We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's unlikely your previous 5 star experience at a Lodge is going to hold up.”
Review of Talon Lodge & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sitka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Talon Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Sitka
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Or at a resort, or a hotel. Talon gets lumped into a category of a fishing lodge or an Alaskan lodge. It's wrong. Completely wrong. Your Idea of what five diamond service is will probably be shattered in the first 30 minutes.Yes, people come here to fish, as we did. You should come here to fish. They have a staff and fleet that are second to none in Alaska. They know where they are, and exactly what you need to do to catch them. But at the dock, the lodge, and the island you are treated to an experience that supersedes all fishing experiences you could possibly ever had. The owners Phil and Gwen have created an intertwined guest experience that weaves tradition and connection into a trip like nothing I've ever had. Did we catch fish? Yes. Did we fly into secluded rivers? Yes. The greatest food and dining experience in a remote lodge? Yes. But; their meals, pastry, and service would hold up to your favorite restaurant in the world. Anywhere. After a very blessed 25 years of traveling to fish every province of Canada, the Northwest Territories, Alaska, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and the Caribbean, I can say that I have stayed at one of the greatest fishing lodges in the Western Hemisphere. I sincerely hope you will go. We will be back.

Room Tip: Book the Talon Guest House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dkwi1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

I just don't know how an Alaskan fishing resort could be better than Talon Lodge. The location, a gorgeous private island, is surpassed only by the wonderful service. All of the staff were friendly, knowledgeable and always ready to jump in to help with whatever we needed. The food was amazing, the nature (orca, eagles, dolphins, sea otters, bears, etc.) was diverse, and of course, the fishing, especially for King salmon and halibut was outstanding. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwallmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

This is a 5+ star Lodge on a Private quiet Island with an outstanding view of Sitka. The food (too die for), customer service and fishing was beyond exceptional. I could not have asked for 4 better days to spend relaxing and fishing. The are very accommodating to your every needs. Phil, Gwen and Jessica plus all the other staff were there to help you out and give you the best possible vacation you could ask for. If I could give 10 stars for this place I would, that's how good this place is. HIGHLY RECOMMEND FOR EVERYONE TO GO TO TALON LODGE

Room Tip: Every room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Just returned from 3 days and 4 nights at Talon Lodge. The trip was our 4th one in 10 years. We have a large family with a lot of "organized chaos" to say the least. Phil, Gwen and the entire staff accommodated us in every way, there was nothing we could want for.

On this trip we celebrated my parents 60th wedding anniversary(10 years ago we did their 50th here as well), so needless to say it was extremely special. In addition our son decided to propose to his girlfriend, we called Gwen and discussed it with her. We came up with a plan and made a banner that he dropped deep and had her reel it up. Needless to say she was very shocked to read what she had caught, and she immediately said "YES"! Phil even came out to the area and videoed it was his drone which was totally unexpected, but very cool.

The fishing was as good as the past 3 trips we have made there, we caught limits of salmon, halibut, yellow eye, rock fish, black bass and a bunch more. Our largest king salmon was 38#'s and the largest halibut was around 100#'s but had to be thrown back being oversized.

I can't say enough about the staff and attention you get from the moment you arrive until the moment they take you back to the airport, it truly is a unique experience .

In closing I would highly recommend Talon Lodge if you want a pampered experience, great fellowship and tremendous fishing...

Room Tip: Be prepared to have a great time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We've been to Talon 4 times now and every time it's been Amazing. The fishing was fantastic our Niece caught a 38lb King and our entire family (21 of us) came back with 850 lbs. Our youngest son proposed to his girlfriend by having a reel in the proposal. Phil and Gwen are the most gracious host and the entire Talon crew. If you want a wonderful fishing experience and food that is out of this world this is the place to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitka hotels
5.1 km away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#3 of 8 in Sitka
35 reviews
5.2 km away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
5 km away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
5.1 km away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#2 of 8 in Sitka
296 reviews
5.2 km away
Aspen Suites Hotel Sitka
Aspen Suites Hotel Sitka
#12 of 14 in Sitka
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talon Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talon Lodge & Spa

Address: PO Box 6506, Sitka, AK 99835-6506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Sitka
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talon Lodge is Alaska's true luxury resort fishing lodge and spa. Resort services include Gourmet Cuisine, Massage and Spa Services & Oceanfront Accommodations. The Talon Lodge Beach Bar has received acclaim, in numerous publications, as one of the top 20 Beach Bars in America. Our Spectacular Private Island provides views of Alaska's Inside Passage. Our fishing fleet is comfortable and set up for the very best Alaska Salmon and Halibut fishing. A Float Plane can also pick you up at our private dock for an unbelievable freshwater fishing adventure. Only 18 to 24 guests are served at Talon Lodge per package date, with 20 staff members who are committed to exceeding expectations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talon Lodge And Spa
Talon Hotel Sitka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing