We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Fantastic!”
Review of Talon Lodge & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sitka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Talon Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Sitka
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Just returned from 3 days and 4 nights at Talon Lodge. The trip was our 4th one in 10 years. We have a large family with a lot of "organized chaos" to say the least. Phil, Gwen and the entire staff accommodated us in every way, there was nothing we could want for.

On this trip we celebrated my parents 60th wedding anniversary(10 years ago we did their 50th here as well), so needless to say it was extremely special. In addition our son decided to propose to his girlfriend, we called Gwen and discussed it with her. We came up with a plan and made a banner that he dropped deep and had her reel it up. Needless to say she was very shocked to read what she had caught, and she immediately said "YES"! Phil even came out to the area and videoed it was his drone which was totally unexpected, but very cool.

The fishing was as good as the past 3 trips we have made there, we caught limits of salmon, halibut, yellow eye, rock fish, black bass and a bunch more. Our largest king salmon was 38#'s and the largest halibut was around 100#'s but had to be thrown back being oversized.

I can't say enough about the staff and attention you get from the moment you arrive until the moment they take you back to the airport, it truly is a unique experience .

In closing I would highly recommend Talon Lodge if you want a pampered experience, great fellowship and tremendous fishing...

Room Tip: Be prepared to have a great time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2017

We've been to Talon 4 times now and every time it's been Amazing. The fishing was fantastic our Niece caught a 38lb King and our entire family (21 of us) came back with 850 lbs. Our youngest son proposed to his girlfriend by having a reel in the proposal. Phil and Gwen are the most gracious host and the entire Talon crew. If you want a wonderful fishing experience and food that is out of this world this is the place to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Talon Lodge is it's own island off the city of Sitka, AK. Our stay was lovey, the food and wine divine, and hosts Gwen and Phil gracious & accommodating. We fish a lot in Alaska and have grown spoiled to catching 20lb+ Kings. While we hooked on many kings, none came close to our goal of min 20lb. This is NO refection of the lodge or captains, perhaps just the area? We did not have hot water the first few nights so showers were brief. We should have spoke up sooner but we thought it was bc the island is on it's own reclaimed water source (which we were reminded of several times). We did catch plenty of wonderful eating fish like: snapper, cod & halibut. No complaints there. The staff was AMAZING and kind; the rooms were very cozy. I would give it a 5 if it wasn't for the lack of hot water and big kings. GREAT RESORT-GREAT PEOPLE-TALENTED CHEFS-GREAT CAPTAINS AND CREW-BEAUTIFUL VIEWS!

Room Tip: Rooms are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NikTheFish33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalonLodge, Owner at Talon Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

TalonLodge, Owner at Talon Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, Jun 24, 2017
Nikki:
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy that you had a great stay and it was a pleasure hosting you and Bruce. Sorry about the shower and glad that we were able to get this taken care of while you were here.

Captain Travis has continued to be on the hunt for bigger Kings ever since your trip and your catch and release of 17 Kings. He's brought in a number of 25+lb Kings over the past week. Today he brought in a 38lb King and the first words out of his mouth, on the Dock, were: "How come Bruce & Nikki aren't here today!" Looks like the healthier fish are migrating in - finally.

I'll send you a photo to your e-mail address. The photo is also posted on our facebook page: Talon Lodge and Spa - Alaska's Luxury Private Island Resort

Let us know how your trip to Waterfall goes. All the best to you and we look forward to a return visit.

Phil Younger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

I have had the fortune to stay at the Talon Lodge on 3 different occasions - all with great memories. The dining experience is absolutely fabulous and great care is taken to "get it right". No corners are cut when it comes to eating.

Lodging is good - no surprises. Most of the time you are sharing a room with someone from your group.

Fishing is fishing. Guides communicate well and if there are fish to be caught - they will put you on them. Our last trip to Sitka - the fishing was not the best. Don't know if this is a trend or not - but previous 2 times it was fantastic.

Hotel staff are courteous and are willing to help you out with anything.

Obviously bring your camera.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Saw more eagles close up than I have ever seen here before on a beautiful little island just outside Sitka harbor. All set against a beautiful backdrop of water and trees lit by 19 hours of Alaskan sunlight. The Lodge is very well maintained as is everything here at Talon. Fantastic staff, great food and a wonderful “vibe”. Oh and did I forget to mention world class fishing. You can do different, but you can’t do better than this!

Room Tip: The rooms are all good and there is no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradbarr00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitka hotels
5.1 km away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#3 of 8 in Sitka
35 reviews
5.2 km away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
5 km away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
5.1 km away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#2 of 8 in Sitka
296 reviews
5.2 km away
Aspen Suites Hotel Sitka
Aspen Suites Hotel Sitka
#12 of 14 in Sitka
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talon Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talon Lodge & Spa

Address: PO Box 6506, Sitka, AK 99835-6506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Sitka
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talon Lodge is Alaska's true luxury resort fishing lodge and spa. Resort services include Gourmet Cuisine, Massage and Spa Services & Oceanfront Accommodations. The Talon Lodge Beach Bar has received acclaim, in numerous publications, as one of the top 20 Beach Bars in America. Our Spectacular Private Island provides views of Alaska's Inside Passage. Our fishing fleet is comfortable and set up for the very best Alaska Salmon and Halibut fishing. A Float Plane can also pick you up at our private dock for an unbelievable freshwater fishing adventure. Only 18 to 24 guests are served at Talon Lodge per package date, with 20 staff members who are committed to exceeding expectations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talon Lodge And Spa
Talon Hotel Sitka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing