linen. There was also a sitting area and small kitchen, with coffee machine and plentiful supply of coffee pods. We met the staff on arrival who were friendly and welcoming - be aware that it is only staffed until mid-afternoon, but there is a number to call if any problems.

Room tip: If you arrive on a Monday, as we did, be aware that some local restaurants may be closed.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jackiefisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 September 2022

We stayed two nights in the Shirling room which comprised sitting room, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. There are no other facilities provided. However local restaurants were fine (though not fine dining). We had dinner at Mimslyn Inn and Il Vesuvio. Food was tasty at both and the Karaoke at Il Vesuvio was fun. We had breakfast at the Quality Inn which was a typical US diner, great value and tasty. Whilst there we had a problem with our hire car. Manager Jackie and Jen at the Laurance Hotel could not have been more helpful. They found a garage willing to look at the car at short notice. The Marlow Ford Dealership in Luray was really helpful also. They didn't have replacement tyre and the lady who tracked down a replacement tyre at another garage on our route deserves a special mention.

Room tip: Really close to Luray Caves which are well worth a visit.
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarcyDoolittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 August 2022

Yes the rooms are pricey compared to other hotels, but you get to stay right in the heart of Main St. Luray, easy walking distance to the Greenway. Lots of little quirks in the rooms, but that is part of the fun with finding out new things. Not a generic hotel room for sure.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank 39ullin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 August 2022

My family of 4 stayed in the Laura Suite for one night and a quick trip to visit Luray and the National Park.

We chose Hotel Laurance for the location (very walkable) and so we could spread out in the space with different bedrooms.

We weren’t there long but do have some tips to share if you are considering this property.

5 stars for communication - The hotel manager was great, she texted us information and a code the morning of our check-in and asked if we had any questions. Nice and easy contactless check-in.

5 stars for cleanliness and vibe - The hotel was very clean and decorated nicely with historical touches. Loved the artifacts and library with books/games.

3 stars for noise & light - Bring a white noise machine. We never heard other guests (we were also on the top floor), but with the property near the police and fire stations, and on a hill on the main street, we were woken up several times by sirens or engines gunning up the hill.

Streetlights stay on all night and the blinds didn't block the light so the bedroom never got dark. Then the sun comes through by 6:30 am. Management could install curtains in the bedrooms that could help mute the noise and the sun. I've read a few reviews about noise so some blackout curtains might help here.

5 stars for mattress and pillows - Beds were very comfortable, plenty of pillows and extra blankets too. We just didn't sleep great thanks to noise and light.

5 stars for kitchen - Very clean and very well stocked. Had everything we needed.

3 stars for living room/sitting area - Cute and clean, but the furniture was really uncomfortable. We had family game night and 3 of us ended up sitting on the floor to avoid the tiny, uncomfortable chairs. The little 2-person loveseat was nice, but someone used a hot glue gun to adhere fabric, I guess to protect the armrest? That seemed weird.

Overall a great stay and if we go back I’ll request a different room on the opposite side of the building so the sun doesn’t come in so early.

Room tip: In the summer choose a room on the side with the outdoor deck to avoid the early morning sun in the bedroom windows.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 227kirar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 July 2022

Very Noisy Hotel ..you can hear everything from children crying to a person shutting there down and also people above you dont plan on being intimate unless you want the entire hotel to hear you and that is a understatement!

Date of stay: July 2022
Thank sean h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Laurance, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Laurance, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2022

Sean - I am so sorry to read this, people who have stayed in your room absolutely love it and enjoy our 20ft ceilings not to mention the history that this hotel holds. While like any hotel during check out there is more foot traffic I can assure you on that night you stayed with us there were no crying babies in the hotel nor was there anyone else on your floor area. The only guests that were with us that evening were located in our external rooms. I hope you will revisit and perhaps we can place you in another room off of the Main Street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews